Newbie Omnia Questions

Guest kakarott kash

Guest kakarott kash

Hi Everyone

Wow this is my first post here, just before I go on I just wana say how amazing this forum is. I am learning alot :D So I wana shout out to everyone here :D

I got my Samsung Omnia 16GB from Orange last week and its been working great, plays all my divx and xvid movies and ogm with no issues (using coreplayer) youtube is super fast too (on wifi) (anyone know if one day these players will support .srt subtitles?)

I am complete newbie to mobile technology. So please bear with me :angry:

My Omnia appears to be unlocked (I put my 3 (three) sim card pay monthly (pay as you go also works) in and it worked with the phone. Also tested a friends Vodafone Sim that workded too. There is no Orange branding at all.

I keep hearing on this forum about Flashing and Roms, I did read the stickys however no one has mentioned what these roms actually do.

My current Rom is:

PDA: i900XXHG5/MSHG1

PHONE: i900XXHG5

My question is do I have to Flash it to make go faster or something? Is my rom you can see above an old version? Do you think I should Flash it? I havent noticed anything wrong with my phone, seems to be fast (may im dumb) and my battery lasts for bloody ages (I heard some people on these forums say that the battery goes quick on some rom updates)

My 2nd question was about the memory card. I have filled up the 16gb on the first day I got this phone. I really wana get a 16gb or higher memory card.

Can I actually put a 16gb card in my omnia? Will it work? The reason is I saw an advert for SanDisk 16GB Micro SD (SDHC) Card - Class 4 for £59.99

To be honest I need more then 16gb but it will do for now hehe so if anyone has any idea please let us know :(