Jump to content


Photo

Tip: See Wizard's Keyboard Mode

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
lesgainous

lesgainous

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Disclaimer: Editing the registry on your device may cause irreparable harm to your device. I am not responsible for any mishaps. Edit at your own risk.

(please accept my apology if this tip has already been posted in another thread. I searched this forum, but searching this forum is difficult and is a real pain) :x

To enable the Cap/Shift and Dot indicator on the screen when typing:

- Using your favorite Registry Editor for Windows Mobile, go to \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\Keybd
- Create a DWORD called EnableIndicator with value of "1" (without the quotation marks)
- Save changes and exit the registry editor
- Power off your device (do not soft-reset it at this point--unwritten changes are still cached in RAM and powering off will flush them to ROM)
- Soft-reset your device (by inserting the stylus into the reset button hole)

-- Posted Image

.

-- Posted Image


I'm assuming that this will work on any HTC Wizard. I know it works on the Cingular 8125 version.

Enjoy!

.

Edited by lesgainous, 20 February 2006 - 05:38 AM.

  • 0
Les

My Windows Mobile history:

-Samsung Blackjack smartphone [2007]
-Microsoft Zune (black) [2007]
-HTC Wizard (Cingular 8125) PPC Phone [2006]
-HTC Universal (i-mate JASJAR) Pocket PC Phone Edition [2005]
-HTC Typhoon (Audiovox SMT 5600) smartphone [2004]
-Compal Red-E developer smartphone [2003]
-"Spaceneedle/Wallaby", the original T-Mobile Pocket PC Phone Edition [2002]
-iPAQ 3670 Pocket PC [2001]
-iPAQ 3630 Pocket PC [2000]
-Compaq Aero (one of the first Windows CE "Palm-sized PCs") [1998]
-Compaq C120 (running "Pegasus"-Windows CE 1.0) [1996]

#2
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,493 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Nice, I'll give it a go as soon as install a reg editor again.

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#3
orangezorki

orangezorki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl
Works well for me on a Vario, though it only shows when there is a text field to enter into (i.e. not the Today screen) - Thanks!

David.

  • 0
http://www.PpcOnMac.com - Mac Compatability for your PocketPC!

#4
melvynadam

melvynadam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:i900

it only shows when there is a text field to enter into (i.e. not the Today screen) -

I would have thought that was the ideal behaviour - not taking up screen space unless there's a purpose in doing so.
Works for me (on a Vario). Thanks OP.

  • 0

#5
b6x

b6x

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Fran

I'm assuming that this will work on any HTC Wizard. I know it works on the Cingular 8125 version.



Superb. Works fine on an O2 XDA mini-S. Thanks alot. :)

Edited by b6x, 20 February 2006 - 04:15 PM.

  • 0

#6
RichardD

RichardD

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Herts. UK
  • Devices:o2 XDA Mini S
That's already on my o2 XDA Mini S.
Perhaps the hack was part of another cab file I've installed ?!?

  • 0

o2 XDA Mini S (aka Wizard)http://my360stats.com/sig4/LeiChat

#7
st3ph3n

st3ph3n

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MDA VARIO
It's enabled on mine, but I can't remember when it got enabled.

Can someone tell me how to get into the symbols menu when typing an email?

  • 0

#8
lesgainous

lesgainous

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Can someone tell me how to get into the symbols menu when typing an email?


Basically, you type the character that most close resembles the character you want, and then press the round "dot" key and the Sym (Space) key. Repeated pressings of the Dot+Sym key cycles through all related symbols for the original character that you entered.

For example, when composing a document or email, enter the "(" character. Now press the Dot, then Sym key. You'll notice the "(" changes to "[". Pressing Dot, then Sym again, produces the "{" character. Repeat and you'll see "<", then "«".

Edited by lesgainous, 20 February 2006 - 08:49 PM.

