Jump to content


Photo

WM6 now showing on an O2 Graphite near you!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#1
mrkipling

mrkipling

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:West Sussex
  • Devices:ImateSP5:XDAGraphite:VarioIII
MoDaCo member 'mrkipling' writes...

"After phoning O2 retentions with full intentions to quit my now expired contract, They managed to convince (practically pay) me to stay with them for another 12 months. I had seen the graphite a while back so requested they supply me with one of these as well (getting sick of waiting for any news on the S730).

Well that was Wednesday, and the thing turned up this morning - On opening the delivery box, a couple of pleasant surprises greeted me:

1. They had thrown in an O2 branded BT headset, but more importantly...
2. A badge on the front of the Box, stating a WM6 upgrade (see pic)

Posted Image

I've attached a couple of pics, one of the system Info screen showing the ROM date as July 11th 2007 ( so it must be a pretty new upgrade)

Posted Image

Upgrading from my SP5 and using in conjunction with my Vario II, Inital thoughts of the device are positive. Certainly a lot more responsive than my SP5!

Maybe if O2 made a bit more noise about this device, and the fact that it now comes with WM6, they might shift a few more handsets !

Woah, talk about out of the blue! :P

So where's the update for existing customers O2!

:)

P

[Edited and moved by Paul (MVP) to news]

  • 0

#2
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Awesome, cheers for posting that dude, that's good news!

I rehosted the images so MoDaCo doesn't suck all your bandwidth :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#3
mrkipling

mrkipling

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:West Sussex
  • Devices:ImateSP5:XDAGraphite:VarioIII
Thanks for sticking it on the Front page, and rehosting the images Paul, Now if only O2 would sort out their data tarrifs....... :)

  • 0

#4
Shuflie

Shuflie

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,294 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast
  • Devices:HTC One X
  • Twitter:@Shuflie
O2 seem to be doing quite a bit of WM6 upgrading in the background. My boss bought an XDA Trion which came through a couple of weeks ago, and guess what, WM6 was installed despite the website still claiming WM5 as the OS.

  • 0
Posted Image

#5
harrysaab

harrysaab

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
any news release of wm6 upgrade yet?

my 'back' button is not working normally, i have to press it really hard to make it work. does anyone know how to fix this or where can i repair it from? i bought it from hong kong in march, wil cost alot to send it back, will o2 in uk accept it to fix it?

cheers

  • 0

#6
philg2000

philg2000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

MoDaCo member 'mrkipling' writes...
Woah, talk about out of the blue! :P

So where's the update for existing customers O2!

:)

P

[Edited and moved by Paul (MVP) to news]


Any chance that ROM could be dumped?
Or is that, cough, not on...

  • 0

#7
surfichris

surfichris

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
OK - Now I am annoyed.

After emailing O2 a while ago about a WM6 upgrade/version of the Graphite and they essentially said it wasn't going to happen, I waited a while and around a month ago purchased a Graphite.

Now I'm annoyed they've done the WM6 ugprade on the devices but it isn't available from the O2 site for existing owners.

[edit] Just emailed O2, we'll see what they have to say.

Dumped ROM might be nice if possible?

Edited by surfichris, 12 August 2007 - 03:51 AM.

  • 0

#8
m@...

m@...

    More devices than sense!

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:HTC/Asus/Palm/Moto/Samsung...
I also hear that the v1210 from Vodafone (Same Hardware less camera) is also shipping with WM6... and has been for a number of weeks.

  • 0

#9
lsainsbury

lsainsbury

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
The GF has just ordered a new Graphite from O2 - hope she gets the WiMo6 Upgraded version + free bluetooth headset - otherwise it'll be going back to O2!

  • 0

#10
davidjp

davidjp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:O2 XDA Mini s

any news release of wm6 upgrade yet?

my 'back' button is not working normally, i have to press it really hard to make it work. does anyone know how to fix this or where can i repair it from? i bought it from hong kong in march, wil cost alot to send it back, will o2 in uk accept it to fix it?

cheers


I'm having the same problem, but it seems to be affecting the '2' button more. Very annoying.

