Jump to content


Photo

'Unlimited' GPRS by T-Mobile Check the fine print

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
fUNKUS

fUNKUS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:MDA Compact II
*Minimum term contract and credit check applies. Compatible handset required. Fair use policy applies: Relax web 'n' walk and Flext web 'n' walk price plans provide unlimited internet surfing on mobile handsets in the UK. To ensure a high quality of service for all our customers, they are not to be used for other activities such as (but not limited to): modem access for computers, internet based video/audio streaming services, peer to peer file sharing, internet based video download and internet based telephony. If such use is detected, notice may be given, after which network protection controls may be applied which will result in a reduced speed of transmission.

Just thought anyone with a charmer who has been offered 'unlimited' web and walk plans should check the bold. Its only going to be unlimitd for browsing, nothing else! I wonder why that print was soo tiny? hmm

  • 0

#2
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
It wasn't tiny and has been discussed in great detail in these forums.

It is still a bargain.

f you want to use it as a modem you'll have to wait for the Pro version due on the 17th.

Me? I'm happy with paying 7.50/month for effectively unlimited 3G access on my Universal together with T's great flext plans I am a very happy man ;)

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#3
pjam001

pjam001

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Devices:MDA Vario III
yes there was much duscussion on this before it actually came out. i'm on one of the flext wnw deals and can't knock the deals t-mobille are offering or their customer services for that matter. I'm actually using the charmer now but plugged into tge laptop whilst the wife is on it. broadband speed on this is great. Gprs speeds whilst out and about can be lived with.

  • 0

#4
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3
Wow ! Didn't realise 3G was covered in the bundle too !!

Does that mean if I get a 3G compatible phone ..... I can surf like a speed demon while sitting in the pub ??

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#5
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil

Wow ! Didn't realise 3G was covered in the bundle too !!

Does that mean if I get a 3G compatible phone ..... I can surf like a speed demon while sitting in the pub ??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


That's what I do with my Universal ;)

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#6
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3
Sweet !!

So the Internet can actually be properly used with a Universal !!

Can I also use skype ??

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#7
jonajuna

jonajuna

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:zummerzet
  • Devices:Touch HD with L26HDV7.5 ROM

Sweet !!

So the Internet can actually be properly used with a Universal !!

Can I also use skype ??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



*Minimum term contract and credit check applies. Compatible handset required. Fair use policy applies: Relax web 'n' walk and Flext web 'n' walk price plans provide unlimited internet surfing on mobile handsets in the UK. To ensure a high quality of service for all our customers, they are not to be used for other activities such as (but not limited to): modem access for computers, internet based video/audio streaming services, peer to peer file sharing, internet based video download and internet based telephony. If such use is detected, notice may be given, after which network protection controls may be applied which will result in a reduced speed of transmission.


you could use skype, until tmob block you and cap your speeds

hey funkus, i guess some people cant read the fine print even after youve quoted it in bold print!!! ;)

  • 0

#8
fUNKUS

fUNKUS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:MDA Compact II
hehe i suppose it depends on how much you intend to use it, for me the list of things you cant do is a list of things i want to do so it annoyed me alot when i read it.


sorry if this is a repost :roll:

Edited by fUNKUS, 10 April 2006 - 01:37 AM.

  • 0

#9
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3
Dudes !!

Of course they will not allow VOIP in their "small print" ...... BUT could/would it still be possible anyway ??

I reckon yes, cos there is no real way they can identify what the internet traffic is being used for ......

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#10
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
Why not just go for the Pro version which will allow VOIP?

Why do something that is specifically forbiden?

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#11
battletank

battletank

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:Galaxy Note, S3 on order
  • Twitter:@@processguru

Why not just go for the Pro version which will allow VOIP?

Why do something that is specifically forbiden?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I'd love to go for the Pro version, however, I seem to recall that this is only available on the business version of the Flext tariff. As I'm not a business user and don't have my own business, this is not available to me as an option.

  • 0
Smartphone enthusiast since the Nokia N9000i; owned almost everything since
Current Android Devices: Advent Vega, Dell Streak, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S2
Current iOS Devices: iPad, iPhone 4

#12
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
The pro version is not available on any tarrif until the 19th.