  • 0
Les

My Windows Mobile history:

-Samsung Blackjack smartphone [2007]
-Microsoft Zune (black) [2007]
-HTC Wizard (Cingular 8125) PPC Phone [2006]
-HTC Universal (i-mate JASJAR) Pocket PC Phone Edition [2005]
-HTC Typhoon (Audiovox SMT 5600) smartphone [2004]
-Compal Red-E developer smartphone [2003]
-"Spaceneedle/Wallaby", the original T-Mobile Pocket PC Phone Edition [2002]
-iPAQ 3670 Pocket PC [2001]
-iPAQ 3630 Pocket PC [2000]
-Compaq Aero (one of the first Windows CE "Palm-sized PCs") [1998]
-Compaq C120 (running "Pegasus"-Windows CE 1.0) [1996]

#9
st3ph3n

st3ph3n

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:MDA VARIO

Basically, you type the character that most close resembles the character you want, and then press the round "dot" key and the Sym (Space) key. Repeated pressings of the Dot+Sym key cycles through all related symbols for the original character that you entered.

For example, when composing a document or email, enter the "(" character. Now press the Dot, then Sym key. You'll notice the "(" changes to "[". Pressing Dot, then Sym again, produces the "{" character. Repeat and you'll see "<", then "«".

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

WOW! That worked. Makes sense now. I guess I should have RTFM in the first place.

  • 0

#10
Monolithix

Monolithix

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,783 posts
This was posted a few months back. Worth stickying though :)

  • 0

I still exist


#11
robbmasters

robbmasters

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Hmmm.... maybe I'm doing something stupid, but it doesn't seem to be working properly for me.

I used BreakSoft's MobileRegistryEditor to edit the registry on my O2 XDA Mini S (with the O2 customisation removed as described at http://www.modaco.co...dpost&p=707087).

Now I'm getting the C and dot symbols... but the "C" appears when I'm typing LOWER case. That's not right, is it? :?:

  • 0

#12
robbmasters

robbmasters

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Yes, I was doing something stupid. Why is it you always realise this immediately after posting... :oops:

Anyway, seems I had caps-lock turned on in the on-screen keyboard and this was reversing the effect of caps-lock on the physical keyboard...

  • 0

#13
PayableOnDeath

PayableOnDeath

    CompTIA A+ Certified

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Location:Bournemouth
  • Devices:HTC Desire Z, T-Mobile G1
since i put this hack on, my dot+sym(Space) doesnt work so i cant change # to * or ( to { , etc
anyone else had this problem?

Edited by PayableOnDeath, 01 March 2006 - 02:32 PM.

  • 0
Phones:
Nokia 5210 > 3210 > 3100 > SPV C500 >O2 XDA1(Only Used in Car For Sat Nav) > MDA Vario > MDA Vario II > T-Mobile G1 > Nokia N900 > HTC Desire Z

#14
ericharlz

ericharlz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Location:Ala Eh! County
  • Devices:e100>c550>kjam>577w
nice one.. working smooth on my wizard

  • 0
Posted Image
ΣЯίђΛŘĿz
"There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don't."

#15
sgeary

sgeary

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
Thanks

Works a treat!!!! ;)

  • 0

#16
jim.mason

jim.mason

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Interests:Snowboarding, Beer, Girlfriend and cats and dog
  • Devices:Omnia 7
What a great tip. Used Resco Reg editor to do mine with no problems at all.

Only had my XDA Mini S a couple of days and was really annoyed at not being able to tell what mode the keyboard was in (until you type :) ) but now its much easier to use although it did take me a while to realise that if you hit either key twice in a row it changes all the keys you press rather than just the next one.

Cheer
Jim

  • 0
Jim
Omnia 7, HTC Hero, Touch HD, Kaiser, MDA Vario II with Black Satin,XDA Mini S, Qtek S110, C500, Motorla MPX 200, SPV Classic, Nokia 7210, 3210, 5110....


#17
DeejUK

DeejUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500
Nice, but why oh why can't it work on the Password screen? Maybe it's my own stupid fault for having all maner of strange case variations and symbols in my password...

  • 0

#18
Howiehowie93

Howiehowie93

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Lincoln England
  • Devices:iPhone 3G
This is Great. Just tried it on my O2 mini S. such a pain wondering what a key press is going to produce!

regards
Howie

  • 0

#19
alfmetal

alfmetal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:htc wizard - wm6.1
worked instantly at the moment of adding the value, no need to reset
thanks a lot
:D :(

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users