Jump to content


Photo

Change sound for INCOMING SMS.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
renderz

renderz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey folks,

I want to use a custom sound to play when I receive SMS messages (R2D2 if you wanted to know), but I cannot find a way to place the .wav sound in the drop down list in the sound options.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.

  • 0

#2
Disco Stu

Disco Stu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,184 posts
  • Location:Coventry, UK
  • Interests:techno, Leeds United
  • Devices:HTC Touch Dual / SPV E650
The tone should be a wav file and it needs to go in the main Windows directory.
;)

  • 0

#3
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell
...and the wav file should be small- less than 25KB preferably ;)

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#4
renderz

renderz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

The tone should be a wav file and it needs to go in the main Windows directory.
;)


Awesome, that did the trick. Many thanks!!

  • 0

#5
John Cainer

John Cainer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chelmsford
  • Devices:N73
What version do you have, I'm having trouble too.

  • 0

#6
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell

What version do you have, I'm having trouble too.


If you mean what OS version, or what device version, it doesn't matter.

It has always been a Phone Edition convention that Sounds and Notifications can only be WAV files, and must reside in the My Device/Windows folder. Once there, the Sounds and Notifications control panel app should pck them up, from where you can select in the choice boxes.

Ringtones should be in the Windows/Rinsg folder and can be WAV, MID, WMA or MP3 format. Other locations are possible, but aren't consistent.

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#7
RoVal1972

RoVal1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV c500
From me another question. How can I change the alarm tones (i want to have some longer and better sounds)? What do I have to do ? Thanks a lot!

  • 0

#8
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell
Alarm tones are the same as messaging in the default Alarm application- that is they need to be small WAV files, located in the Windows folder.

3rd party alarm programs like SpB Time, ActiveKitten Chronos etc can all use MP3's, WMA's or OGG's as alarm tones, so if you really want exended capability, it might be worth buying something.

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#9
Mr_Kev

Mr_Kev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Trinity (Orange SPV M700)
just a tip....do a search for a program called "Ease Audio Converter" ...it offers a free trial, its a great program for converting to wav files and also has a built in program for cutting the length of sounds so you dont get the whole ninth symphony on your phone

Kev

  • 0

#10
Neil5459

Neil5459

    NeilM

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,485 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saffron Walden, Essex
  • Devices:HTC Titan, iPad 2 3G
  • Twitter:@Neilmell
Another good audio transcoder is Audacity which is open source, and free of charge.

  • 0
NeilM: Site Moderator and Reviewer on SmartphoneGurus

Posted ImagePosted Image

Windows Mobile Specialist Certification


#11
RoVal1972

RoVal1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV c500
Thank you all! I made some wav... they did not work so they are too big.

Cheers!

  • 0

#12
RoVal1972

RoVal1972

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Romania
  • Devices:SPV c500
Thank you all! I made some wav... they did not work so they are too big.

Cheers!

  • 0

#13
irishmark

irishmark

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:SPV M700 & M600
Does anyone know why this is? On My SPV M600 I was able to pop any MP3 file into the folder and it had no problems at all. Why is it with the M700 you ant do it anymore. Its a bit of a royal pain in the preverbial!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users