BT PAN - Hermes & VISTA (for Interent Sharing)

Guest wonderstoat

Guest wonderstoat

Hi

I'm struggling to set up Internet Sharing for my SPV M3100. I've successfully flashed to the lastest Orange ROM, and have to say it seems faster and more stable than the original load that came on the device.

Anyway, (asides from the BT DUN arguments over whether MS should've dropped it), from reading posts on various sites it seems that no-one has managed to get BT PAN working on Vista.

Can anyone help? I'm not very technical, but as far as I can determine:

1) I have the standard BT stack that comes with the SPV M3100

2) I'm using the MS BT stack that came with my Vista laptop

3) I try to tether the devices, follow the steps on the PPC,

4) However, when I go to Network Sharing on Vista and try to set up a BT PAN it can't find any suitable BT devices.

I know that this works on XP, but that's not much good to me.

Frequently on Modaco some genius comes up with a fix for this sort of thing (e.g. http://www.modaco.com/RUU-on-Vista-It-can-...e-t252977.html)

Any help would really, really be appreciated.

Thanks

Stoatie

Guest wonderstoat
Hi

I'm struggling to set up Internet Sharing for my SPV M3100. I've successfully flashed to the lastest Orange ROM, and have to say it seems faster and more stable than the original load that came on the device.

Anyway, (asides from the BT DUN arguments over whether MS should've dropped it), from reading posts on various sites it seems that no-one has managed to get BT PAN working on Vista.

Can anyone help? I'm not very technical, but as far as I can determine:

1) I have the standard BT stack that comes with the SPV M3100

2) I'm using the MS BT stack that came with my Vista laptop

3) I try to tether the devices, follow the steps on the PPC,

4) However, when I go to Network Sharing on Vista and try to set up a BT PAN it can't find any suitable BT devices.

I know that this works on XP, but that's not much good to me.