Jump to content


Photo

Debian Lenny now running on Hero!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Has anyone got Debian running on the Hero?

Having all sorts of issues with the modprobe, mount etc.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
OK so the normal mount command won't mount debian.img, but 'busybox mount' will.

Woohoo, success!

My doing 'rm /system/bin/mount' this makes 'bootdeb' use the busybox mount instead, and hey presto! :D

P

Posted Image

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#3
Funkyfin2000

Funkyfin2000

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 79 posts
  • Location:Stafford, Staffordshire
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@Funkyfin2000
Sadly I don't have a clue what Debian is :D

  • 0
HTC Hero - Orange (Debranded) | Firmware 1.5 | Kernel 2.6.27-mck-teknologist-1.92 root@neutrino | Build Number MoDaCo Custom ROM 3.2 Core | Software Version 1.0.0.A6288

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Here is my installer.sh btw... I copied the debian.img to /sdcard/debian/debian.img but everything else to a new directory called /data/debian. This allows chmod 4755 on the installer.sh file.

I used the 2.1 zip from here.

P

su <./fsrw

modprobe ext2

clear

rm -f /data/local/bin/fsrw
rm -f /data/local/bin/bootdeb
rm -f /data/local/bin/unionfs
rm -f /data/local/bin/installer.sh
rm -f /data/local/bin/mountonly

mkdir /data/local/mnt

clear

cp -f fsrw /system/bin
cp -f bootdeb /system/bin
cp -f unionfs /system/bin
cp -f installer.sh /system/bin
cp -f mountonly /system/bin

cd /sdcard/debian

chmod 777 *

cd /system/bin/

chmod 4777 *

cd /

clear

echo " "
echo "VERSION 2.1"
echo "Custom Debian Bootloader is now installed! Quick huh?"
echo "This process does NO damage to your Android underlying OS!"
echo " "
echo "Courtesy of http://www.androidfanatic.com"
echo "Installer by Mark Walker (ghostwalker)"

echo " "

echo "To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootdeb'"
echo "PS: Be sure to run /scripts/onetime.sh as root from the shell after your FIRST 'boot'."
:D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
bobbymilla

bobbymilla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hey Paul,

Ive run your installer.sh script on my hero but im still getting mount (file or directory not found) errors when I run dootdeb. I'd really appreciate it if you could post a quick rundown of how to install debian on the Hero. I know there is a guide for installing onto the G1, but is the process the same? :)

Thanks in advance!!

Edited by bobbymilla, 19 October 2009 - 11:17 PM.

  • 0

#6
drewstiff

drewstiff

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
I decided to give this a try last night - I put the debian.img into /sdcard/debian and the other files into /data/debian. I then pasted your code into a text file and pushed it to /data/debian/installer.sh.

I had to edit the installer.sh in vi (1st use of vi evar!) to remove the ^M at the end of each line which I believe was due to me creating the file in Windows.

I then did a chmod 4755 on the installer.sh and ran it....

...but got the following (this is from adb shell but it seemed the same when running it via a local Connectbot connection on the phone):

./installer.shFilesytem remounted as read/writemodprobe: chdir(2.6.27-0078c992): No such file or directory←[H←[Jmkdir: cannot create directory '/data/local/mnt': File exists←[H←[J←[H←[JVERSION 2.1Custom Debian Bootloader is now installed! Quick huh?This process does NO damage to your Android underlying OS!Courtesy of [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]Installer by Mark Walker (ghostwalker)To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootdeb'PS: Be sure to run /scripts/onetime.sh as root from the shell after your FIRST 'boot'.
I guessed the "no such file or directory" error near the start is due to the script trying to remove some files that aren't there (guesswork as I am by no means a linux/script-master!) and for the "File exists" error, I presumed it shouldn't be a problem if the thing we are trying to create is already there, and so I tried running 'bootdeb'!

