Jump to content


Photo

Dade's M2000 Review

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
165 replies to this topic

#121
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

less than 3 hours since I recieved my new SPV M2000 and it's already frozen-up. Yes, exactly the same as my M1000 has once a day for the last 9 months . Not looking good...

I'll give it a chance though and use it for a few days, but I may end up sending it back. I'm well disappointed so far  ;)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

What program or action locked it up? I've never had that happen... wait... yes I have but only in Bluetooth manager before I upgraded my Blue Angel to bluetooth stack 3500 (and subsequently 3900).

Could it be the software you are using?

  • 0

#122
Dade

Dade

    Phone Edition Moderator

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 756 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC TyTN
I use my M2000 really heavily and I very rarely have any problems with it locking up - maybe one a month.

What do you have installed on there at the moment?

  • 0
Independent device reviews: Tracy And Matt's Blog

#123
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero

I use my M2000 really heavily and I very rarely have any problems with it locking up - maybe one a month.

What do you have installed on there at the moment?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It was brand new and there were no programs installed except the default ones. Nothing was running in the background either cos I'm really careful with that after one of you guys pointed it out as a potential problem.

I'm going to stick with the M2000 I think, as long as I can get the WIFI setup. So far I've had no joy using the internet through WIFI even though I get a signal. Any ideas how to set it up with a linksys router and an NTL broadband modem?

Anyway,

What's this about Blue Angel etc?

I've been having problems getting the M2000 to recognise my "Socket Blutetooth GPS receiver". The M1000 recognised it instantly and Tomtom worked beautifully with no probs whatsoever.

I've had to choose a wired GPS device in the settings for TomTom, to get it recognised. Very weird.

So can I upgrade the Bluetooth part of the M2000?

Again, forgive my ignorance on this subject

Harvey

  • 0

#124
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

What's this about Blue Angel etc?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

SPV M2000 is the name Orange give to their version of the Blue Angel. HTC name and manufacture the devices which are badged by the provider. O2 for example named their Blue Angel the XDAIIs but it's still the same device...

  • 0

#125
Kryten 2X4B-523P

Kryten 2X4B-523P

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Do the latest releases of the M2000 come with Media Player 10 or are they still stuck with MP9?

  • 0

#126
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Unfortunately I don't think there Orange M2000 roms, realeased or otherwise, include Windows Media Player 10.

From what I understand only the latest Qtek, Imate, Dangaard and Asian O2 roms have Windows Media Player 10.

  • 0

#127
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hi again,

How do I upgrade the Bluetooth stack to 3900 then?

Cheers,

Harv

What program or action locked it up? I've never had that happen... wait... yes I have but only in Bluetooth manager before I upgraded my Blue Angel to bluetooth stack 3500 (and subsequently 3900).

Could it be the software you are using?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


  • 0

#128
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Everything you need to know is here

  • 0

#129
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero

Everything you need to know is here

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks Pondrew, you're a good fella.

You peeps have been great so far, I'm relatively new to this internet forum business, but this one seems to be superb.

I'm honoured to be part of it. :)

I'll check the upgrade out and see if it helps with my TomTom connection probs - The GPS device doesn't seem to keep its pairing, even though it's in the list of paired devices, I have to fiddle with the GPS settings on the M2000 within TomTom. Or I have to soft reset. This means that I lose time on my journeys cos I have to wait for the satellites to show up on the TomTom.

Do you think the BT upgrade will help?

  • 0

#130
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

Do you think the BT upgrade will help?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Should do, be wary though as you'll lose everything installed and saved onto your device (it does a hard reset). And if you install a different rom rather then just the bluetooth stack you'll lose your operator specific settings...

  • 0

#131
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero

And if you install a different rom rather then just the bluetooth stack you'll lose your operator specific settings...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I assume you mean stuff like the mms/sms settings?

What about all the programs that come as standard on the Orange M2000, like Album, xBackup etc.?

Sorry to be thick but what's actually included in operator specific settings?

  • 0

#132
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

I assume you mean stuff like the mms/sms settings?

What about all the programs that come as standard on the Orange M2000, like Album, xBackup etc.?

Sorry to be thick but what's actually included in operator specific settings?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Well, I can only speak from experience of the T-Mobile and Imate roms but as I understand it Album and xBackup are pieces of software included by the manufacturers HTC and so are found on all roms.

Don't know if there is any software unique to Orange. Maybe someone else can tell you...

EDIT: Just realised I didn't actually answer your question. The operator specific settings include MMS, GPRS, WAP, voicemail, favourites, etc. There's also small branding such as the bootup screen and operator name appearing in the Phone app.

Edited by Pondrew, 05 July 2005 - 10:44 PM.

  • 0

#133
theanarch1st

theanarch1st

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Orange also has the Downloads program to allow for updates (don't see why as orange rarely update things they make it seems and even then it won't be a rom update)

other than that I haven't missed anything from the Imate rom thats meant to be in the Orange rom (tho the imate rom doesn't have the Pdf or Ppt viewer but thats available on xda-developers so its all good really.