I would be suprised if it is limited to business tarrifs.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#13
Perfectionist

Perfectionist

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Location:London - U.K.
  • Interests:Flashlights, Multi Tools, Mobile Phones &amp; Gadgets<br />Mountain Biking, Snooker &amp; Pool<br />Politics, Religion &amp; Lesbian Porn :)
  • Devices:MDA Compact 3
Where are the details for this Pro version ..... more importantly, how much will it cost ? !!

  • 0

Perfect Device = Samsung M8920 with WinMo7 plus FM & TV Tuners !!


#14
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
Try reading the thread in the Smartphone news section.
8.50 + VAT (total 9.99) was supposed to be out on the 17th but I believe it's now due on the 19th.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#15
Samsonite

Samsonite

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 673 posts
  • Interests:gadgets, motorcycles
  • Devices:QtekS100, E650, Touch Dual

Dudes !!

Of course they will not allow VOIP in their "small print" ...... BUT could/would it still be possible anyway ??

I reckon yes, cos there is no real way they can identify what the internet traffic is being used for ......

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



i'm not an expert but i would still think 'they' can tell what you are passing to your device...

Skype does come in port 80 on the PC version - the same as internet traffic - but you make a TCP connection to the calling IP address.. Most internet-based traffic is UDP so if the T-Mob servers are able to suss out the connection tyoes, you may well get busted!!

slightly off topic, but our IT guy at work is having kittens about all of us sales reps having Skype on our laptops!!! apparently it rides roughshod over his security policy!!!

Edited by Samsonite, 10 April 2006 - 06:15 PM.

  • 0

#16
LSmith4285

LSmith4285

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Devices:Orange Diamond
I'm guessing they won't care unless you get excessive with it.

If you start making a lot of VOIP then they have an excuse to stop you however if you use it once in a blue moon I doubt they would notice.

  • 0

#17
jonajuna

jonajuna

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Location:zummerzet
  • Devices:Touch HD with L26HDV7.5 ROM

I'm guessing they won't care unless you get excessive with it.

If you start making a lot of VOIP then they have an excuse to stop you however if you use it once in a blue moon I doubt they would notice.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


i too suspect that is the key, reading between the lines, there is a cap on amount of data. the reality of web browsing and email is that you cant really use up that much bandwidth, unless you have no life (especially on gprs), whereas the things that are banned like voip and streaming video are very highly bandwidth intensive.

at a guess id say they would get suss if a gprs user was getting through over 100mb a month and a 3g user maybe 5 times that

at a guess

skypes pants anyway and full of holes

and why oh why use voip when you could have shed loads of airtime for very little anyway.

ill save my video, p2p and other bandwidth intensive needs for my home pc and the connection and security i have there

  • 0

#18
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
In the Smartphone News section this has been discussed in detail - it is not the amount of data that's the problem but the way VOIP, streaming and downloading large files hogs the GPRS channels.

Like I say, there is a far more technical explination in the Smartphone News section for those that are interested.

I presume those using VOIP are using it for overseas calls but as I can't remember the last time I made a personal call overseas it's of little interest to me.

Edited by Confucious, 11 April 2006 - 05:55 AM.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#19
Thumper Net

Thumper Net

    The artist formerly known as Peekie

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,888 posts
We have the same offer here in holland but also tmobile hot spots as well are included ( wifi internet found mostly in mc donalds ) where the laptop works a charm as does the phone. maybe the uk will also get that as well in the future ;)

  • 0
gadget freek , rabbit mad english guy trapped in Holland

#20
fUNKUS

fUNKUS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:MDA Compact II

i'm not an expert but i would still think 'they' can tell what you are passing to your device...

Skype does come in port 80 on the PC version - the same as internet traffic - but you make a TCP connection to the calling IP address.. Most internet-based traffic is UDP so if the T-Mob servers are able to suss out the connection tyoes, you may well get busted!!

slightly off topic, but our IT guy at work is having kittens about all of us sales reps having Skype on our laptops!!! apparently it rides roughshod over his security policy!!!



Basically when a group want to know whats being used on their networks its very easy to run a packet sniffer, since every program has a code directing the data packets towards the correct program. So just by using packet-sniffing they can tell exactly what programs you are using over the network.

Im not saying that a swat team is gunna break your windows in and storm using flashbangs ;) but dont be naieve enuff to think they dont know whats going through their networks, if loads of people start using skype and other high bandwith programs on their 'unlimited' system then they will fall back to the above policy and your data rate will get cut down.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users