Jump to content


Photo

How I Transfered Windows Mobile SMS to Android

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#21
RemoteSojourner

RemoteSojourner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Hi,

Based on your solution and couple of other softwares I finally managed to import over 900 sms from my Nokia N95 and I think this will work with all other Nokia phone. I will post the full details of how I did it soon. Thanks for your amazing program :D

  • 0

#22
giankap

giankap

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Magic

New Release. Try it with this one.


Now it's working!!
i successed to write mmssms.db.
i'm uploding the db to the phone and see the result.
many thanks, and excuse me for the private message, i did not see your last post...

  • 0

#23
RemoteSojourner

RemoteSojourner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts

  • 0

#24
giankap

giankap

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Magic

Now it's working!!
i successed to write mmssms.db.
i'm uploding the db to the phone and see the result.
many thanks, and excuse me for the private message, i did not see your last post...


excuse me,
is there any body who have some suggestion for deleting duplicate items in the sms xml file exported from windows? Opening the xml with excel, an working with access, I manged to obtain an excel file in which I do not have duplicates, but i can't export this file back in an xml format.
can anybody help me?
thank you

  • 0

#25
patzek

patzek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

excuse me,
is there any body who have some suggestion for deleting duplicate items in the sms xml file exported from windows? Opening the xml with excel, an working with access, I manged to obtain an excel file in which I do not have duplicates, but i can't export this file back in an xml format.
can anybody help me?
thank you


you can edit, delete or insert sms messages with my smsimporter. when you read in the xml file you can full edit all sms messages. Sorting is also possible by clicking on the columnheaders...

  • 0

#26
giankap

giankap

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Magic

you can edit, delete or insert sms messages with my smsimporter. when you read in the xml file you can full edit all sms messages. Sorting is also possible by clicking on the columnheaders...

I've seen this feature, but my situation is that i've about 1000 sms, about 400 of these are duplicated. Using excel and access i've obtained a file excel without duplicates. My need is to copy the rows of this file in smsimporter, and this seem not to be possible because, as far as I can see, i can't make multiple selection and copy past in sms importer. Thus, the solution could be exporting the corret xls file in xml from excel, befor opening it qhit smsimporter, but I can't success in this task.

thank you

  • 0

#27
SKORPiO1975

SKORPiO1975

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:G1

Normaly my SMSImporter also link SMS Messages together like Android does this. I check this by comparing the Phonenumber from Sender/Receiver with the existing ones and when i find the right one then the message get attached to the existinig thread. The only reason that i can think what happens on your side that all of your Messages get an own thread is that the Numbers in your Messages are looking other then the Numbers in the Messages of the other Person (Country Code maybe??? )

Messagetype = 1 = Received Message
Messagetype = 2 = Sended Message


It all worked out when I manually changed Message type on my messages to "2" in your program. Now all messages are in one thread :)

Thank you for all your work. regards, Bart.

  • 0

#28
mrmamon

mrmamon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I got some problem.
every thing seem to be ok in All messages but if click into detail it will display "Loading..." for long long time and nothing happen.
How can I fix this problem?

  • 0

#29
patzek

patzek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
Some more informations would be helpfully (what you have done, Rom Version..., which telefone ...) but i saw this kind of problem on my hero when i use a old database file (1.76.xxx) on a new rom (2.73.xxx)

  • 0

#30
RemoteSojourner

RemoteSojourner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
[codebox]adb shell
sqlite3 /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases/mmssms.db
ALTER TABLE sms ADD COLUMN index_on_sim INTEGER DEFAULT -1;
(Press Control-D)
exit[/codebox]

This should fix your db

  • 0

#31
mrmamon

mrmamon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Yep,Now I can transfered already after factory reset and get new db Thanks!

