Jump to content


Photo

CommCEntric v1.1 - homescreen BT&WiFi plugin

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N

http://www.modaco.com/index.php?automodule=downloads&req=display&code=sst&id=2060

File Name: CommCEntric v1.1 - homescreen BT&WiFi plugin
File Submitter: thenext1
File Submitted: 6 Jan 2007
File Updated: 8 Apr 2007
File Category: Utilities - Homescreen Plugins

DISCLAIMER: I will not assume any responsibility for any damage this software may cause to your phone and/or your personal data.

What is it
CommCEntric is a homescreen plugin that simplifies access to the BT&WiFi switches on your phone, placing 2 icons on the homescreen. The icons have a context menu for super-fast switching on and off. The BT icon has a shortcut to the bluetooth settings in the control panel.

How to install
If you already have the old version installed, please uninstall it and reboot the phone before installing this new version!
Otherwise, simply copy and run the .CAB file on your phone. Please install it to the internal storage (less than 50 kb required).

How to use
For a basic installation, place the following lines in your homescreen's xml file.
CODE<plugin clsid="{42661036-6FE8-4194-B549-3CC38D8B90C9}" align="left">
</plugin>
The align attribute is supported, with the following values:
- left: align to left
- right: align to right
- center: horizontal center in screen
- borders: BT icon to the left, WiFi icon to the right
Plugin can be translated by adding the following attributes:
- str_bt0: translation for "Disable Bluetooth"
- str_bt1: translation for "Enable Bluetooth"
- str_bt1d: translation for "Set discoverable"
- str_btconf: translation for "Configure Bluetooth"
- str_wifi0: translation for "Disable Wi-Fi"
- str_wifi1: translation for "Enable Wi-Fi"
For an example translating the "Set discoverable" string to italian, see this snippet:
CODE<plugin clsid="{42661036-6FE8-4194-B549-3CC38D8B90C9}" align="left" str_bt1d="Bluetooth raggiungibile">
</plugin>
Plugin can also display clock and date adding the following attributes (NEW!):
- time: format syntax for time (see here, look for the "lpFormat" section)
- date: format syntax for date (see here, look for the "lpFormat" section, note that the format syntax for days is lowercase, there's an error in the microsoft docs, so "Dddd" -> "dddd")
For example:
CODE<plugin clsid="{42661036-6FE8-4194-B549-3CC38D8B90C9}" align="left" date="dddd d MMMM yyyy" time="HH:mm">
</plugin>

Compatibility
- Now supports all devices with Windows Mobile 2003 and newer, with Bluetooth
- May require phone unlock.

Should you find a bug...
Please notify it to me in the support thread!
I thank in advance those who notify me if their WiFi device is recognized and working (switches on&off) with this new version!
Look for a .LOG file in the plugin folder.

Limitations
- Plugin height is fixed to 42 pixels


Version history
v1.1:
  • new drawing algorythm that allows WM2003 compatibility
  • improved WiFi detection
  • WiFi switching now should work
  • new clock feature
  • new "Bluetooth settings" shortcut
v1.0:
  • initial release


Click here to download this file

Edited by thenext1, 07 April 2007 - 11:25 PM.

  • 0

#2
My_Immortal

My_Immortal

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Fairy Windchimes Land
  • Devices:Xperia X10i HD
  • Twitter:@iridaki
Posted Image Posted Image

It works like charm on my Qtek 8500!!!! I even did the translation very easily and I added it on my favorite homescreen!
Of course the WiFi icon doesn't appear, but it would be useless to me anyway.
I LOVE IT!!! :D

PS: Now, could someone maybe help me on how can I place a b-border in order to make the Bluetooth plugin
look separate from the calendar? :)

Edited by My_Immortal, 15 January 2007 - 09:49 AM.

  • 0
The world forgetting by the world forgot.
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!


Posted Image

#3
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N

Posted Image Posted Image

It works like charm on my Qtek 8500!!!! I even did the translation very easily and I added it on my favorite homescreen!
Of course the WiFi icon doesn't appear, but it would be useless to me anyway.
I LOVE IT!!! :D

PS: Now, could someone maybe help me on how can I place a b-border in order to make the Bluetooth plugin
look separate from the calendar? :)





I'm glad to hear it!

Thanks for your reply

p.s. I mistakenly associated the 8500 to the 8310 so I was thinking why the WiFi icon didn't appear... but if I remember correctly, the Qtek 8500 is the i-mate smartflip and it hasnt got wifi.. so it's all OK.
thanks for testing anyway :D

Edited by thenext1, 16 January 2007 - 09:35 AM.

