Jump to content


Photo

[Recovery] [16-Sept-2009] [RA-HERO-v1.2.2]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1
Amon_RA

Amon_RA

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
This is a custom recovery specifically build for devices without keyboard.

Attached File  1.png   8.51KB   190 downloads Attached File  2.png   5.61KB   114 downloads

Features
  • root
  • full ADB access in recovery mode
  • Partition your SD directly from the menu! (500MB Ext2, 32MB Swap, remaining Fat32)
  • Repair ext filesystem, convert ext2 to ext3, fix package mismatches, move apps2SD directly from the menu!
  • Flash ANY .zip from your SD - by krut0n
  • 51dusty's sdparted v0.5.1[/URL] util
  • Loads of scrips and binaries from Cyanogen's v1.4 dream recovery
  • Nandroid v2.2 backup and restore
  • Busybox
  • Green colored menu with a nice HTC logo :)
  • See detailed changelog for more details!
  • See attached screenshots :)
Download
Latest :
RA-HERO-v1.2.2 - MD5Sum: 05cf03c4d9f273072f2df868da593a36

How to use/install


Try it out WITHOUT making changes to your device (NO flashing):
fastboot boot Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img


Flash it permanently
:
adb shell reboot bootloader (wait for device to reboot into bootloader)
  fastboot boot Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img
  adb shell mount /sdcard
  adb push Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img /sdcard/Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img
  adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/Recovery-RA-HERO-v1.2.2.img

Changelog :
Attached File  recovery_RA_Changelog.txt   3.65KB   279 downloads

Special thanks to :
packetlss for showing me the secret to make it boot :)
enlightener for helping me out with the packaging and hero trackball scan-codes :)
51dusty for his super sdparted script! Thanks! ^^
Cyanogen for his dedicated work! , buy him a beer!
JesusFreke for his awesome JFv1.43's recovery , donate

Edited by Amon_RA, 16 September 2009 - 10:37 PM.

  • 0
Buy me a Redbull

#2
AlThePost

AlThePost

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Inverness
  • Devices:Hero, Desire Z, Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@AlBremner
Very nice, sir! Flashed with no issues here.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy S2/Orange UK
Forum Mod - Android Forums
@AlBremner

#3
BrumBrum74

BrumBrum74

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus One, HTC Rezound
Great work.

Flashed without any problems here as well.

  • 0
Posted Image

#4
sveintore

sveintore

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Will install next time I have to boot my phone.
(trying to get a huge uptime) :)

  • 0

#5
ccsnet

ccsnet

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Morecambe, UK
  • Devices:HTC Hero ( TMobile Uk Build )
Interesting - got to be worth a sticky this one....

Terran

  • 0

#6
Heppieboeddah

Heppieboeddah

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam Netherlands
  • Devices:HTC-Hero, Diamond and touch
Flashed permanently. Works great..thxz

Edited by Heppieboeddah, 17 September 2009 - 11:46 AM.

  • 0

#7
juju125

juju125

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@abo7md
can I flash it with FlashRec.apk using this procedure below with your recovery image.

http://TheUnlockr.co...o-in-one-click/

thanks

  • 0

#8
Musicmannetje

Musicmannetje

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:HTC HERO / Tmobile G2
Oke.. splitting the 8GB sd card was the last thing on the wishlist, after installing MCR 2.2 (2.3 has some problems, i understood)...
I have installed the loader, formatted the card into apps/swap/sd, moved the apps over, and then rebooted.

Now for the hardest part: how can i check if it works. I can't see any difference in the memory usage of the phone, and doing a mount command in adb shell doesn't give me much info either.

Is there a (quick) way to check if all is well?? (removing sd card??)

  • 0

#9
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero
It's simple to check all you after do is check phone memory, partition sd card through adb guides on this forum then reboot check phone memory again and you should have more memory space not all apps go to sd card though some stay on the system so phone memory does go down abit.
In cmd promt adb type:- parted dev/block/cmmblk0 then type:- print this will show you your partitions on sd. If its partitioned correctly reboot phone and apps move to sd automaticaly.

  • 0

#10
Musicmannetje

Musicmannetje

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:HTC HERO / Tmobile G2

In cmd promt adb type:- parted dev/block/cmmblk0 then type:- print this will show you your partitions on sd. If its partitioned correctly reboot phone and apps move to sd automaticaly.