  • 0

#32
hinz

hinz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:T-Mobile G2/HTC Hero on O2
  • Twitter:@hineshb

use this commands:

adb shell
su
cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
cat mmssms.db > /sdcard/mmssms.db
exit
exit

now you have the database on your sdcard and can be transfered with normal usb transfer

to write it back from the sdcard do:

adb shell
su
cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
mv mmssms.db mmssms.db.old
cat /sdcard/mmssms.db > ./mmssms.db
chown radio.radio mmssms.db
chmod 660 mmssms.db
exit
exit


hope this helps


Hi trying to do this on my hero but whenever I type the command 'su' it says

/ # su
su
/sbin/sh: su: not found
/ #


This is on a hero with Modaco custom rom 2.2 and cyanogen v1.4 +JF

please help

  • 0

#33
hinz

hinz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:T-Mobile G2/HTC Hero on O2
  • Twitter:@hineshb
Ok I did all the steps and it had no errors but after restarting the phone i got an error message which says

Sorry - The process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close - (this happens every 10 secounds or so and stop the phone from receiving signal)
Also
Sorry - The application Messages (process com.android.mms) has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close
and
Sorry - The process com.htc.provider has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close

no sms have been imported either :-(

any ideas?

Thanks

edit one error

# cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
# mv mmssms.db mmssms.db.old
mv mmssms.db mmssms.db.old
# cat /sdcard/mmssms.db > ./mmssms.db
cat /sdcard/mmssms.db > ./mmssms.db
# chown radio.radio mmssms.db
chown radio.radio mmssms.db
chown: unknown user/group radio:radio
# chmod 660 mmssms.db
chmod 660 mmssms.db
#


Edited by hinz, 21 September 2009 - 11:38 AM.

  • 0

#34
patzek

patzek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Ok I did all the steps and it had no errors but after restarting the phone i got an error message which says

Sorry - The process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close - (this happens every 10 secounds or so and stop the phone from receiving signal)
Also
Sorry - The application Messages (process com.android.mms) has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close
and
Sorry - The process com.htc.provider has stopped unexpectely. Please try again - Force close

no sms have been imported either :-(

any ideas?

Thanks

edit one error


the error message says something radio:radio but on android it should be radio.radio
have you entered radio:radio or radio.radio?
alternative you can use 1001.1001 which is the user id and group id for radio

  • 0

#35
hinz

hinz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:T-Mobile G2/HTC Hero on O2
  • Twitter:@hineshb

the error message says something radio:radio but on android it should be radio.radio
have you entered radio:radio or radio.radio?
alternative you can use 1001.1001 which is the user id and group id for radio


I noticed that too, I entered radio.radio.
Tried 1001.1001

and...

sucess

The sms's have been imported

However the text messages only show the what the other person has said and not the original message that I sent (i.e. a one sided conversation)
Is this normal? how can I import the messages that I sent so they show in the threaded view?
Ignore above - think I should have named Outbox as Sent Items

thanks again patzek awesome tool :-)

Edited by hinz, 21 September 2009 - 01:16 PM.

  • 0

#36
Enake

Enake

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi patzek...

First, thank you very much for your application...

Works well but I have a little problem...

The date and hour in XML file are correct, but when I write the mmssms.db and copy to the phone all messages shows the same hour: 02:00

¿How can I correct this?

Thanks in advance.

  • 0

#37
Enake

Enake

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Ok, if I put the hour with your application... it writes well to the android database...

The problem is that SMSImporter.exe don't read the hour, only the date...

Can you correct this in another version please?

Regards.

  • 0

#38
Enake

Enake

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I downloaded the 0.1Alpha version and it reads the hour perfectly...

But that version have the problem of the "recipient_address"...

Hope you can solve this in a 0.5Alpha version...

Thanks.

Regards.

  • 0

#39
Rough1977

Rough1977

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Magic

use this commands:

adb shell
su
cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
cat mmssms.db > /sdcard/mmssms.db
exit
exit

now you have the database on your sdcard and can be transfered with normal usb transfer

to write it back from the sdcard do:

adb shell
su
cd /data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases
mv mmssms.db mmssms.db.old
cat /sdcard/mmssms.db > ./mmssms.db
chown radio.radio mmssms.db
chmod 660 mmssms.db
exit
exit


hope this helps



After typing SU, I get: SU: Permission Denied.
Any Idea?

Regards

  • 0

#40
RemoteSojourner

RemoteSojourner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
@Rough1977 I don't think your phone is rooted. You need to do that as well.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users