does aGPS work?

Guest vradi

Guest vradi

I'm not very good with figuring out how everything works, but I updated to the new firmware, loaded google maps, and noticed it found my location as soon as it started up even though I am inside at work and can't get a GPS signal.

Is this aGPS, or just something else working as expected?

Guest Majorair32
I'm not very good with figuring out how everything works, but I updated to the new firmware, loaded google maps, and noticed it found my location as soon as it started up even though I am inside at work and can't get a GPS signal.

When you say you upgraded to the new firmware you mean the one that samsung is released for verizon? Can you pull batt and restart to google and get location at boot. As can you test bing and see if locate me works.

Edited by Majorair32

Guest bigdaddykane

agps works for me actual gps chip is taking its sweet time to load..... (your location within 2200 meters)

When you say you upgraded to the new firmware you mean the one that samsung is released for verizon? Can you pull batt and restart to google and get location at boot. As can you test bing and see if locate me works.
Edited by bigdaddykane

Guest Lisbian08

It is AGPS working. On Google maps you can see it making a data connection if you don't already have one connected. After that you get the gross approximation of your location. Also after messing around awhile, Locate me on Bing search is working. This works off of AGPS as well.

Guest hyperspaztik

aGPS worked for me as soon as I updated it, but I then flashed with someone's 6.5 and it no longer worked, so I guess we need to wait for them to build off CF03 before we can see aGPS work within mobile 6.5.

Guest Adrynalyne
aGPS worked for me as soon as I updated it, but I then flashed with someone's 6.5 and it no longer worked, so I guess we need to wait for them to build off CF03 before we can see aGPS work within mobile 6.5.

I have it working in 6.5 ;)

Guest jcortes