This is what I got in return:

bootdebmodprobe: chdir(2.6.27-0078c992): No such file or directory←[H←[JAndroid Filesytem remounted as read/writemknod: /dev/loop2: File exists←[H←[J               a888a             d888888b             8P YP Y88             8|o||o|88             8.    .88             8 ._.  Y8.            d/       8b.          .dP   .     Y8b.         d8:         ::88b.        d8             Y88b       :8P             :888        8a.    :      _a88P      ._/ Yaa_ :    .| 88P|      \    YP        | 8P  \.      /     \._____.d|    .|       --..__)888888P ._.|mount: cannot setup loop device: No such file or directorymount: mounting devpts on /data/local/mnt/dev/pts failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting proc on /data/local/mnt/proc failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting sysfs on /data/local/mnt/sys failed: No such file or directoryCustom Linux Pseudo Bootstrapper V2.1 - by Mark WalkerWEB: [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]EML: [email protected] init processINIT: Debian booting.....Running Linux Kernelnet.ipv4.ip_forward = 1AutoMounter startedType EXIT to end sessionMake sure you do a proper EXIT for a clean kill of Debian!chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directoryShutting down Debian........Processes killed......Loopback device shutdown - successDebian downCoded by Mark Walker[url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]admin.androidfanatic.comRebooting device to ensure clean takedown.........

...and then my phone rebooted itself. Paul do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong? I don't know enough to have written the script myself but I believe I'm capable enough to be attempting it by ripping off your own script so I hope you can help out :)

[BTW big love for the sick Hero ROM, and for sorting the voda/peep issue! I think there will be a donation coming your way regardless, but especially if I can get this working!]

  • 0

#7
iNasar

iNasar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lahore Pakistan

I decided to give this a try last night - I put the debian.img into /sdcard/debian and the other files into /data/debian. I then pasted your code into a text file and pushed it to /data/debian/installer.sh.

I had to edit the installer.sh in vi (1st use of vi evar!) to remove the ^M at the end of each line which I believe was due to me creating the file in Windows.

I then did a chmod 4755 on the installer.sh and ran it....

...but got the following (this is from adb shell but it seemed the same when running it via a local Connectbot connection on the phone):

./installer.shFilesytem remounted as read/writemodprobe: chdir(2.6.27-0078c992): No such file or directory←[H←[Jmkdir: cannot create directory '/data/local/mnt': File exists←[H←[J←[H←[JVERSION 2.1Custom Debian Bootloader is now installed! Quick huh?This process does NO damage to your Android underlying OS!Courtesy of [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]Installer by Mark Walker (ghostwalker)To enter the Debian Linux console just type 'bootdeb'PS: Be sure to run /scripts/onetime.sh as root from the shell after your FIRST 'boot'.
I guessed the "no such file or directory" error near the start is due to the script trying to remove some files that aren't there (guesswork as I am by no means a linux/script-master!) and for the "File exists" error, I presumed it shouldn't be a problem if the thing we are trying to create is already there, and so I tried running 'bootdeb'!

This is what I got in return:

bootdebmodprobe: chdir(2.6.27-0078c992): No such file or directory←[H←[JAndroid Filesytem remounted as read/writemknod: /dev/loop2: File exists←[H←[J               a888a             d888888b             8P YP Y88             8|o||o|88             8.    .88             8 ._.  Y8.            d/       8b.          .dP   .     Y8b.         d8:         ::88b.        d8             Y88b       :8P             :888        8a.    :      _a88P      ._/ Yaa_ :    .| 88P|      \    YP        | 8P  \.      /     \._____.d|    .|       --..__)888888P ._.|mount: cannot setup loop device: No such file or directorymount: mounting devpts on /data/local/mnt/dev/pts failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting proc on /data/local/mnt/proc failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting sysfs on /data/local/mnt/sys failed: No such file or directoryCustom Linux Pseudo Bootstrapper V2.1 - by Mark WalkerWEB: [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]EML: [email protected] init processINIT: Debian booting.....Running Linux Kernelnet.ipv4.ip_forward = 1AutoMounter startedType EXIT to end sessionMake sure you do a proper EXIT for a clean kill of Debian!chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directoryShutting down Debian........Processes killed......Loopback device shutdown - successDebian downCoded by Mark Walker[url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]admin.androidfanatic.comRebooting device to ensure clean takedown.........

...and then my phone rebooted itself. Paul do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong? I don't know enough to have written the script myself but I believe I'm capable enough to be attempting it by ripping off your own script so I hope you can help out :)

[BTW big love for the sick Hero ROM, and for sorting the voda/peep issue! I think there will be a donation coming your way regardless, but especially if I can get this working!]


paul not that i doubt your intentions or your reasons for doing this but why would you want lenny on hero?

daymn. thats some sic modding!

  • 0

#8
Loxley

Loxley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Hero

This is what I got in return:

mount: cannot setup loop device: No such file or directory


Would you please change the line "mknod /dev/loop2 b 7 0" in bootdeb to "mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0" and try again?

