Jump to content


Photo

Adding another menu of links?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
kwoodall

kwoodall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Interests:Managing Editor of GadgetNutz.com<br />
  • Devices:Cingular 2125, T-Mobile Shadow
Paul - have you done any investigation into adding another menu item to Neo so one could have a menu of favorite programs? You might recall we discussed this in another thread, the idea being to somehow clone the clinks and give it a new GUID. I've looked at it myself but I don't know enough about this part of the registry and OS to figure it out I'm afraid.

Kermit Woodall
Managing Editor
GadgetNutz.com

  • 0

#2
sethrothompson

sethrothompson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Alabama
  • Devices:HTC shadow, HTC wizard
I'm also interested in something of the likes. I use windows basic theme because the t-mobile basic theme is stupid with the first thing you see being your "Five favorite people in the world". If there was something I can do to remove that and add a favorite programs list (which is what I have been dreaming of since I got the phone) it would be a miracle, and if it would run a little faster it would be the perfect phone.

  • 0

#3
badbob001

badbob001

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts

I'm also interested in something of the likes. I use windows basic theme because the t-mobile basic theme is stupid with the first thing you see being your "Five favorite people in the world". If there was something I can do to remove that and add a favorite programs list (which is what I have been dreaming of since I got the phone) it would be a miracle, and if it would run a little faster it would be the perfect phone.


We have been modifying the web section to add links to programs. And if you use Paul's neo link order rearranging program, you can make the web link section the first thing you see.

  • 0

#4
hamsuplo

hamsuplo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
There's no need to for a new GUID. Just export the 2 instances of CLinks in the registry (in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome and HKLM\Security\cHome), copy it over to your PC/laptop. Open it up in a text editor and replace all "CLinks" with "CLinks2" and "Internet" to "Internet2". Copy it back to your Shadow and import the reg files. That's it. :(

EDIT: Oops, forgot to write that after you import the reg files, you also have to add the word CLink2 in the "Plugins" string value in \HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  1.png   49.55KB   13 downloads
  • Attached File  2.png   49.9KB   11 downloads

Edited by hamsuplo, 28 November 2007 - 03:53 PM.

  • 0

#5
sethrothompson

sethrothompson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Alabama
  • Devices:HTC shadow, HTC wizard

We have been modifying the web section to add links to programs. And if you use Paul's neo link order rearranging program, you can make the web link section the first thing you see.


I seeee.... Can I completely get rid of the myfaves or does it have to stay? :/
I've been reading on the forums for the last 2 days, I've unlocked and installed a few minor programs. I haven't really been able to get into it too much, everytime i try my wife has something new for me to do... but I'm working on it.
Thanks

  • 0

#6
freyes01

freyes01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

There's no need to for a new GUID. Just export the 2 instances of CLinks in the registry (in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome and HKLM\Security\cHome), copy it over to your PC/laptop. Open it up in a text editor and replace all "CLinks" with "CLinks2" and "Internet" to "Internet2". Copy it back to your Shadow and import the reg files. That's it. :(

EDIT: Oops, forgot to write that after you import the reg files, you also have to add the word CLink2 in the "Plugins" string value in \HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome.


I like your background. Can you post your files?

  • 0

#7
hamsuplo

hamsuplo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

I like your background. Can you post your files?


Thanks Freddy, the files are posted on the How to change Shadow's Neo Theme thread. Enjoy! :(

  • 0

#8
badbob001

badbob001

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts

There's no need to for a new GUID. Just export the 2 instances of CLinks in the registry (in HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome and HKLM\Security\cHome), copy it over to your PC/laptop. Open it up in a text editor and replace all "CLinks" with "CLinks2" and "Internet" to "Internet2". Copy it back to your Shadow and import the reg files. That's it. :(

EDIT: Oops, forgot to write that after you import the reg files, you also have to add the word CLink2 in the "Plugins" string value in \HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome.


Great! Previously, I did everything you did except I tried changing the GUID for the clone entries. Once I took your tip and put the GUID back to the original, the second CLinks2 came up! Also, you don't need to change Internet to Internet2. Now to figure out how to get the clones to have a different icon from CLinks.