  • 0

#11
surfichris

surfichris

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
OK, just a follow up - I've received two replies from O2 Asia about WM6 upgrades for the Graphite.

First Email - I don't think they entirely understood my request as they started going on about using unofficial firmware/voiding warranty which had nothing to do with my original questions.

Dear Chris,

Thank you for contacting O2 Asia Technical Support.

With regards to your query below, kindly note that our engineers have only tested on Xda Atom Life and Xda Zinc at this moment. And also, kindly note that it is not advisable for customers to upgrade Windows Mobile 6 for any other O2 devices which does not have any vaild released news for that particular model as the ROM upgrade might not be suitable for the device. Kindly note that any unauthorised upgrade for the device besides Xda Atom Life and Xda Zinc at this moment, the warranty will be void.

However, we appreciate your response. O2 Asia Technical Support values your feedback and it will be relayed to the relevant department for further review and possible future action (no further news at this moment).

Please do inform us should you require further assistance in the near future.

Thank you.


Second Email

Dear Chris,

Thank you for contacting O2 Asia Technical Support.

With reference to the query you have raised, please be advised that O2 Asia currently has no plans of providing Windows Mobile 6 upgrade/pre-installed Windows Mobile 6 upgrade device for Graphite (no further news as of this moment).

You may wish to refer time and again in the near future to www.seeo2.com for further information on the devices with Windows Mobile 6.

Thank you.


So sadly no planned Windows Mobile 6 firmware upgrade for us existing Graphite users is planned at the moment. :)

  • 0

#12
lsainsbury

lsainsbury

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

The GF has just ordered a new Graphite from O2 - hope she gets the WiMo6 Upgraded version + free bluetooth headset - otherwise it'll be going back to O2!


Guess what? She got sent a WM5...phoned O2 - its going back and another will arrive tomorrow. If that one has WM5 that'll go back as well until they bloody get it right!!

  • 0

#13
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

Guess what? She got sent a WM5...phoned O2 - its going back and another will arrive tomorrow. If that one has WM5 that'll go back as well until they bloody get it right!!

my guess is there will be a very slim chance she will get it with wm6. did u tell them to make sure the next model has wm6? otherwise itl just be another wm5 model.

  • 0
my signature is too long

#14
lsainsbury

lsainsbury

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

my guess is there will be a very slim chance she will get it with wm6. did u tell them to make sure the next model has wm6? otherwise itl just be another wm5 model.


Yep - she's been told a WM6 version is on the way - if it's not then that goes back as well...

  • 0

#15
mikeeey

mikeeey

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:US, Washington, Everett
  • Devices:Nokia n82 (hacked)

Yep - she's been told a WM6 version is on the way - if it's not then that goes back as well...

o alright, idk if it sounds more like you or her that wants the wm6 lol :)

  • 0
my signature is too long

#16
timeames85

timeames85

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:SPV C500

Hi Tim

Thank you for your e-mail.

The WM 6 download for the Graphite is imminent for release, and should be available very shortly. We have filed your e-mail and as soon as available we will contact you.

If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

*****

Windows Mobile Training Specialist 2007

1st Line Technical Support

Customer & Service Management

O2-UK

For information on O2-UK products and services please visit www.o2.co.uk

-----Original Message-----
From: Tim Eames [mailto:********@**********.co.uk]
Sent: 15 August 2007 18:38
To: O2 Data Support (UK)
Subject: XDA Graphite WM6

Hi,

I have an XDA Graphite running WM5, and after talking to the staff in my local O2 shop was directed here to enquire about the availability of the WM6 update for this device.

Is there an update for this device to join the XDA Graphite devices already being shipped with WM6 preinstalled?