HTH

Niki

  • 0

#9
drewstiff

drewstiff

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

Would you please change the line "mknod /dev/loop2 b 7 0" in bootdeb to "mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0" and try again?

HTH

Niki



Got pretty much the same result, but I will post it here in case you spot something I missed:
bootdebmodprobe: chdir(2.6.27-0078c992): No such file or directory←[H←[JAndroid Filesytem remounted as read/writemknod: /dev/loop2: File exists←[H←[J               a888a             d888888b             8P YP Y88             8|o||o|88             8.    .88             8 ._.  Y8.            d/       8b.          .dP   .     Y8b.         d8:         ::88b.        d8             Y88b       :8P             :888        8a.    :      _a88P      ._/ Yaa_ :    .| 88P|      \    YP        | 8P  \.      /     \._____.d|    .|       --..__)888888P ._.|mount: cannot setup loop device: No such file or directorymount: mounting devpts on /data/local/mnt/dev/pts failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting proc on /data/local/mnt/proc failed: No such file or directorymount: mounting sysfs on /data/local/mnt/sys failed: No such file or directoryCustom Linux Pseudo Bootstrapper V2.1 - by Mark WalkerWEB: [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]EML: [email protected] init processINIT: Debian booting.....Running Linux Kernelnet.ipv4.ip_forward = 1AutoMounter startedType EXIT to end sessionMake sure you do a proper EXIT for a clean kill of Debian!chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directoryShutting down Debian........Processes killed......Loopback device shutdown - successDebian downCoded by Mark Walker[url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]admin.androidfanatic.comRebooting device to ensure clean takedown.........

Thanks for your help though - Any other ideas?

  • 0

#10
Loxley

Loxley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Hero

mknod: /dev/loop2: File exists
Thanks for your help though - Any other ideas?


The error "mknod: /dev/loop2: File exists" means you didn't change /dev/loop2 to /dev/loop0. You might want to try again.

  • 0

#11
drewstiff

drewstiff

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

The error "mknod: /dev/loop2: File exists" means you didn't change /dev/loop2 to /dev/loop0. You might want to try again.


Ah I had edited the bootdeb in /data/debian/ but then ran bootdeb without running the installer.sh again first, so in essence it was the old version of the file!

Now that I've done that it is working perfectly - that is awesome!

Just gotta work out proper reasons for having debian on my phone now - I'm very much the "Wow you can do that? I have no reason for it but let's try it!" kinda guy.


Quick question Loxley - what did we change by altering that "mknod..." line and why was it different for me than for Paul? Just want to try and learn whilst I'm at it :)


Thanks very much for your help!

  • 0

#12
Loxley

Loxley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Hero
Hi there, I did some cleanup on the bootdeb file. Could someone please point me to the right place to discuss this?
Until then you might want to try this one. I tested it on Modaco 2.2.

HTH

Niki

Edit: Now makes sure that you are root and allows you to mount the sdcard on your pc after exiting debian.

#!/system/bin/sh# Based on Saurik's remount.sh  - modified by Mark Walker of [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]# Email [email protected]# Further work by K.-M. Hansche# No more reboot# Loopdevice corrected# Check for root# Free loopdevicenoroot(){	echo "Please become root!"	exit 0}id | grep uid=0 || norootexport kit=/sdcard/debianexport bin=/system/binexport mnt=/data/local/mntexport PATH=$bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:$PATHexport TERM=linuxexport HOME=/root[ -b /dev/loop0 ] || mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0clearecho " "echo "               a888a      "echo "             d888888b      "echo "             8P YP Y88      " echo "             8|o||o|88       "echo "             8.    .88       "echo "             8 ._.  Y8.      "echo "            d/       8b.     "echo "          .dP   .     Y8b.    "echo "         d8:         ::88b.   "echo "        d8             Y88b   "echo "       :8P             :888   "echo "        8a.    :      _a88P   "echo "      ._/ Yaa_ :    .| 88P|   "echo "      \    YP        | 8P  \. "echo "      /     \._____.d|    .|  "echo "       --..__)888888P ._.|"echo " "echo " "mount -o loop,noatime $kit/debian.img $mntmount -t devpts devpts $mnt/dev/ptsmount -t proc proc $mnt/procmount -t sysfs sysfs $mnt/sysecho "Type EXIT to end session"echo "Make sure you do a proper EXIT for a clean kill of Debian!"echo " "chroot $mnt /bin/bash#After exit command is executed clear it all upecho " "echo "Shutting down Debian........"[ -d /data/local/mnt/bin ] || exit 0fuser -k -m /data/local/mnt/sleep 2fuser -KILL -k -m /data/local/mnt/umount /data/local/mnt/sys /data/local/mnt/proc /data/local/mnt/dev/pts umount -d /data/local/mnt[ ! -d /data/local/mnt/bin ] || echo "I'm sorry, but something went wrong. You might want to reboot."

