Jump to content


Photo

Awful Signal

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
UndeadDevil

UndeadDevil

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario IV
I've got the T-Mobile MDA Vario IV, and it seems the arial is in the bottom of the phone not the top, thus when I hold the phone I completly lose signal! I can't use this phone without having Handsfree!

Are all the Touch Pro Models like this? Why haven't I seen anyone else with this issue.

Edit: Manual confirms the arial is in the bottom of the phone

Edited by UndeadDevil, 19 January 2009 - 12:38 AM.

  • 0


#2
amo

amo

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,479 posts
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Devices:MDA Vario 3
How did you get the vario 4??

  • 0
"I'm sorry you'll have to speak up - i'm wearing a towel"

#3
UndeadDevil

UndeadDevil

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario IV
It was released a few days ago now... I did make another post in this forum about that :)

Edited by UndeadDevil, 19 January 2009 - 12:25 AM.

  • 0


#4
crazyc

crazyc

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:O2 XDA Serra, SPV M3100

I've got the T-Mobile MDA Vario IV, and it seems the arial is in the bottom of the phone not the top, thus when I hold the phone I completly lose signal! I can't use this phone without having Handsfree!

Are all the Touch Pro Models like this? Why haven't I seen anyone else with this issue.

Edit: Manual confirms the arial is in the bottom of the phone


No problems with my O2 XDA Serra (Touch Pro)

  • 0
----------------------------------
HTC One X due to arrive
Smartphone History:
Vodafone HTC Desire Z
Vodafone UK Touch Pro 2
O2 XDA Serra
O2 XDA Stellar
Orange M3100

#5
amo

amo

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,479 posts
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Devices:MDA Vario 3
Just ordered mine :) Cheers for the heads up

  • 0
"I'm sorry you'll have to speak up - i'm wearing a towel"

#6
amo

amo

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,479 posts
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Devices:MDA Vario 3
Hmmm seems mine does the same...Im not too impressed with some of the changes made from the kaiser - like no 'OK' button on the keyboard

  • 0
"I'm sorry you'll have to speak up - i'm wearing a towel"

#7
UndeadDevil

UndeadDevil

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario IV
Personally I love the changes on the Keyboard, but then again I came from a Vario 2. I certanly don't miss the softkeys at the top of the Vario 2's keyboard.

So T-Mobile thought they'd be smart and move the arial to the one place no phone maker will ever dare put the arial. Can anyone confirm that the UK T-Mobile Model is the only one with this issue? (I haven't seen any complainents about the US and Germany T-Mobile versions)

Edited by UndeadDevil, 20 January 2009 - 09:50 PM.

  • 0


#8
crazyc

crazyc

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:O2 XDA Serra, SPV M3100

Personally I love the changes on the Keyboard, but then again I came from a Vario 2. I certanly don't miss the softkeys at the top of the Vario 2's keyboard.

So T-Mobile thought they'd be smart and move the arial to the one place no phone maker will ever dare put the arial. Can anyone confirm that the UK T-Mobile Model is the only one with this issue? (I haven't seen any complainents about the US and Germany T-Mobile versions)


I know the cariers customise the phones a bit but surely they would not be messing around with the internals like that?

  • 0
----------------------------------
HTC One X due to arrive
Smartphone History:
Vodafone HTC Desire Z
Vodafone UK Touch Pro 2
O2 XDA Serra
O2 XDA Stellar
Orange M3100

#9
UndeadDevil

UndeadDevil

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario IV
Excuse quality, I don't have a working scanner. This is a photo of the T-Mobile Vario IV manual page about the arial location. (Taken on MDA Vario IV)

Would anyone mind uploading a pic of there manual on the related page.

Attached File  TMobile_Vario_IV_Arial_Location.png   477.55KB   33 downloads

Edit: W....T....F... "To get the best from your phone and ensure human exposure to Radio" - Did I understand that wrong? I must have....

Edit2: Ignore above, I was being a idiot.

Edited by UndeadDevil, 21 January 2009 - 11:32 PM.

  • 0


#10
Kewlj1313

Kewlj1313

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male

Excuse quality, I don't have a working scanner. This is a photo of the T-Mobile Vario IV manual page about the arial location. (Taken on MDA Vario IV)

Would anyone mind uploading a pic of there manual on the related page.

Attached File  TMobile_Vario_IV_Arial_Location.png   477.55KB   33 downloads

Edit: W....T....F... "To get the best from your phone and ensure human exposure to Radio" - Did I understand that wrong? I must have....


add this to the end of that as it is in the picture: "...Frequency energy is within the guidelines..."

Then it makes since :)

"To get the best from your phone and ensure human exposure to Radio Frequency energy is within the guidelines"

!!! Kinda lame though on the antenna location :-\

Kewlj1313

  • 0

#11
Kewlj1313

Kewlj1313

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male

Excuse quality, I don't have a working scanner. This is a photo of the T-Mobile Vario IV manual page about the arial location. (Taken on MDA Vario IV)

Would anyone mind uploading a pic of there manual on the related page.

Attached File  TMobile_Vario_IV_Arial_Location.png   477.55KB   33 downloads

Edit: W....T....F... "To get the best from your phone and ensure human exposure to Radio" - Did I understand that wrong? I must have....


add this to the end of that as it is in the picture: "...Frequency energy is within the guidelines..."

Then it makes since :)

"To get the best from your phone and ensure human exposure to Radio Frequency energy is within the guidelines"

!!! Kinda lame though on the antenna location :-\

Kewlj1313

  • 0

#12
UndeadDevil

UndeadDevil

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile MDA Vario IV
That teaches me for not paying attention... Still, why the hell did T-Mobile move the arial to the bottom.

I honestly wonder if this modification is the reason for the huge UK Delay....

  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users