Jump to content


Photo

[GUIDE] Upgrading HTC Tornado to Windows Mobile 6 - with pictures

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
karhoe

karhoe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado Noble
This is my first guide, hopefully it will answer many people questions
http://karhoe.byetho...catid,20/id,29/

Edited by karhoe, 17 September 2007 - 01:55 PM.

  • 0

#2
tick

tick

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado - WM 6.0
Thank's for the descriptive guide. I've successfully upgraded to wm 6 and am writing this post from my t-mobile sda! If anyone runs into formatting problems... try removing the minisd card and then running the format command. Thanks again!

  • 0

#3
karhoe

karhoe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado Noble

Thank's for the descriptive guide. I've successfully upgraded to wm 6 and am writing this post from my t-mobile sda! If anyone runs into formatting problems... try removing the minisd card and then running the format command. Thanks again!


Many people have problem formatting because they did not use the proper case when typing the command, it must be exactly 'format BINFS', the f must be small, BINFS must be all in upper case

  • 0

#4
mare83

mare83

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:qtek 8310

This is my first guide, hopefully it will answer many people questions

http://karhoe.byetho...catid,20/id,29/

Well, first, but very good! I successfully updated my phone. Only trouble I had is with app lock, SDA_ApplicationUnlock wasn't working for me but then I used Regedit... Everything else passed smothly ;) Thanks!

  • 0

#5
karhoe

karhoe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado Noble

Well, first, but very good! I successfully updated my phone. Only trouble I had is with app lock, SDA_ApplicationUnlock wasn't working for me but then I used Regedit... Everything else passed smothly ;) Thanks!


Perhaps you need to reboot your phone

  • 0

#6
Aczib

Aczib

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Faraday 2125
Hello! karhoe is the link above ok? Couse the page can not be displayed. And one question more is this tutorial to uprage the Cingular 2125 from WM5 to WM6?

Thank you

  • 0

#7
karhoe

karhoe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado Noble

Hello! karhoe is the link above ok? Couse the page can not be displayed. And one question more is this tutorial to uprage the Cingular 2125 from WM5 to WM6?

Thank you


Yes its ok, my website is down at the moment, please be patient, I just did some google, yes my guide applies on Cingular 2125

  • 0

#8
jmhalder

jmhalder

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Yes its ok, my website is down at the moment, please be patient, I just did some google, yes my guide applies on Cingular 2125


speaking of, NICE GUIDE!, just upgraded my cingular 2125 using it, WM6 is so much nicer, hell, even the splashscreens are SO much more apealing than the cingular WM5 ones... enough reason alone to switch.
thanks for the awesome guide.

  • 0

#9
Kushan

Kushan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Location:Liverpool
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Before I go and do this to my C600, is it easy enough to flash it back to WM5 with the operator's ROM?

  • 0

#10
karhoe

karhoe

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Tornado Noble

Before I go and do this to my C600, is it easy enough to flash it back to WM5 with the operator's ROM?


if im not mistaken, you just need to perform a hard reset and then run the WM5 update as usual

  • 0

#11
desihu

desihu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:sp5m
Hi KH,
I did read your guide and looks good, but I am a little scared in running the SPV-Services to SuperCID. I am pasting the telnet contents

info 2GetDeviceInfo=0x00000002+ SD Controller init- SD Controller init+StorageInit***** user area size = 0x79E80000 BytesHTCSCDL_0601        ) HTCECmd>

Do i really need to patch my ROM, or skip to step?

UPDATED:
=======
Well took my chance and tried installing cert.cab... but got premissions error.. serached around and got did a reg hack and was able to install cert
rest everything went well.. and smooth
Thanks All!!! my i-mate sp5m is on WM6 now yeepeee ;)

Edited by desihu, 29 September 2007 - 11:59 AM.

  • 0

#12
desihu

desihu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:sp5m
OK so my SP5m with WM6 seems to be working fine...few observations till date are..
1. Yahoo Go is extremely slow
2. Three Media Player buttons do not work as desired. Only center button invokes player but, next prev, stop start does not work

ne suggestions.. have run the SP5mButtonFix.cab

  • 0

#13
thinh30

thinh30

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:null
I tried to run cert.cab and regedit.exe in SP but unsuccessful. I though , they have new IPL and SPL , also they have a newer lock's way.
Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Anybody can help me?

  • 0

#14
Xai

Xai

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T Mobile SDA
I fixed everything now disregard this =D

Edited by Xai, 29 December 2007 - 09:37 AM.

  • 0

#15
benglesII

benglesII

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
WM6 3.7 custom built ROM downloaded from the link doesn't work or corrupted. can anyone please have a working copy of this rom where it can be easily download. im stuck on step 10. thanks.

  • 0

#16
Dustino

Dustino

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC 2125
I'm stuck on step 11!

The OS does not seem to download properly as I don't have anything to extract when it's done.

Help!!!

  • 0

#17
shawnobery

shawnobery

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:O2 XDA IQ
Worked like a dream for me - thanks very much!!!

Windows Mobile 6.1 rocks - it's breathed a whole new life into my O2 XDAIQ - thanks heaps!!

  • 0

#18
DarylO

DarylO

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 2125
I have a Cingular 2125 and am interested in upgrading to WM6 but I wanted to make sure before I did that the SlingPlayer installs successfully on it. Does anyone have any experience with that? Also, are there any bugs that I should know about using it on AT&T's network?

Daryl

Worked like a dream for me - thanks very much!!!

Windows Mobile 6.1 rocks - it's breathed a whole new life into my O2 XDAIQ - thanks heaps!!


  • 0

#19
mc510

mc510

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 2125
Earlier posts in this thread say that the technique works with the HTC Faraday (Cingular 2125) ... I presume that the way to do it is to follow the instructions for the HTC Tornado? Can anyone confirm that?

Also, what important settings will I lose and need to re-enter? I know I'll lose Exchange server synch settings, but I know how to re-enter those. I know I'll lose contacts, email, etc.; no biggie there because I'll just fetch it all again from the Exchange server. But what about the various settings (about which I know absolutely nothing) that tell the phone how to connect to the ATT network? Are those settings safely located on the SIM? Or will I need to re-enter them?

[edit] Okay, I went ahead and did it. For anyone else who is wondering: yes, you follow exactly the directions for HTC Tornado. No, you will not lose your phone network settings (I guess they're on the SIM). Yes, you will lose your data network settings; I found instructions for re-entering AT&T settings here. Nitro's WM6 rocks; I can't wait for a stable WM6.1 to try!! [/edit]

Edited by mc510, 04 May 2008 - 06:11 AM.

  • 0

#20
Keithoms

Keithoms

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco/ZTE Blade

This is my first guide, hopefully it will answer many people questions
http://karhoe.byetho...catid,20/id,29/



Can you confirm for me that the phone will look like this afterwards?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users