Many Thanks,

Tim Eames


From what I've found out so far, it should appear on the www.my-xda.com site, getting a 'Software Update' link like the other models featured in the 'I already have an Xda' dropdown at the top :)

Edited by timeames85, 17 August 2007 - 09:17 AM.

  • 0

#17
ollie2001

ollie2001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

From what I've found out so far, it should appear on the www.my-xda.com site, getting a 'Software Update' link like the other models featured in the 'I already have an Xda' dropdown at the top :P


It's a joke really, I got a very similar answer to that back in June...

I don't know why they're dragging their feet so much over this. I hope it's because they are thoroughly testing something for once.

If anyone fairly technicially minded gets one of these WM6 graphite's in the mean time, can they dump the rom and host it for the rest of us? :)

  • 0

#18
dragondude

dragondude

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:O2 Graphite
The XDA web site is now showing you can update the Graphite to WM6. But the website won't accept the serial number of my Graphite (an O2 Graphite from Australia) to allow me to download the WM6 upgrade. Any chance someone who grabs it could host it for us who can't get it, please? :)

Edited by dragondude, 17 August 2007 - 10:42 AM.

  • 0

#19
monkeygadge

monkeygadge

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Touch Dual
Hurray! It's definately there;

http://www.my-xda.co...teSoftware.html


That's my afternoon sorted then...will update on results later.....

  • 0
SPVE200>>MPX200>>MPX220>>XDA IQ>>XDA Graphite>>Touch Dual

#20
monkeygadge

monkeygadge

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Touch Dual
Well, I just tried and failed to upgrade to WM6 on my XDA Graphite using the software update tool on the XDA website. I'm running Vista Ultimate with Windows Media Centre 6.1.

First problem that I noticed was the message that came up after entering in my serial number:
“Setup:
Active Sync® version 4.5 must be installed on the PC that you're using to update your device. You'll need an active link between your Xda and PC using Active Sync® version 4.5. During the entire update process your Xda must be switched on and connected to your PC using a USB cable.
Important:
In order to ensure that important files and data do not go missing from your Xda during the software download process, please save them to your PC first before you begin. You'll then be able to reload them onto your device after the software download process is complete.
Installation instructions:
Download Microsoft Windows Mobile 6 update onto your computer and save it
Make sure that your Xda is switched on and has a live connection to your PC through Active Sync® version 4.5 (The Active Sync® version 4.5 symbol in the system tray will be coloured)
Begin the download of the first file (.exe) which will begin the interactive installation process
Follow the steps in the interactive download guide, which will take you through the subsequent installation steps
Please note that if you already have the navigation software CoPilot 6 on your Xda, read this installation manual before upgrading to Windows Mobile 6
Once you've finished downloading Microsoft Windows Mobile 6 please return to the o2.co.uk/xda site to get more information on your Xda
Download Software >”

I did hope that meant that I required at least Activesync 4.5! Oh well, might as well carry on!

The download takes ages, my Bt connection was running at 5Mbps at it took at least 30 minutes to download the 39MB upgrade package.

Once downloaded I ran the app and go this (standard) message:
1. Activesync 4.5 is required to run this upgrade tool
2. Please do not run this upgrade tool via a USB HUB
Clicking on OK it then took me through to the main app, which found my device and I selected ‘update’.

To my horror I got a message saying ‘failed to update’ and my mobile screen showing the message ‘ System is updating...’ :P
I ran the update tool again and the application could not find my mobile!!!

So I disconnected my Graphite, removed battery and restarted, and thankfully it came back to it’s old state. Phew, that was close. ;)

Not to be discouraged, I tried again. Exactly the same happened. <_<

Looks like the new update tool will not work with Vista and Windows Mobile Centre!! :)

I then tried to install Activesync 4.5 on Vista to see what happens, and no suprise, it can't be installed.

Oh well then, I’m off to find a mate with Xp, install Activesync 4.5, and try it that way.........what a pain in the ar*e!!!

  • 0
SPVE200>>MPX200>>MPX220>>XDA IQ>>XDA Graphite>>Touch Dual




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users