Jump to content


Photo

T-Mobile HSDPA speeds plummetting

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#21
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
Here in Woking I get as low as 770kbs but usually nearer 1400. The lower speeds are at home where my reception isn't very good and the higher speeds at my office in the centre of town.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#22
FlangeArtist

FlangeArtist

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Selkirk, Scotland Living: Birmingham
  • Interests:Snwoboarding, Kite Boarding, Mountain Boarding, Playing Rugby, Playing Football, Playing Golf, Playing Tennis, Playing Squash<br /><br />Gadgets, more gadgets, and even more gadgets
  • Devices:HTC Touch HD2/HD/Diamond

you're not using opera 9.5 are you out of interst?

from experience opera 9.5 on my tytn ii has proven itself to be unbelievably slow at downloading and rendering pages, gaining results os as little as 300kbps when internet explorer mobile in the same location and basically at the same time (as soon as one test finishes, the other begins, so on the same connection also) gets around 1mbps. when I access w'n'w through my laptop i tend to get around 1.2-1.7mbps using internet explorer 7, 8, and google chrome

which leads me to believe that its not the network speed thats reducing in my case, its just that the browsers i'm using a really really slow

obviously, this might not be the case for yourself, but its what i've been experiencing.

Using HTC Diamond, from the exact same location, loading pages one after the other and then again in the different order
Using Opera 9.5 - 312Kbs
Using IE - 1213Kbs

Shows that Opera is the problem!

  • 0
Web: http://www.InternetWideWorld.com/

Phone History: Philips Genie (Vodaphone: 1998), Nokia 7110 (Orange: 1999), SPV (Orange), SPV E100 (Orange), SPV E200 (Orange), SPV C500 (Orange), SPV C550 (Orange), MDA Vario 2 (T-Mobile:21/08/2006), HTC TyTN II (T-Mobile:05/09/2007) HTC Diamond (T-Mobile:20/06/2008), HTC Touch HD (T-Mobile: 21/11/2008), HTC Touch HD2 (T-Mobile: 04/06/2010)

#23
deanparkr

deanparkr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

i'm certainly not the only one getting sub 56k speeds, judging by these reviews

http://www.mobile-ph...e-broadband.htm


Ive been using T-Mobile HSDPA alot more now Uni has started - i'm getting great speeds at around 120k ;)

Thats down in the South.

  • 0

#24
humph12345

humph12345

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

maybe your mast has been upgraded. i remember reading about bt fitting ethernet based backhaul of around 40megs to each phone mast instead of the crappy 2mb ones they use now.

does anyone know if thats actually started yet?


Not started and I know of no plans as yet. And I am upgrading T-mobiles network.

  • 0

#25
humph12345

humph12345

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Here in Woking I get as low as 770kbs but usually nearer 1400. The lower speeds are at home where my reception isn't very good and the higher speeds at my office in the centre of town.


If you live near the football ground you may see an improvement from next wednesday. I am upgrading the site wednesday morning, only doubling the capacity though, usually it would increase four fold, but the links aren't available.

  • 0

#26
smartyspantswales

smartyspantswales

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south wales
t-mobiles network has finally collapsed around here. for last two week, not been able to stay connected for more than 10 mins at a time. as i said before i'm in abertillery, south wales. packet loss is around 40-60%, ive only been able to get a few web pages in the last few weeks, i managed to complete 1 speedtest (out of about 25 attempts) and it reported ZERO download speed and around 200kbps upload. ive got two modems and a viewty phone which i used to use as a modem, tried them all with 3 pcs in different locations locally. can anyone help? how do i get it through to someone at t-mobile that its DIED, ive rang up various times before and i get lots of useless information they read off a piece of paper. i dont really want to pay for this anymore, 13 months to go on this contract, and 7 on my others.

  • 0

#27
smartyspantswales

smartyspantswales

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south wales
i think ive broken a new record, pinging the bbc 100 times, gave a 87% packet loss, i took a screenshot too.
whats the normal packet loss?

Attached Files

  • Attached File  bad.JPG   97.98KB   37 downloads

  • 0

#28
Packmoor Warrior

Packmoor Warrior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:F1
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD
  • Twitter:@JonDarr4
I have been having a similar problem for the last 5 months at work and it took several calls and e-mails to TM to get the facts over to them and for them to get back to me, although they weren’t able to tell me when they hope to resolve the situation. As I was out of contract, and still am, they credited me around £80 as well as reducing my monthly payment to less than £20 for Flex35 with W&W plus until the problem is resolved. But if you are in a contract then I would be pushing to be released from it as they are not giving you the service you had when you took out the contract with them, or at least a considerable reduction.