I suspect Paul will be cooking up another little app pretty soon that will allow us to add more CLinks and then add more pages/programs under each one.

...well, it was worth a shot.

UPDATE: Ok, here is how you can change the icons for the new CLinks2:
Just update the HKLM\Security\cHome\CLinks2\ICONPATHS with links to your new icons.

The original values are:
CHome_links_sat_active.png;CHome_links_sat_inactive.png;CHome_links_desat_inacti
e.png

For a quick test, I changed it to the myFaves icons, which I didn't use anyway:
CHome_MyFaves_sat_active.png;CHome_MyFaves_desat_inactive.png;CHome_MyFaves_desa
_inactive.png

If your new CLinks2 disappears after the above edit, go verify any typos.
One strange thing is that there are three values, indicating three states, but only the first and the third are used. Looking at the original values, CHome_links_sat_inactive.png is the msn butterfly and that doesn't appear when you go to CLinks.

Edited by badbob001, 28 November 2007 - 05:14 PM.

  • 0

#9
kwoodall

kwoodall

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Location:Richmond, VA
  • Interests:Managing Editor of GadgetNutz.com<br />
  • Devices:Cingular 2125, T-Mobile Shadow

One strange thing is that there are three values, indicating three states, but only the first and the third are used. Looking at the original values, CHome_links_sat_inactive.png is the msn butterfly and that doesn't appear when you go to CLinks.


Actually that's not so weird - the third state is basically used to draw your attention to that item when you're looking at Neo. Fer instance when a call is missed or a message has come in the Notifications icon gets a glow (in mine I pumped up the red in the glow to make it way more noticeable). Neo turns the third icon 'on' based on some internal thing I suppose.

Oh - and thanks guys for laying this all out. Darned if it wasn't easier than I was making it out to be!

Kermit Woodall
Managing Editor
GadgetNutz.com

  • 0

#10
hamsuplo

hamsuplo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Also, you don't need to change Internet to Internet2.


Thanks for clarifying that part badbob001. I wasn't exactly sure if that was required. Just changed it to be safe. :(

  • 0

#11
hamsuplo

hamsuplo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

I seeee.... Can I completely get rid of the myfaves or does it have to stay? :/
I've been reading on the forums for the last 2 days, I've unlocked and installed a few minor programs. I haven't really been able to get into it too much, everytime i try my wife has something new for me to do... but I'm working on it.
Thanks


Here's what I found over at howardforums. Not sure if it works as I don't have MyFaves. Hope it works.

Disable MyFaves icon for those who have it activated
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
inside got CMyFaves- find value Disable Change from 0 to 1

Next:
in same place HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
go to CHome inside is value Disable page change value from 1 to 0

Last:
in same place HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
got CClock change value disable from 1 to 0
and value disable page from 1 to 0

soft reset

Edited by hamsuplo, 28 November 2007 - 07:46 PM.

  • 0

#12
bluefrequency

bluefrequency

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • Devices:Tmobile shadow

Here's what I found over at howardforums. Not sure if it works as I don't have MyFaves. Hope it works.

Disable MyFaves icon for those who have it activated
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
inside got CMyFaves- find value Disable Change from 0 to 1

Next:
in same place HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
go to CHome inside is value Disable page change value from 1 to 0

Last:
in same place HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome
got CClock change value disable from 1 to 0
and value disable page from 1 to 0

soft reset


Another thing you can do is to just remove the value in registry that tells it where to show up.

HKLM\Software\Microsoft\CHome has a 'plugins' key- in it you can change the order of and/or remove plugins (like myfaves).
to do so, just delete "CMyFave;". make sure to leave the previous semicolon, and leave the other values there.
it should look like this.
before change (rough order)
plugins = "CClock;CHome;CMyFaves;CMessage;CLinks;CAppointments;CMyPhotos;CMyMusic;Sett
ngs"
afterwords (rough order)
plugins = "CClock;CHome;CMessage;CLinks;CAppointments;CMyPhotos;CMyMusic;Settings"

hope it helps

  • 0
Why would you have PCMIA entries in a WM6 smartphone registry??




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users