£100 budget for used phone so which Android phone would you recommend ?

Guest haventgotaclue

Guest haventgotaclue

Bearing in mind I'm a complete novice when it comes to phones and Android is a whole new world to me. I need to renew my PAYG sim anyway so I'd like something which is reasonably simple to use, unlocked, unbloated but comes with a decent MP3 player as I need to replace my broken one.

I've been recommended the rooted ZTE Blade (in its various forms) but is that it or could something else be out there to rival it ?

Thank you

Guest kyan31

Get the Huawei ascend G300. It is miles ahead compared to the zte blade and it is oly 100. It has a forum on modaco and can be rooted and unlocked, there are also a few custom roms out and in development for it.

Specs:

1GHz proccessor armv7

512mb ram 2.05GB rom

32GB expandable memory card

4 inch capacative screen

5mp camera and flash with auto focus.

And it has android gingerbread with ICS to follow.

Guest haventgotaclue

"And it has android gingerbread with ICS to follow"

That means almost nothing to me kyan, remember I am the original newbie :wacko: .

I'm reading good stuff about an Android mod http://www.cyanogenmod.com/ would that work with the G300 or is it not necessary ?

Thanks

• 3 weeks later...
Guest nvkid909

That means almost nothing to me kyan, remember I am the original newbie :wacko: .

I'm reading good stuff about an Android mod http://www.cyanogenmod.com/ would that work with the G300 or is it not necessary ?

Thanks

Cyanogenmod is Gingerbread or Ice Cream Sandwich, but for phones that no longer get the updates, in particular, phones that are still on Froyo. The G300 has gingerbread & will get ICS, so no need to go for Cyanogenmod. You need to be rooted & have recovery installed to install this cyanogenmod anyways.

Guest Mtman1