Jump to content


Photo

The HTC Kaiser 6.1 / Performance update is here!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
[teaser]It's here!

Not from HTC (as yet), but in the next couple of days the file 'RUU_Kaiser_HTC_WWE_3.28.405.0_radio_sign_25.83.40.02_1.65.16.25_Ship.exe' that you can find here will also become available via official channels!

The update is for HTC TyTN II devices, and will be followed later by a AT&T branded update. The update adds Windows Mobile 6.1 with improvements such as the 'Getting Started' wizard, Threaded SMS and general performance and battery life updates, as well as HTC's 'video performance' update. So what's it like? Performance IS improved, however with no real video acceleration, don't get your hopes up TOO much! Thanks to tweaks in 6.1 in general plus HTC's optimisations, the device DOES feel a lot slicker in use, although if you are coming from a 'cooked' ROM you have probably seen the speed improvement already. If you are still on the standard 6.0 ROM, you NEED to install this :D

I've included some screenshots and version information below... enjoy :(

P

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Posted Image Posted Image

[/teaser]
MASD version info:

"StartupAnimationEngine"="1_0_626715_0"
"BCR"="1_0_071211b_WEU_00"
"ConcurrenceMgr"="1_0_622717_0000"
"JbedJava"="0_0_20080318_2_1"
"BT_BPP"="1_6_5_0"
"VoiceRecorder"="1_10_130817_0"
"ZIP"="1_20_730720_3"
"VideoTelephony"="2_0_30865_0"
"TouchFloSettings"="1_0_6140718_1"
"TaskManager"="1_51_33547_1"
"SymbolPad"="1_0_29364_0"
"StreamingMedia"="2_20_217821_00"
"ConnectionSetup"="1_0_31758_7"
"SMART_DIALING"="2_5_30426_0"
"ShareDLL"="2_0_080321_v1v2"
"QuickGPS"="1_00_220821_01"
"RingtonePlugin"="1_00_070419_0"
"PictureEnhancement"="1_50_18131521_c2"
"PHONE_CANVAS"="1_50_30437_0"
"mHub"="6_42_070702_X0"
"LockstreamDRM"="1_1_071220_00"
"HTCHome"="2_0_18122822_1"
"DShow"="2_00_071109_0"
"CyberonVoiceSpeedDial"="1_2_b071114_R4"
"CAMERA"="4_08_30595_00"
"BT_SAP"="3_1_0_0R1"
"BT_FTP"="1_2_33038_9"
"AudioManager"="1_2_18133129_q"
"ArcsoftMMS"="5_0_31_16"
"Adobe"="2_00_288531_PPC"
"Adobe Reader"="2.00.288531"

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 1020
  • Twitter:@_phil_kingston
I might give it a whirl! :D

  • 0

#3
Shadowfixeruk

Shadowfixeruk

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Warwick, UK
  • Devices:HD2 - Yeah Baby!
  • Twitter:@jfduncan
Paul - Have you reflashed your Vario III with this ROM? And if so - are you going to keep it or go back to TLR's 6.1 build?




Cheers
SF

Edited by Shadowfixeruk, 21 May 2008 - 08:47 AM.

  • 0
Got a MobilePhone and a GPS? Make Money Click Here!

#4
markhempstead

markhempstead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
will this work on an Orange (UK) TyTNII?

  • 0

#5
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis

The update adds Windows Mobile 6.1 with improvements such as the 'Getting Started' wizard, Threaded SMS and general performance and battery life updates, as well as HTC's 'video performance' update. So what's it like? Performance IS improved, however with no real video acceleration, don't get your hopes up TOO much!


So ... to avoid any confusion later on ... should we highlight that this will be released as the HTC WM 6.1 update, and NOT the Hardware Device Driver that we have been waiting for.

Or am I having a totally blonde day?

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul - Have you reflashed your Vario III with this ROM? And if so - are you going to keep it or go back to TLR's 6.1 build?
Cheers
SF

I have to take screenies, i'll probably use TLRs when he does it as I like having CF 3.5 in ROM.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

will this work on an Orange (UK) TyTNII?

