Threads in eVC++

Guest dchurch24

Guest dchurch24

Hi, this may be a really stupid question, but how do I create threads in eVC++ without MFC (which of course is not supported) a quick example would be appreciated if anyone has the time.

I am a Java/VB programmer, so I have been able to get started quite quickly, C was not a problem for me, but eVC++ seems to be giving me very high blood pressure!! :lol:

Guest dchurch24

...any examples? The CreateThread keyword cannot be found in my eVC++ docs, and a quick search of the web only gave me an example that wouldn't work.

..or just a quick primer. Like, why do I need a long pointer to the start address. In fact, what is the start address :?

Guest Zorglub

CreateThread is indeed found just fine in the eVC documentation. If you dont see it, it means you have not installed eVC properly. CreateThread exists in Windows, Pocket PC and Smartphone, and uses the exact same parameters on all WIN32 platforms.

If you actually read the documentation you see that it is incredibly easy to use. Just call it with the name of the function that you want to be run in the new thread, e.g.: CreateThread(NULL,0,MyCoolFunction,MyParameter,0,&dwThreadID);

MyCoolFunction will be called with MyParameter.

Guest dchurch24

Thanks for that. I still can't get it to work, something about undeclared identifier. Maybe c++ isn't my language!

I just re-installed eVC++ and the Smartphone SDK, and still it's not in the documentation. Maybe I've got a corrupt version or something!

Guest Zorglub

Well there is something definetly &*%^$&*% with your eVC installation. CreateThread is defined in WINBASE.H which is one of the most basic header files in Windows development. It is included when you include windows.h

Guest dchurch24

I have this:

case WM_PAINT:

{

HDC hdc;

PAINTSTRUCT ps;

hdc = BeginPaint(hwnd, &ps);

DWORD dwThreadID;

CreateThread(NULL,0, DrawRectangle,hdc,0, dwThreadID);

EndPaint (hwnd, &ps);

}

break;