Jump to content


Photo

How to mount a new Touch panel on OMNIA

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
787 replies to this topic

#21
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

Are you gonna buy lantony ?
I'm hesitating... anyone tried it on his own device? =p


as i wrote in the first post, i would like to buy one. I was just asking if somebody has already tried, because i am a bit scared about the assemble, not sure it's so easy B)

  • 0

#22
Hellbender

Hellbender

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Devices:Samsung I900

you're right, multitouch can be very handy in many situations and i'm sure more and more pda will come equipped with it in the near future. But since we will never see a multitouch screen for our Omnia, please guys don't go offtopic B)


You are right, sorry, just realized i was trolling.

  • 0
Hellbender.
--------------------------------------------
New Omnia shell project, look here AND READ THE FRIGGING NOTES!
--------------------------------------------
Posted Image


#23
Rapixx

Rapixx

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Devices:i900
I did it lantony ...
I'll post back when i'd get the screen up my omnia =p (I took wholesaleandy's one)http://myworld.ebay.com/wholesaleandy/

Edited by Rapixx, 18 March 2009 - 04:27 PM.

  • 0

#24
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

I did it lantony ...
I'll post back when i'd get the screen up my omnia =p (I took wholesaleandy's one)http://myworld.ebay.com/wholesaleandy/


Cool! i prefer that one too, what a pity they don't provide the tools as well. Anyway do u have the old touch with sensitivity problems?
Mine is this one below, i think i have the supertouch but not completely sure :S



  • 0

#25
Rapixx

Rapixx

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Devices:i900
They provide tool, as mentioned B)
I got the old touch with sensitivity problem...
That's why i HAD to change ! =p

  • 0

#26
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

They provide tool, as mentioned :(
I got the old touch with sensitivity problem...
That's why i HAD to change ! =p


oh yes u're right, i didnt read the description.
Good luck then and let me know B)

  • 0

#27
Rapixx

Rapixx

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Devices:i900
Yeaah ... i wish i'll be lucky ! ^^

  • 0

#28
denteno

denteno

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

Cool! i prefer that one too, what a pity they don't provide the tools as well. Anyway do u have the old touch with sensitivity problems?
Mine is this one below, i think i have the supertouch but not completely sure :S



i just saw your video on youtube

1. what version of spp shell are you using
2. i've noticed that your screen is better sensitivity then mine , what have you done ??

  • 0

#29
Rapixx

Rapixx

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Devices:i900

i just saw your video on youtube

1. what version of spp shell are you using
2. i've noticed that your screen is better sensitivity then mine , what have you done ??


I think that's not HIS device ;p

Samsung changed the touch screen of omnia, some have the old (I do ...) which is almost bad ! xD, some have the new, quite good, something comparable to iphone one (Not really as some might say ^^, but really responsive !^^)

  • 0

#30
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

I think that's not HIS device ;p


of course that's my mobile and I made the 2 videos B)

i just saw your video on youtube

1. what version of spp shell are you using
2. i've noticed that your screen is better sensitivity then mine , what have you done ??


1. SPB shell is the latest vers. 2.1.5 plus skins
2. I didnt do nothing to my screen, just used a very thin pen for the calibration

Edited by lantony, 18 March 2009 - 10:57 PM.

  • 0

#31
second_east

second_east

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:Omnia
How can i determine that mine is an old touchscreen or the new one? Thanks in advance.

  • 0

#32
Natsirt

Natsirt

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Devices:i900 Omnia 16GB

i just saw your video on youtube

1. what version of spp shell are you using
2. i've noticed that your screen is better sensitivity then mine , what have you done ??



Perhaps its related to the ROM version you're using??? I'm using Taril's DXHL3 ROM and my screen sensitivity is just like the one in the videos, and I bought my Omnia back in october 08. Before i switched to Taril's ROM, my screen wasn't as responsive and i could really tell the difference once I had switched, it was actually comparable to the iPhone/iPod Touch.

  • 0

#33
denteno

denteno

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Omnia

<br />Perhaps its related to the ROM version you're using??? I'm using Taril's DXHL3 ROM and my screen sensitivity is just like the one in the videos, and I bought my Omnia back in october 08. Before i switched to Taril's ROM, my screen wasn't as responsive and i could really tell the difference once I had switched, it was actually comparable to the iPhone/iPod Touch.<br />

<br /><br /><br />

i'm on qbus dxia5 rom !!

so is taril's roms the best sensitivity ??

  • 0

#34
lastnikita

lastnikita

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 567 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S
I never saw that samsung changed the screen.... I bought mine in august, and it's as sensitive as in the youtube vidz.
Where did you guys got that information ? If true, I might go in a shop and test new omnia to feel the difference, if any..

  • 0

#35
GodsGift

GodsGift

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:i9505 Samsung Galaxy S4
Guys I am really interested in this topic as the one (and only) thing I would change about my omnia is the screen sensitivity.

Using Sectors 6.5 rom and the sensitivity and accuracy is superb if I use a fingernail or a stylus.

But I get little or no response using my fingers ....


Are these new screens that much better?

GG

  • 0

#36
jonson

jonson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I'm also interested in this topic because I was disappointed of my Omnia as it's sensitivity is not what I expect. I once tried my brother's HTC P3600 and I was impressed by the touch sensitivity. Should Samsung Support change my screen for FREE as it is still under warranty?
Anyone tried it ?

  • 0

#37
GodsGift

GodsGift

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:i9505 Samsung Galaxy S4

Should Samsung Support change my screen for FREE as it is still under warranty?


now that interesting!!! doubtfull but ....

  • 0

#38
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

<br /><br /><br />

i'm on qbus dxia5 rom !!

so is taril's roms the best sensitivity ??


Your ROM is fine since it's the latest official available. There are some tricks to improve the sensitivity but if you have the old touch, there's nothing more you can do.

I never saw that samsung changed the screen.... I bought mine in august, and it's as sensitive as in the youtube vidz.
Where did you guys got that information ? If true, I might go in a shop and test new omnia to feel the difference, if any..


I can garantee you that here in Italy if your Omnia has touch problems you just go in a Samsung service centre and they replace your old touch panel completely free if the phone is under warranty. So many people did it successfully and they couldn't believe to the difference with the new touch screen: no pressure and no need for nails !!!
But if your sensitivity is quite good now, maybe they won't change it. There's not really a way to find out if you have the old or the new touch but there is something to try:
try to drag a Samsung widget with your pinkie just with a soft pressure. If you are not able to do it that means that you have the old touch screen. I am able to do it so i should have the better touch, but i would like to replace it with the black one that is so cool! That's why i started this topic: wanted to know if anybody replaced it yet, the black touch is cheap on ebay.

Edited by lantony, 19 March 2009 - 11:56 AM.

  • 0

#39
eichyl

eichyl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Samsung SGH-I900 Omnia
I've asked the German Samsung Support and they say: There is no new Hardware or something else they never changed anything on the Omnia Hardware and no they dont replace it for free. B)

Edited by eichyl, 19 March 2009 - 11:52 AM.

  • 0

#40
lantony

lantony

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:i900

I've asked the German Samsung Support and they say: There is no new Hardware or something else they never changed anything on the Omnia Hardware and no they dont replace it for free. :(


if you can speak italian i can give you many links when dozens and dozens of people say that it's totally possible and they replace it for free B)

take a look here, in English: http://www.modaco.co...solved/page/80/

Edited by lantony, 19 March 2009 - 12:04 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users