Edited by Loxley, 20 October 2009 - 05:35 PM.

  • 0

#13
drewstiff

drewstiff

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

Hi there, I did some cleanup on the bootdeb file. Could someone please point me to the right place to discuss this?
Until then you might want to try this one. I tested it on Modaco 2.2.

HTH

Niki

#!/system/bin/sh# Based on Saurik's remount.sh  - modified by Mark Walker of [url="http://www.androidfanatic.com"]http://www.androidfanatic.com[/url]# Email [email protected]# Further work by K.-M. Hansche:# No more reboot# Dont't remount /system rw, there's no need to# Loopdeviceusage corrected# Get rid of all debian processes after exitexport kit=/sdcard/debianexport bin=/system/binexport mnt=/data/local/mntexport PATH=$bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/bin:$PATHexport TERM=linuxexport HOME=/root[ -b /dev/loop0 ] || mknod /dev/loop0 b 7 0clearecho " "echo "               a888a      "echo "             d888888b      "echo "             8P YP Y88      " echo "             8|o||o|88       "echo "             8.    .88       "echo "             8 ._.  Y8.      "echo "            d/       8b.     "echo "          .dP   .     Y8b.    "echo "         d8:         ::88b.   "echo "        d8             Y88b   "echo "       :8P             :888   "echo "        8a.    :      _a88P   "echo "      ._/ Yaa_ :    .| 88P|   "echo "      \    YP        | 8P  \. "echo "      /     \._____.d|    .|  "echo "       --..__)888888P ._.|"echo " "echo " "mount -o loop,noatime $kit/debian.img $mntmount -t devpts devpts $mnt/dev/ptsmount -t proc proc $mnt/procmount -t sysfs sysfs $mnt/sysecho "Type EXIT to end session"echo "Make sure you do a proper EXIT for a clean kill of Debian!"echo " "chroot $mnt /bin/bash#After exit command is executed clear it all upecho " "echo "Shutting down Debian........"[ -d /data/local/mnt/bin ] || exit 0#Terminate all Debian processes, give them tow seconds, then kill themfuser -k -m /data/local/mnt/sleep 2fuser -KILL -k -m /data/local/mnt/umount /data/local/mnt/sys /data/local/mnt/proc /data/local/mnt/dev/pts /data/local/mnt#This will give fair warnining if a process started in the chroot couldn't be killed[ ! -d /data/local/mnt/bin ] || echo "I'm sorry, but something went wrong. You might want to reboot."


Wow! I had already got it working but wouldn't mind using this instead as it won't try and reboot each time (doesn't succeed from Connectbot prompt but still slightly irritating) plus I'd quite like to be using a script adapted for this purpose (putting it on a Hero). I presume I just need to go through the whole process (inc. ./installer.sh) again using this bootdeb?

Quick question though: As I use Windows, I tend to find that if I copy and paste some text from this site into a text file it tends to have "^M" (carriage returns?) at the end of each line. Is there a way to either stop this from happening, or to easily remove them before pushing the file onto my phone? Would prefer if the answer wasn't "use a Linux PC instead"! :)

  • 0

#14
Loxley

Loxley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Hero
That's my final bootdeb: Attached File  bootdeb.gz   1.12KB   410 downloads
It mounts important android directories under /android, uses tmpfs for directories containing temporary files, really kills all running debian programs on shutdown, …

Changed:
  • Rebuild resolv.conf on boot(deb) -> Makes debian use current dns-servers.
  • Fix building of resolv.conf.
  • Enlarge ramdisks.
Enjoy.

Edited by Loxley, 04 November 2009 - 05:37 AM.

  • 0

#15
drewstiff

drewstiff

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

That's may final bootdeb: .
It mounts important android directories under /android, uses tmpfs for directories containing temporary files, really kills all running debian programs on shutdown, …

Enjoy.


That's awesome Loxley, thanks very much. Just seems a lot 'cleaner' than the original!

