Jump to content


Photo

Install APKs on your device by double clicking on your PC with installAPK [Beta 1]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Android is really great, but there a few points of Android ownership that are a bit of a pain... one of which is installing APKs on your device. Enter installAPK!

The current release is Beta 1 - usual Beta caveats apply!

What it does

installAPK is currently for Windows only. After installation on your machine, you can double click APK files to install them on your USB attached android device. Simple as that!

Where do I get it?

Download the install EXE here - Attached File  Setup.installAPK.EXE   785.37KB   295981 downloads
If you are prompted for USB drivers when you connect your device, you can get those here - Attached File  usbdriver.zip   3.14MB   275079 downloads
Anything else I should know?

This is the first Beta, tested on XP, Vista and Windows 7, but please post here with any issues! <_<

P

PS Android SDK download / install is NOT required!

PPS More APK related fun coming from me soon, watch this forum! :)

Posted Image

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
Webreaper

Webreaper

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3

Android is really great, but there a few points of Android ownership that are a bit of a pain... one of which is installing APKs on your device.


Don't get you. Most of the file explorers I've tried just allow you to install by double-tapping. For example, I use Astro - just browse to the APK, and click the file and you get a properties page with an 'install' button.

Also, there's AppsInstaller which finds all the APK files on your device and gives a one-click install.

You're making unnecessary work for yourself, Paul. <_<

  • 0

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yeah, they run on your device - this runs on your desktop. No need to copy the file to your device, browse, double tap... just double click the APK on your desktop.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
minty1978

minty1978

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Location:Warwickshire
  • Interests:Gadgets!!!!
  • Devices:HTC Hero G2
  • Twitter:@mintymurray
nice one paul, I think it is a great idea....just makes it that bit easier <_<

  • 0
HTC Hero: MoDaCo MCR 3.2b5 Custom Bake
HTC Dream: Google IONr2 - Long gone

#5
silverfoxdemars

silverfoxdemars

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC MAGIC
hello,
I have windows vista and a HTC magic device.
When I double click on an apk file on muy computer, USB driver are required. Can you tell me where to copy those drivers please?
THX
Silverfoxdemars

  • 0

#6
ccsnet

ccsnet

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Morecambe, UK
  • Devices:HTC Hero ( TMobile Uk Build )
Paul.... would it be possible to slide in this functionality as well ?

http://android.modac...rmisions-issue/

Terran

  • 0

#7
Buttafinguz

Buttafinguz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm also trying to figure out where to add the drivers. Help please!

  • 0

#8
amd3000

amd3000

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Location:Barnsley
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Hi Paul,

Forgive me asking but i am very new to android. Does my T-Mobile pulse need to be 'Rooted' to use this software or can i just install any .apk file using your software ?
Thanks in advance.

Edited by amd3000, 02 January 2010 - 01:58 AM.

  • 0

#9
Seth Cold

Seth Cold

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Location:Medellin, Colombia
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S Captivate
  • Twitter:@coldonline
do you have some love for osx??

  • 0
Viva el DIM el poderoso!!
Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/coldonline
IMPROVEMENTWEAR.COM

#10
boqonx

boqonx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid, Nexus One
  • Twitter:@boqonx
Paul, can you update for latest devices? (liquid,nexus one). Much thanks!

  • 0
Nexus One
AmonRA's Recovery
Cyanogen 5.0b4

#11
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'll do a refresh this week!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#12
scollie

scollie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy

I'll do a refresh this week!

P


Hi Paul


On Win 7 X64, when I launch installAPK I get a continuous waiting icon.

Launching Task Manager shows that the application installAPK is running but it never actually opens up and when I click on the processes tab in TM I can see it is just continually spawning more and more processes. I've tried to kill the processes but it is launching new ones faster than I can kill them so I end up rebooting my PC.

I'll try re-installing when you release your update and let you know what happens then.

Cheers

Stan

  • 0

#13
iceman3co

iceman3co

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
Hello all. First time poster here!! :)

I to am having trouble installing the usb drivers. i see in the device manage that an other devices by the name of 'Nexus One' but when i click 'update drivers' and navigate to the drivers in the link above, but windows 7 says that 'windows was unable to install you Nexus One'. my N1 is rooted and has your custom ROM installed. i am trying to reinstall the wireless tether. in other posts that i have read with the same issue you suggested to re-install it. Any help would be appreciated.

  • 0

#14
armyturtle

armyturtle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Motorola Q
This crap crashed my machine. After installation I double-clicked on the .apk file I wanted to install and the InstallAPK desktop app ran itself about 30 or more times in my task manager. My mouse cursor became the arrow with the wait/timer circle next to it (which is what prompted me to check the task manager). I shut down the computer and tried to restart and instead of booting I got a blue screen with "BAD_POOL_HEADER" on the top line.

I had to restart in Safe Mode and uninstall this application before it would allow me to boot back into Windows 7 normal mode.

Running:
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
12 GB of RAM

No thank you to the potential issues associated with this garbage.

  • 0

#15
SM411

SM411

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC S710
People, remember this is a beta version. Its not supose to work 100%, thats why its beta.

  • 0

#16
dreamwing1986

dreamwing1986

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
MP4 is a popular video format for most of portable players, enjoying favorite videos on MP4 player or other devices as iPod, PS3 is more and more popular. Then have you met any trouble in enjoying MTS videos with these excellent devices? Now you can clear the troubles with the help of MTS to Mp4 Converter to Convert MTS to MP4.
Want to play MTS video on 3GP player such as your beautiful interface iPhone 3G? Looking for the MTS to 3GP Converter? How to watch MTS video on 3GP player? How to Convert MTS to 3GP? Aren't able to convert the MTS to 3GP? Try this powerful MTS Converter to complete these conversion for you.

  • 0

#17
quark520

quark520

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:N1
Tested on WIN 7 64 bit with N1
error and cannot be run

  • 0

#18
johnluckey

johnluckey

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus One
I have windows 7 64 bit and cannot run it either. I need this program because I dont have a file browser on my nexus and cant download the apps from the net using my phone. installing them once they are on the SD card is the only way I can do it. Any help? THNX, your custom ROM rocks paul!!

  • 0

#19
jaffa1980

jaffa1980

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Monte 5260
Just a bit of a bump, just got a samsung monte as my first android phone but cant get any apk files to install.

I'm using windows Vista64 got the same issues as above with multiple instances launching.

Would love some advice on how to use android market or get this up and running, complete newbie and cant find a download/install button on the market or anywhere else and get really quite frustrated lol

PLEASE any help would be great

  • 0

#20
Emexrulsier

Emexrulsier

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
Cheers for this. I was always a fan of your Cabviaactivesync and this beta program essentially gives me that functionality on my android

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users