Jump to content


Photo

[3.0.1] AychTeeSee's Vanilla Cupcake ROM - GSM (now with online kitchen)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
478 replies to this topic

#1
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee
Posted Image

3.0.1 released! Now 100% sense free, and with working contact sync!

Posted Image

Enjoy my work? Then please donate to fund my development :)
Posted Image

NOTE: This is MUCH different than simply unchecking HTC Sense in the MoDaCo Custom Custom ROM! This is the full Android package- just like a magic or dream.

This is VERY likely the fastest ROM for Hero available!

Hello everyone;

Recently I have been working with Vanilla Android and have grown to adore it through AOSP releases. However, AOSP releases didn't have the speed nor the stability to meet my expectations- so I started working with a 2.73.405.66 ROM and removed the HTC bloatware. The result has been a VERY fast, stable ROM.

What Works:
-Everything in the MoDaCo custom rom. After installation, everything is (even more with 3.0) shockingly stable.
-Unlike AOSP roms, all the hardware works properly and you get to experience vanilla Android.

What DOESN'T Work:
Bluetooth (on 3.0)
Trackball (on 3.0)
Use Toggle Headset App for switching to headset.

Inconsistencies:
None!

Parts of sense that haven't been removed:
As of release 3.0, all sense has been removed!

This is a very stable ROM. It runs lightning fast, and saves a lot of memory.

AychTeeSee's Vanilla Cupcake ROM features:

Apps2SD
Teknologist's 1.91 kernel
Busybox
Nano
Root
Spare parts
...And the rest is pure vanilla Android!


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image



With my custom orientation-responsive Launcher.apk!

Posted Image

If you want the HTC keyboard, refer to this thread:

http://android.modac...d/#entry1167512

Changelog:

3.0.1: Fixed Google contact sync.

3.0: HUGE changes, now 100% vanilla, no HTC bloat left. Fixed messaging bugs, and all existing ones.

2.1: Fixed root bug, switched base to 2.73.405.73.

2.0: Switched ROM base to my custom 2.73.405.66 release, added HTC keyboard and Android notes app, removed bootup sound, fixed ringtone bug. Experimental!

1.4: Vanilla Android theme (whew! tough), white notification bar. Aesthetic release.

1.3: Upgraded to Teknologist's 1.91 kernel, disabled ramzswap, removed more HTC. Faster. Speed release.

1.2: Added Nexus One boot screen (because I luvs the Nexus One), added Calendar app, and TELUS APNs. Minor release.

1.11: Fixes Google Account signin bug.

1.1: Added the G1 ringtones. Fixed music player. Removed more HTC libraries. Basic calendar framework in place, not yet activated. Added my accelerometer-orienting Launcher.apk.

1.0: Fixed all the acore bugs ;), compiled Android setup wizard, added my custom voice recorder app. Even LESS HTC.

0.5: Temporarily removed white toolbar, thus fixing htc framework issue. Less HTC libraries.

0.4: Added Alarm Clock app, white toolbar, new settings.

0.3: Initial public release.

0.1 - 0.2: Internal releases, porting the apps and fixing HTC dependencies.

Online Kitchen

An online kitchen for this ROM is now available in post 2 of this topic.

Download 3.0.1:

http://www.filefacto..._0_1-signed_zip
http://rapidshare.co....0.1-signed.zip

Download 2.1 (if you need bluetooth):

http://rapidshare.co...-2.1-signed.zip

Can't connect to 3G on 2.1?

For some strange reason, in Android 1.5's settings provider, mobile network is disabled by default. To enable it, hold the power button and select "Enable Mobile Network". GPS is disabled by default too, this can be toggled in settings.

Cheers!
Andrew

Edited by AychTeeSee, 20 March 2010 - 07:01 PM.

  • 0

#2
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,368 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
By AychTeeSee's request, an online kitchen is now available for this ROM!

I will strive to update them kitchen whenever the ROM is updated, but it won't happen instantly, so take note of the version numbers below! Also, if you have issues with a ROM you have baked in the kitchen, please check whether you can replicate the issue in the standard ROM before seeking help!

Enjoy! :)

P

Note: the online kitchen is currently only available to my MoDaCo premium members (those who have signed up to MoDaCo Ad Free or MoDaCo Plus) as it is not yet running on an infrastructure that can support a huge number of users. This will be the case for the foreseeable future as the kitchen system is developed.

Update: the online kitchen is now running on new dedicated hardware. Please bear with us as we tune performance and configuration and report any issues via PM!


AychTeesee's Vanilla Cupcake ROM 3.0.1 for Hero online kitchen
This kitchen has already generated [kitchenstatisticsnew]3.0.1-aychteesee-vanilla-kitchen[/kitchenstatisticsnew]

Click the options below to select what you would like in your ROM, then click the 'Bake' button at the bottom of the list. Yes, it really is that simple. ;)


Core Required Files
Core Required Files
  • These are the files that form the core of the ROM and you must have!