Thanks for the info.
Doing this i noticed that the parted command gave an error.. it is not found. Could be that it is not in the path, but could also be due to changing recovery images, yesterday.
Anyway.. the mount command gives me cmmblk# entries for cache, system/sd and /sdcard. I have found my apps on the /system/sd dir, so.. i guess all went well....

  • 0

#11
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

Thanks for the info.
Doing this i noticed that the parted command gave an error.. it is not found. Could be that it is not in the path, but could also be due to changing recovery images, yesterday.
Anyway.. the mount command gives me cmmblk# entries for cache, system/sd and /sdcard. I have found my apps on the /system/sd dir, so.. i guess all went well....


Glad ya sorted it ya might of got wrong cmds its

adb
adb shell reboot recovery
adb shell
parted /dev/block/mmcblk0
print

That should show you your partitions on sd card for future reference.

  • 0

#12
hp1

hp1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Stock 2.3.4
Can I use this with Hero that has a 'standard' HTC Orange ROM installed?

  • 0

#13
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

Can I use this with Hero that has a 'standard' HTC Orange ROM installed?


Yes you need the sdk or fastboot to flash it on to your phone I suggest you read the forum all the way through to get a good understanding of things.

Edited by clarkEEE1, 04 October 2009 - 07:47 PM.

  • 0

#14
hp1

hp1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Stock 2.3.4

Yes you need the sdk or fastboot to flash it on to your phone I suggest you read the forum all the way through to get a good understanding of things.



I have, many times! But to a new android user many elements of this are still pretty confusing.

  • 0

#15
amihud

amihud

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:hero

Thanks, easy to use
Made it via mac with mac fastboot , excelent work you made.


  • 0

#16
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

I have, many times! But to a new android user many elements of this are still pretty confusing.


There is a program called flashrec that you can use to flash the recovery img onto your phone really simple program just backup img and flash the new img

  • 0

#17
hp1

hp1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Stock 2.3.4

There is a program called flashrec that you can use to flash the recovery img onto your phone really simple program just backup img and flash the new img


Ok I did it! A big deal for me.... :) It says in the original post that this image recovery features 'root'. Does this mean that by installing this image I have effectively rooted my phone. Is there an easy way to check if the phone is rooted?

Thanks

  • 0

#18
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

Ok I did it! A big deal for me.... :) It says in the original post that this image recovery features 'root'. Does this mean that by installing this image I have effectively rooted my phone. Is there an easy way to check if the phone is rooted?

Thanks

I'm not sure if the recovery img is rooted I rooted my phone a while back now before this recovery img came out but if your phone is rooted you should have an app In the programs menu that says superuser permissions try going to the market and search for root should come up with apps that require root install one and it should come up worth superuser permission then press allow then you no you got root sorted.

If its not rooted all you need to do now is download modaco Rom do a nandroid backup in recovery mode and apply new modaco Rom update.zip file needs to be renamed to and put onto your sd card then apply update.zip

Edited by clarkEEE1, 05 October 2009 - 11:14 PM.

  • 0

#19
hp1

hp1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Stock 2.3.4

I'm not sure if the recovery img is rooted I rooted my phone a while back now before this recovery img came out but if your phone is rooted you should have an app In the programs menu that says superuser permissions try going to the market and search for root should come up with apps that require root install one and it should come up worth superuser permission then press allow then you no you got root sorted.

If its not rooted all you need to do now is download modaco Rom do a nandroid backup in recovery mode and apply new modaco Rom update.zip file needs to be renamed to and put onto your sd card then apply update.zip


Ah I was hoping that I could manage to root while keeping the updated Orange ROM I installed when I got the phone. So is it only possible to root by installing a custom Rom?

  • 0

#20
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

Ah I was hoping that I could manage to root while keeping the updated Orange ROM I installed when I got the phone. So is it only possible to root by installing a custom Rom?


To root and keep Orange Rom
1. Download the sdk
2. download and unzip superuser.zip I sent you link in private message copy and paste su and superuser.apk files to sdk/tools folder
3. then open my computer copy sdk folder into the root of c: (rename to sdk if not already done) then open cmd prompt and type

cd/ (the / needs to face the other way this line only can't do it on my phone lol)
cd sdk/tools/
adb shell reboot recovery
adb shell mount /system
adb push su /system/bin/
adb shell chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
adb push Superuser.apk /system/app/
adb shell reboot

This will root your phone and you can keep Orange Rom.

Edited by clarkEEE1, 06 October 2009 - 12:40 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users