  • 0

#4
nicoloco

nicoloco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC P3600
Hi,

I must have done something wrong on my HTC P3600 cause I don't see anything after th einstallation.
I can see the xml file cctest

But I don't know what to do then ??

Sorry for the noob question.

bye

  • 0

#5
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N

Hi,

I must have done something wrong on my HTC P3600 cause I don't see anything after th einstallation.
I can see the xml file cctest

But I don't know what to do then ??

Sorry for the noob question.

bye


You should go to settings>home and choose the test homescreen. If it works, it should appear in the home screen.... if it doesn't appear, then it doesn't work.

If it works, you can customize your own homescreen inserting the XML code shown in the download page.

There are plenty of homescreen-customizing tutorials....



bye bye

  • 0

#6
-Tex-

-Tex-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Dnipropetrovs'k
  • Devices:Qtek 8300
Can you port it to WM 2003 SE ?

  • 0

#7
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N

Can you port it to WM 2003 SE ?



WM 2003 SE doesn't support alpha transparency in Windows GDI, so the icons would look like "horrible".

Yet there may be some other method.

If you are a coder i may send the source code to you (not 100% sure although....)

  • 0

#8
-Tex-

-Tex-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Dnipropetrovs'k
  • Devices:Qtek 8300
Unfortunately I not the coder can eat a way to use usual 24-bit icons ?

Edited by -Tex-, 23 January 2007 - 01:29 PM.

  • 0

#9
nicoloco

nicoloco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC P3600
OK So it seems it doesn't work.

I don't see the test homescreen in settings/home

It would have been niced to have this feature ..

Edited by nicoloco, 24 January 2007 - 09:19 AM.

  • 0

#10
Mr.Clean

Mr.Clean

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Devices:HTC 2125
Man, this is great. I'd love to incorporate it into my homescreen! Problem is that I don't have 40 pixels available (that's a lot!)...

A couple of things I'd love to see:
1) Ability to specify plugin height in the xml
2) Ability to utilize user defined icons
3) Ability to specify x/y offsets in xml

I'm a programmer, so I'd love to take a look at the source -- if you don't mind. Perhaps I could contribute by adding the above capabilities. Although I've never done anything for WM before, this would be a great opportunity to learn something new!

  • 0

#11
-Tex-

-Tex-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Dnipropetrovs'k
  • Devices:Qtek 8300

Man, this is great. I'd love to incorporate it into my homescreen! Problem is that I don't have 40 pixels available (that's a lot!)...

A couple of things I'd love to see:
1) Ability to specify plugin height in the xml
2) Ability to utilize user defined icons
3) Ability to specify x/y offsets in xml

I'm a programmer, so I'd love to take a look at the source -- if you don't mind. Perhaps I could contribute by adding the above capabilities. Although I've never done anything for WM before, this would be a great opportunity to learn something new!


It will be great if it will work on Wm 2003

  • 0

#12
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N

Man, this is great. I'd love to incorporate it into my homescreen! Problem is that I don't have 40 pixels available (that's a lot!)...

A couple of things I'd love to see:
1) Ability to specify plugin height in the xml
2) Ability to utilize user defined icons
3) Ability to specify x/y offsets in xml

I'm a programmer, so I'd love to take a look at the source -- if you don't mind. Perhaps I could contribute by adding the above capabilities. Although I've never done anything for WM before, this would be a great opportunity to learn something new!


please PM me your email address and I will send you the source code (along with some explanations and other things!)



item 2 is easy to do without changing the source code.



anyway, do you have WiFi in your device? does the icon display? i would be very glad if someone contributes a method to safely switch on/off the WiFi.



It will be great if it will work on Wm 2003


maybe it will work, but I (we) will need to look at it deeper.... be patient and wait :)

  • 0

#13
-Tex-

-Tex-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Location:Dnipropetrovs'k
  • Devices:Qtek 8300

maybe it will work, but I (we) will need to look at it deeper.... be patient and wait :)

And I need to do nothing more

  • 0

#14
bigmak

bigmak

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Location:Bern, Switzerland
  • Devices:Samsung SGH-i600
Great work! I use the plugin very often, it's a nice, simple and very elegant way to save battery without entering the menues. And the Bluetooth icon looks hot on a black/gray home screen. I integrated it in a landscape homescreen for my beloved i320.