  • 0

#134
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero

And if you install a different rom rather then just the bluetooth stack you'll lose your operator specific settings...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I've upgraded the radio and bluestack as per the instructions on XDA-Developers.com and eveything went smoothly (or so I thought)

until I did the obligatory soft reset.

Now I get an error message upon startup:

"Cannot find 'storage' (or one of its components). Make sure the path and filename and all the required libraries are available."

If I click OK the message disappears after a while, and some things run OK but generally the device is not working properly anymore.

I've just clicked start>Programs and it's frozen up on me...

HELP :roll:

  • 0

#135
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

I've upgraded the radio and bluestack as per the instructions on XDA-Developers.com and eveything went smoothly (or so I thought)

until I did the obligatory soft reset.

Now I get an error message upon startup:

"Cannot find 'storage' (or one of its components). Make sure the path and filename and all the required libraries are available."

If I click OK the message disappears after a while, and some things run OK but generally the device is not working properly anymore.

I've just clicked start>Programs and it's frozen up on me...

HELP :roll:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Doesn't sound great. Don't recognise the problem though.

I'd recommend reinstalling the rom. This is where you'd have to make a choice. Ditch the Orange software/rom in favour of one of the latest, easily obtainable and installable 1.40 roms featured on the wiki pages or locate an SPV M2000 rom. If you go with the former you'll have to enter your GPRS and MMS settings manually (thankfully readily provided by Modaco's settings repository).

Think there was a link to a newish Orange SPV M2000 rom somewhere on Modaco. I'll try and locate the thread for you...

EDIT: Here's an SPV M2000 rom should you decide you DON'T want to go for one of the other roms -> M2000 rom thread

Edited by Pondrew, 07 July 2005 - 09:58 AM.

  • 0

#136
Touch Screen Junkie

Touch Screen Junkie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Interests:My child and wife, gadgets, snowboarding, cars
  • Devices:HTC Hero

Doesn't sound great. Don't recognise the problem though.

I'd recommend reinstalling the rom. This is where you'd have to make a choice. Ditch the Orange software/rom in favour of one of the latest, easily obtainable and installable 1.40 roms featured on the wiki pages or locate an SPV M2000 rom. If you go with the former you'll have to enter your GPRS and MMS settings manually (thankfully readily provided by Modaco's settings repository).

Think there was a link to a newish Orange SPV M2000 rom somewhere on Modaco. I'll try and locate the thread for you...

EDIT: Here's an SPV M2000 rom should you decide you DON'T want to go for one of the other roms -> M2000 rom thread

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks again Pondrew but I've decided it's better to leave it.

I would recommend to anyone thinking of UPGRADING ROMs to AVOID DOING IT AT ALL COSTS. Unless of course you know exactly what you're doing and/or you know that it will fix a specific problem you're having.

Don't get me wrong, I love this forum, you lot are great, really helpful and technically aware, and there are links to great sites like XDA Developers.com - which explains how to do everything -

BUT: most of this upgrading type stuff is really not necessary, in my opinion. You have to bear in mind that the people who run these kinds of fora completely understand what they're doing and therefore know what to do and expect if things go wrong - and believe me, things went wrong for me, as I explained above

THANK THE LORD I'D DONE AN X-Backup, as everything is now back to how it was before, after doing a restore.

SO, IN SHORT - PLEASE THINK VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE MESSING ABOUT AND UPGRADING THE ROMS ON YOUR BLUE ANGEL AS THE BENEFITS MAY NOT OUTWEIGH THE RISKS OF SERIOUS PROBLEMS OCCURRING ON YOUR HANDSET

  • 0

#137
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Good to hear you were able to go resolve it.

Sound advice too. I've said before if you can't afford to lose the device, don't mess with it.

  • 0

#138
Kryten 2X4B-523P

Kryten 2X4B-523P

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Follow up to my Question regarding WMP10 - Recieved my M2000 today (Monday 11th July), and despite being told by Orange UK themselves that it would only have WMP9 installed, it has WMP10!!! ROM info is...

Operator Version: 5.40.1.179
ROM version: 1.40.00 WWE
ROM Date: 03/10/05
Radio Version: 1.06.02
Protocol Version: 1337.38
ExtROM Version: 1.40.179 WWE



Jon

  • 0

#139
Pondrew

Pondrew

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,404 posts
  • Location:South Croydon
  • Devices:MDA Vario II

Follow up to my Question regarding WMP10 - Recieved my M2000 today (Monday 11th July), and despite being told by Orange UK themselves that it would only have WMP9 installed, it has WMP10!!!  ROM info is...
Jon

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

If Orange are now shipping M2000s with WMP10 it'll be quite a coup. Where did you get your device from?

  • 0

#140
ogganova

ogganova

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Orange SPV M2000

If Orange are now shipping M2000s with WMP10 it'll be quite a coup. Where did you get your device from?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I received this phone yesterday and can confirm that the one's being shipped direct from Orange do indeed have WMP10 installed.

side note.. have found all your posts here very useful as a lurker the last few days..

Anybody here had experience of using Skype over Wifi. Set this all up last night, yet Skype voice quality was very poor. My Wifi signal strength was around half, and couldn't get that any higher. Is this a common issue, or possibly just my wifi connection playing up?

Thanks

Og

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users