Jump to content


Photo

useful program for up-sizing 176x220 > QVGA

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)
Hey guys.

I got this useful app that a programer has given me permission to post here being that he doesnt have an account on modaco. It started out as a Russian Application and he has converted to English.


This program is used for taking smaller resolution games (176x220) and upsizing it to QVGA. :)
on the bad note, not all games work with this, and not all games look good after this QVGA stretch, but others look good. :D
My Little Tank
Super Miners
Worms World Party :D
Marble Worlds
MotoGear
6th gear ultimate challenge
Midtown Madness 3 Mobile :D (looks great too)
*Bounty Hunter Pinball and
*Full Hand Casino
*tennis addict
*Feather-snake ExBubble
*MotoGear
*PocketGBA (from sunbug.net)
*ArkaBall
*Foo Fighter
*G-Prime
*Li-Nuggz


also ive included the QVGA version of cell doom, being that its freeware. just remember to add the XG.dll file from the SCALE folder.

Attached Files


Edited by mikeeey, 31 May 2007 - 08:51 PM.

  • 0
my signature is too long

#2
bocker

bocker

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
:D Fantastic Program Just converted some games using this app. No borders around tiny screen anymore.
works on Bounty Hunter Pinball and Full Hand Casino :D
Scratching my head before I remembered to copy XG.dll out of Scale folder :) now ok :D
Just tried it with Tennis Addict -working well :D

Edited by bocker, 19 January 2007 - 11:58 PM.

  • 0

#3
DSF

DSF

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
yeah, i've tested this with worms and midtown madness some weeks ago. looks preety bad :)

  • 0

#4
feoysolo

feoysolo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Shadow

yeah, i've tested this with worms and midtown madness some weeks ago. looks preety bad :)


Bad as in hard to look at bad or Michael Jackson bad? I've tried it with those same two games and it works beautifully. A little sloppy on the menu for Midtown Madness and the startup for WWP, but the in game graphics are pretty damn good. The graphics for Midtown Madness are nice enough, but just like the mophun version of Carmageddon, I would imagine any 3D type games actually made for a QVGA screen could look better (look at Raging Thunder for instance).

Thanks for bringing this over here to Modaco. I think everyone here'll get a real kick out of it.

EDIT: Just tried it with Cocoto Cart Racer and it doesn't work. Not that it said anywhere that it would; I was just hopeful. Fertheluvvachrist why won't someone develop a Mario Kart-esque game for QVGA? I swear I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Oh, and while we're at it how 'bout Ancient empires I and II?

Edited by feoysolo, 17 January 2007 - 12:24 AM.

  • 0

#5
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

Bad as in hard to look at bad or Michael Jackson bad? I've tried it with those same two games and it works beautifully. A little sloppy on the menu for Midtown Madness and the startup for WWP, but the in game graphics are pretty damn good. The graphics for Midtown Madness are nice enough, but just like the mophun version of Carmageddon, I would imagine any 3D type games actually made for a QVGA screen could look better (look at Raging Thunder for instance).

Thanks for bringing this over here to Modaco. I think everyone here'll get a real kick out of it.

EDIT: Just tried it with Cocoto Cart Racer and it doesn't work. Not that it said anywhere that it would; I was just hopeful. Fertheluvvachrist why won't someone develop a Mario Kart-esque game for QVGA? I swear I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Oh, and while we're at it how 'bout Ancient empires I and II?

hahaha michael jackson bad...im srue hes talkin about quality bad. basicly anything thats gonna look bad would be thin lines or small font. midtown madness 3 has a lot of bold font and good graphics, so stretching it really did nothing "bad". wwp u could see the difference but it was still enjoyable to play and excited that it finally fit the screen after the years of searching for a QVGA version. words are a little sketchy but still very readable.

but look at it this way, would u rather it look like a little game in the middle of a black screen or somehting that fills ur screen and still doesnt look half bad. didnt it already look "bad" when it was small in the middle of the screen?