  • 0

#16
solarian_storm

solarian_storm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hi all,

I'm running MoDaCo Custom ROM 2.5. Do I need to install version 2.8 to run Debian Linux?
My second question would be, how do I install Debian Linux safely? I have searched on the internet for a guide on how to do this. I found one for a different HTC device, but I'm not to sure about this. If you are interested here is the link: http://www.geekzone.co.nz/barf/985 . Is there anyone who knows a noob guide on the internet, or is anyone willing to make one? I'd really like to try this. The custom ROM was installed with a guide from here too which made it quite simple for me :D

best regards,

Solarian

  • 0

#17
Tragos

Tragos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

I'm running MoDaCo Custom ROM 2.5. Do I need to install version 2.8 to run Debian Linux?

No. The files needed for this were already included in MCR 2.5.

My second question would be, how do I install Debian Linux safely? I have searched on the internet for a guide on how to do this. I found one for a different HTC device, but I'm not to sure about this. If you are interested here is the link:

Forget that link. That's about a Windows Mobile device. Hero is running Android, which is a Linux-based operating system. This is why we can use a more simple solution for running Debian, called chrooting.

Is there anyone who knows a noob guide on the internet, or is anyone willing to make one? I'd really like to try this. The custom ROM was installed with a guide from here too which made it quite simple for me :P


I'm not sure if a noob should try this. In the worst case, you type something wrong and brick your phone. Even if everything goes well, there's just the command line interface. And although you can run a GUI in VNC session, your phone won't be able to run heavy desktop applications.

After the warnings, here's how I did it: :D
  • Downloaded the installer from http://www.androidfa...i...einfo&id=21. It took a while before a download slot became available @FileFactory.
  • Unzipped the file on my computer. This created a directory called "debian".
  • Downloaded Loxley's bootdeb.gz (see post #14 above).
  • Used 7-Zip to extract the bootdeb file from the gzip archive and moved it to the "debian" folder. There already was a bootdeb file which was overwritten.
  • Replaced the contents of installer.sh in debian folder with Paul's version (copy-paste from post #4). I used Notepad++ for this so the linefeed characters would be kept in UNIX format.
  • Moved the whole debian folder in the root directory of Hero's memory card using the data cable. After this I disconnected the cable.
  • Opened ConnectBot in Hero, choosed local connection.
  • Became root by typing: su -
  • Entered the debian directory in memory card: cd /sdcard/debian
  • Launched the installer script: sh installer.sh
  • Entered Debian console: bootdeb
  • Launched the setup script: /scripts/onetime.sh
  • That's it!
After having fun with Debian console, it must be closed by typing exit. Then the chroot session will be terminated correctly.
Only steps 7,8 and 11 are required to launch Debian console again.

  • 0

#18
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

No. The files needed for this were already included in MCR 2.5.
...

thx for the writeup, really nice. just tried, everything works fine, apart from the dns servers. somewhere i read that changes were made, anyway, the /etc/resolv.conf contains:

localhost:~# cat /etc/resolv.conf 10.74.83.22192.168.1.1193.254.160.1

and should read:

localhost:~# cat /etc/resolv.conf nameserver 192.168.1.1(other servers if needed)

then apt-get update downloads the indexes, but then segfaults:

localhost:~# echo "nameserver 192.168.1.1" > /etc/resolv.conf localhost:~# apt-get updateGet:1 [url="http://ftp.de.debian.org"]http://ftp.de.debian.org[/url] lenny Release.gpg [1032B]Get:2 [url="http://ftp.de.debian.org"]http://ftp.de.debian.org[/url] lenny Release [73.6kB]Ign [url="http://ftp.de.debian.org"]http://ftp.de.debian.org[/url] lenny/main Packages/DiffIndexGet:3 [url="http://ftp.de.debian.org"]http://ftp.de.debian.org[/url] lenny/main Packages [6703kB]Fetched 6777kB in 42s (161kB/s)                                                                                                                Segmentation faultsts... 99%

anyone? :D

Edited by kendon, 03 November 2009 - 07:29 PM.

  • 0

#19
Loxley

Loxley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Hero
Hi Kendon!

then apt-get update downloads the indexes, but then segfaults:
anyone? :D


I fixed the resolv.conf issue. Unfortunately I can't reproduce the segfault.
I enlarged the ramdisks to 25% of memory, perhaps that might fix it. Could you redownload my bootdeb and try again, please?

HTH

Niki

  • 0

#20
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

Hi Kendon!
I fixed the resolv.conf issue. Unfortunately I can't reproduce the segfault.
I enlarged the ramdisks to 25% of memory, perhaps that might fix it. Could you redownload my bootdeb and try again, please?

HTH

Niki

i would love to, a link might help...? :D

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users