Hmmm, unknown... only one way to find out right? :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#8
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

So ... to avoid any confusion later on ... should we highlight that this will be released as the HTC WM 6.1 update, and NOT the Hardware Device Driver that we have been waiting for.

Or am I having a totally blonde day?

They are one and the same. There WILL be no hardware driver, only performance improvements through software optimisations (= this).

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#9
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis

They are one and the same. There WILL be no hardware driver, only performance improvements through software optimisations (= this).

P


Bugger! I am having a blonde day then!

and double bugger, as I was under the impression that HTC had conceded that they would release a hardware driver!

/deflated now!

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#10
MrBaz

MrBaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:TyTnII
Would anyone here know if this is possible...

Running stock HTC ROM 6.0

1) Create a backup using "Resco Backup"

2) Save all messages using PIM backup

3) Upgrade to ROM 6.1

4) Restore the application backup and messages from before the upgrade

* Or are the differences between versions too much>

I'd rather not have to re-install everything (again).

Over and out!

  • 0

#11
markhempstead

markhempstead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

Hmmm, unknown... only one way to find out right? :D

P


i'm tempted to do it, but might have to wait till after lunchtime so that I've had a beer for courage :-)

If it turns into a paperweight, is there any way to recover it?

  • 0

#12
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Backup / Restore: It's not generally recommended, but it might work in this instance. Nothing to lose by trying!

MarkHempstead: I'm not really familiar with the best process for flashing Orange devices, I know there were some issues with HardSPL etc. early on. I'm guessing it won't just flash on without you doing sneaky things...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#13
scudo

scudo

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris
  • Devices:HTC TyTN II

Not from HTC (as yet), but in the next couple of days the file 'RUU_Kaiser_HTC_WWE_3.28.405.0_radio_sign_25.83.40.02_1.65.16.25_Ship.exe' that you can find here will also become available via official channels!


Great....
One question Paul, have you heard about other languages releases ?

Thanks

Edited by scudo, 21 May 2008 - 09:40 AM.

  • 0

#14
markhempstead

markhempstead

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

will this work on an Orange (UK) TyTNII?


..Ran Hard SPL first
..Ran the above ROM update

All working fine, it auto-detected i was on Orange and offered to set the correct network settings for me.
I've reconnected it to my exchange server and all seems to be working fine so far :-)

  • 0

#15
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Sweet, job done then :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#16
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

Not from HTC (as yet), but in the next couple of days the file 'RUU_Kaiser_HTC_WWE_3.28.405.0_radio_sign_25.83.40.02_1.65.16.25_Ship.exe' that you can find here will also become available via official channels!



Ummmmmm, isn't this an example of modaco hosting an illegal / unofficial rom?.... Thought the recent relaxation of the rules was to allow discussion, not distribution? So what gives?......

M.S

  • 0

#17
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis

..Ran Hard SPL first
..Ran the above ROM update

All working fine, it auto-detected i was on Orange and offered to set the correct network settings for me.
I've reconnected it to my exchange server and all seems to be working fine so far :-)


Blimey ... no hanging around for you! Good work fella.

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#18
shootydogthing

shootydogthing

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Devices:MDA Vario III

Would anyone here know if this is possible...

Running stock HTC ROM 6.0

1) Create a backup using "Resco Backup"

2) Save all messages using PIM backup

3) Upgrade to ROM 6.1

4) Restore the application backup and messages from before the upgrade

* Or are the differences between versions too much>

I'd rather not have to re-install everything (again).

Over and out!



I used PPC PIM backup to take texts, emails, call logs and contacts from 6.0 to 6.1, it works perfectly so long as you make sure the email accounts are already set up



SO this means that TLR's new ROM is just around the corner? awesome

  • 0

#19
hotphil

hotphil

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pertth
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 1020
  • Twitter:@_phil_kingston
I get an invalid vendor ID error when running this on my Vodafone V1615. Someone remind me what I need to do to remove the vendor lock? :D

  • 0

#20
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
HardSPL...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users