  • 0
my signature is too long

#6
راعي الفتك 2005

راعي الفتك 2005

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:imate SP5
GxQvga Patcher didnt work on my computer (error)

i have in my computre framwork 2.0


so now how to do it where shoud i put GxQvga Patcher in phone or what ??

and what these all files in Release folder ???

  • 0

#7
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

GxQvga Patcher didnt work on my computer (error)

i have in my computre framwork 2.0
so now how to do it where shoud i put GxQvga Patcher in phone or what ??

and what these all files in Release folder ???

this should work on ur computer. ur running windows XP rite?
all that needs to be done is u extract the zip folder and run GxQvga Patcher.exe.
what happens when u click on this exe file?

  • 0
my signature is too long

#8
راعي الفتك 2005

راعي الفتك 2005

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Devices:imate SP5
this what happen when i click on exe file

Attached Files


  • 0

#9
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

this what happen when i click on exe file

that message comes up when u dont have service pack 2. are u sure u have it?

  • 0
my signature is too long

#10
RealUnrealwolf

RealUnrealwolf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:null
If somebody wants, i can upload a wm2003qvga version (for C550).

  • 0

#11
ninjaw

ninjaw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Nine Inch Nails
  • Devices:Omnia pro B7610
  • Twitter:@ninjaw
OMG ! this worked perfectly on Feather-snake ExBubble (I used Scale dll on a SPVC600)

  • 0

#12
melfyn

melfyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:O2 XDA IQ

If somebody wants, i can upload a wm2003qvga version (for C550).


Yes please.
I could try to upscale Links Golf.
I really miss that game. Sad!!
Cheers.

  • 0

#13
melfyn

melfyn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:O2 XDA IQ

If somebody wants, i can upload a wm2003qvga version (for C550).


Yes please.
I could try to upscale Links Golf.
I really miss that game. Sad!!
Cheers.

  • 0

#14
yaro12

yaro12

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Oh Please :)

  • 0

#15
RealUnrealwolf

RealUnrealwolf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:null
http://slil.ru/23867814
Here is it. Use program from the first post, then rename one of dlls to xg.dll and put with a game.

  • 0

#16
SA15

SA15

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC S710
Very useful...

Thanks...

  • 0

#17
pryngiel

pryngiel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Well it doesnt work fine with me. I do everything step by step, i have patched exe and ve'got XG.dll file (whatever which) in the same folder. When i want to run WWP.exe (worms world party) I have 'access denied' error on my device, but when I run SMALauncher.exe it runs and then freezes ... I have an SPV c550

Any ideas? thanks in advance

Edited by pryngiel, 18 February 2007 - 10:56 AM.

  • 0

#18
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

Well it doesnt work fine with me. I do everything step by step, i have patched exe and ve'got XG.dll file (whatever which) in the same folder. When i want to run WWP.exe (worms world party) I have 'access denied' error on my device, but when I run SMALauncher.exe it runs and then freezes ... I have an SPV c550

Any ideas? thanks in advance

hmm... are u using WM5?
do u have .Net 2.0 on your device? (dont know if its needed but worth a try anyway)
is your phone app unlocked (also dont know if its needed but also worth a try)

Edited by mikeeey, 18 February 2007 - 11:03 AM.

  • 0
my signature is too long

#19
pryngiel

pryngiel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

hmm... are u using WM5?
do u have .Net 2.0 on your device? (dont know if its needed but worth a try anyway)
is your phone app unlocked (also dont know if its needed but also worth a try)

I am using, app unlocked WM 2003 SE without .Net 2.0 onboard but [1.0492.00], maybe thats the key

Midtown Madness 3 Mobile (looks great too)

I get an error too 'MM is not valid Windows CE application'.

I wanted to give a try this .Net 2.0 thing, but I cant really find WM 2003 version...

  • 0

#20
ninjaw

ninjaw

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:France
  • Interests:Nine Inch Nails
  • Devices:Omnia pro B7610
  • Twitter:@ninjaw
Worms dont work on a full patched C600 stop trying

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users