  • 0

#29
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil

educing my monthly payment to less than £20 for Flex35 with W&W plus



:lol: I have to pay £20.51/month for mine


Mind you I do get about 1.2Mb on HSDPA and have never had a problem...

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#30
Packmoor Warrior

Packmoor Warrior

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:F1
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD
  • Twitter:@JonDarr4
Think I was paying around £37.00 before they reduced it, I am getting around 90k at best at work but have no problems at all when I leave the areas.

Edited by Packmoor Warrior, 03 November 2008 - 12:27 PM.

  • 0

#31
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
90k? Ouch. I use WiFi while at work but when I step outside I still get 1.2Mb

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#32
smartyspantswales

smartyspantswales

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south wales
i finally phoned up yesterday as i couldnt even connect for last few days. They told me they aware of it and should allow 24 hours. i thought 'OH YEAH, RIGHT!'

to my amazement, its been working all morning, and i had some sub 70 pings to bbc.co.uk, as low as 62, best ive ever seen.
its still just as slow mind, but as long as i avoid surfing during the 'PEAK TIME BLUES', im happy till it breaks again

  • 0

#33
smartyspantswales

smartyspantswales

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south wales
my 3 sim card ran out of juice this evening, so i was forced to try my t-mobile at peak time. Speeds are the usual, with speedtests ranging from 24kbps upto 700 but packet loss is under 1 percent, and average pings are still under 100. ive played batllefield 2 for an hour, and only got disconnected once, not been kicked once for high ping, and my worst ping spike was around 250, which is quite amazing. i havn't been able to play an fps game properly online for many, many months. now, if only they increased the backhaul.

another wierd thing i noticed, when i ring up tech support i always get someone in the uk (scotland, it seems) now, but when i only had 1 account, it was always someone in india or summit.

  • 0

#34
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,636 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
See my other post for my latest experience of T-Mob CS.

In my experience I get UK (Yup seems to be Skotland) about one in three times but when they phone back it is always from the UK.

I am sure that the Indian call centers can deal with most things but when they can't you want to speak to someone from the UK - T actually seem to have got this right, if you have a problem all you want is for it to be sorted. If the person you are speaking to can't help any other problem will be exacerbated so them not understanding you or vice verca just makes things worse. When you are wound up, little things that are perfectly acceptable normally, just make things worse.

T seem to have got the balance right - IMHO, any problem and they put someone on that is designed to sooth you (apparently that's what the Scott's accemt does) but for the vast majority of problems an Indian call center can deal with a lot cheaper than a UK one. The best of both worlds - probably.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#35
smartyspantswales

smartyspantswales

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:south wales
yeah. i was well impressed. they do seem to care after all.
look at the difference between my last ping test to this one.
first time its ever felt like ADSL.
even at peak time tonight, it felt fast (200k-300k in speedtests), but all web pages appeared in seconds, not minutes, and no dodgy web pages and no need to keep refreshing page till it worked like ive had to for many months.
i still dont understand how they have reduced packet loss to under 1% when its still congested at peak. i thought congestion was the cause for packet loss. i think i need HUMPRY12345 to educate me.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  good.JPG   120.74KB   21 downloads

  • 0

#36
humph12345

humph12345

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

yeah. i was well impressed. they do seem to care after all.
look at the difference between my last ping test to this one.
first time its ever felt like ADSL.
even at peak time tonight, it felt fast (200k-300k in speedtests), but all web pages appeared in seconds, not minutes, and no dodgy web pages and no need to keep refreshing page till it worked like ive had to for many months.
i still dont understand how they have reduced packet loss to under 1% when its still congested at peak. i thought congestion was the cause for packet loss. i think i need HUMPRY12345 to educate me.


Congestion at the base station can cause lost packets, but I would suspect the problem in T-mobiles network is more to do with capacity issue on the RNC and the core network.

The RNC is the radio network controller and it controls the base station, these have a limited number of base stations they can control, get close to this number and you get lost packets.

The core network connects the RNC's to the outside world, the PSTN system, other networks and the internet. If this isn't upgraded along with the base station side, it goes into congestion and you lose packets.

T-mobile are a victim of their own sucess

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users