Attached File  Simple_Black_BT.jpg   10.17KB   65 downloads

  • 0
Motorola StarTAC - Panasonic GD90 - Nokia 8210 (3 times broken...) - Nokia 6210 (2 times broken) - Ericsson T68 - SonyEricsson T68i - SonyEricsson T610 - Nokia 7600 (back to T610 after a month) - SPV e200 - C500 - C550 - SonyEricsson K750i - Qtek 8310 - Samsung SGH-i320 - Samsung SGH-i600 and Neonode N2

#15
hylton

hylton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 3125, Motorola MPx220
Any chance you have considered adding time/date functionality into this plugin. I don't use the profile switching capability of my carrier plugin, it's disabled, so it only displays the date and time. It would be nice to append the date and time, similar to how you do it in the carrier plugin, to the left or right of the BT icon...it would save some realestate and provide that additional information to allow removing the carrier plugin completely...

Just a thought...

Chris

  • 0

#16
dallasnights

dallasnights

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:null
Ok I loaded the first CODE you noted on a XML, but when i go to launch the BT it says error

Can someone help please, maybe put the total code here I need to put in XML

Thanks ALL


http://www.modaco.com/downloads.html&req=display&code=sst&id=2060
File Name: CommCEntric - homescreen BT plugin
File Submitter: thenext1
File Submitted: 5 Jan 2007
File Category: Utilities - Homescreen Plugins

This homescreen plugin installs a Bluetooth and WiFi(read note) icon in the homescreen to switch on/off.
Unlike other plugins, i tried to make it look pretty including 2 alpha-transparent icons to blend smoothly with your background - see image for proof. (See here for a good homescreen)

DISCLAIMER: I will not assume any responsibility for any damage this software may cause to your phone and/or your personal data.

== COMPATIBILITY ==
- Windows Mobile 5 only (won't even start on older versions).
- Install in internal memory - storage card installation is untested.
- May require phone unlock.

== KNOWN ISSUES AND LIMITATIONS ==
- Plugins height is fixed to 40 pixels
- WiFi icon may not appear even when WiFi card is present (tested on iMate SP5m).
- WiFi switching is very experimental and probably will not work on your phone. In addition it may cause other WiFi problems until reboot (does so on my test phone). If someone can help, PM me.

== HOW TO USE ==
<plugin clsid="{42661036-6FE8-4194-B549-3CC38D8B90C9}" align="left">
</plugin>
The CAB installs a sample xml in the homescreens folder called "cctest.home.xml"
The align attribute is supported, with the following values:
- left: align to left
- right: align to right
- center: horizontal center in screen
- borders: BT icon to the left, WiFi icon to the right
Plugin can be translated by adding the following attributes:
- str_bt0: translation for "Disable Bluetooth"
- str_bt1: translation for "Enable Bluetooth"
- str_bt1d: translation for "Set discoverable"
- str_wifi0: translation for "Disable Wi-Fi"
- str_wifi1: translation for "Enable Wi-Fi"
For an example translating the "Set discoverable" string to italian, see this snippet:
<plugin clsid="{42661036-6FE8-4194-B549-3CC38D8B90C9}" align="left" str_bt1d="Bluetooth raggiungibile">
</plugin>

Click here to download this file


  • 0

#17
nicoloco

nicoloco

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC P3600

You should go to settings>home and choose the test homescreen. If it works, it should appear in the home screen.... if it doesn't appear, then it doesn't work.

If it works, you can customize your own homescreen inserting the XML code shown in the download page.

There are plenty of homescreen-customizing tutorials....



bye bye


Sorry to insist but your plugin seems so ggod that I really would like to make it work.

Do I need to use a software like wisbar to use xml file ??

thanks

  • 0

#18
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N
new version is coming guys, stay tuned for my Easter gift ;)

Sorry to insist but your plugin seems so ggod that I really would like to make it work.

Do I need to use a software like wisbar to use xml file ??

thanks

Nicoloco, I noticed right now that your device (P3600) is a PDA! homescreen plugins are ONLY for smartphones. You should look at "today screen" plugins.

  • 0

#19
thenext1

thenext1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid N
There's a new version available!
I listened to TEX and hylton, and added the clock/date function and made it WM2003 compatible.
Also fixed WiFi, now should work.

Download it now and remember FIRST to uninstll previous version and reboot the phone!!

bye bye
Enrico

  • 0

#20
kylen1010

kylen1010

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
hi, i was wondering if there is a way to add this plugin as a button in the facade launcher. that way it saves a ton of space on my homescreen. thanks! Something like this:












  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users