Core Options
Posted Image
Calculator installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Calculator application.
Posted Image
Email installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Email application (for non-Gmail accounts).
Posted Image
Music installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Music application.
Posted Image
Pinyin IME installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Pinyin IME.
Sound Recorder installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Sound Recorder application (Note: although the APK is installed correctly, the icon for this application does not seem to be appearing?)
Google Options
Posted Image
Maps installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Google Maps application. Exclude this if you plan to install a newer version from the Android Market.
Posted Image
Voice Dialer installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Google Voice Dialer application.
Posted Image
Voice Search installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Google Voice Search application.
YouTube installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the YouTube application.
Third Party Applications
Posted Image
Amazon MP3 installed to /system partition
  • This option includes version 1.3 of the Amazon MP3 application.
Posted Image
Spare Parts installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the Spare parts application.
Posted Image
WiFi tethering installed to /system partition
  • This option includes the android-wifi-tether application detailed here.

Click the image below to a ROM update zip tailored to your choices..

The online kitchen implements a queueing system which means your cooking time varies depending on the sever load. Please be patient! B)

<% BAKEBUTTON %>


  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#3
keefsloan

keefsloan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
A nice Rom. Very streamlined. Unless im missing something though it doesn't include the option to create an exchange account, which is something I absolutely need. Is this planned for the future? Great work though.

  • 0

#4
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
nice work man, I like it, i hope you keep updating it. thanxs for the late Christmas gift. hehe

  • 0

#5
clarkEEE1

clarkEEE1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 214 posts
  • Location:colne
  • Devices:hero

Hmm looks good. What i've been looking for.

Does it remove the black top bar also? As in... is it the stock white now?
Dloading now. I'll flash it and check it out :)

Thanks!

There's an update.zip theme on xda that makes the top bar white.

  • 0

#6
ngocminhsteel

ngocminhsteel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:HTC HERO
send Link update.zip for the top bar white

  • 0

#7
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
is there a change log ?

  • 0

#8
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee

A nice Rom. Very streamlined. Unless im missing something though it doesn't include the option to create an exchange account, which is something I absolutely need. Is this planned for the future? Great work though.


Vanilla Android doesn't have exchange support, but I might add it in the future.

I haven't started a changelog yet, as it's been more of a hobby. I will add one for the next release.

Andrew

  • 0

#9
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
really fast rom, love the bloated-free look and feel of it, but with time i am getting more and more acore failures, hoping thats get fixed soon. cheers and thanxs for the share mate :)

  • 0

#10
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee
A new ROM release is here! This fixes problems with the Phone app, changes the notification bar to white, and several other tweaks. Check it out!

Andrew

Edited by AychTeeSee, 29 December 2009 - 11:16 PM.

  • 0

#11
paulosman

paulosman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Isle Of Wight, UK

A new ROM release is here! This fixes problems with the Phone app, changes the notification bar to white, and several other tweaks. Check it out!

Andrew


Gonna try it now... interesting to see how it will compare to jnwhiteh's AOSP 2.1 rom that I've been using for a while now

Oz

  • 0
Orange
HTC Desire
MoDaCo Custom ROM r3.1

#12
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
lol, it seems u were uploading when i was writing my last comment, gonna check out .4 now :)

  • 0

#13
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee
Just a note - I've recently discovered that 0.4 does NOT fix the acore bug: however, it reduces it. It's caused by the HTC Setup Wizard being removed.

I'm going to see what I can do to fix this, please bear with me :)

Andrew

  • 0

#14
paulosman

paulosman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Isle Of Wight, UK

Just a note - I've recently discovered that 0.4 does NOT fix the acore bug: however, it reduces it. It's caused by the HTC Setup Wizard being removed.

I'm going to see what I can do to fix this, please bear with me :)

Andrew


Would putting the HTCSetupWizard.apk back in not fix this then?

Edited by paulosman, 29 December 2009 - 11:38 PM.

  • 0
Orange
HTC Desire
MoDaCo Custom ROM r3.1

#15
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee

Would putting the HTCSetupWizard.apk back in not fix this then?


Yes, but that breaks alot more things, as the HTC setup wizard is dependant on HTC social networking, Rosie, and other HTC bloat this ROM is trying to avoid.

  • 0

#16
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
not sure if this connected or not, but i put the phone in airplane mode, and restart it no matter how many times, i never get acore failure, but as soon as i turn off airplane mode, does acore failure kick in.

  • 0

#17
AychTeeSee

AychTeeSee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Android development (of course), programming, computers in general, electrical engineering, playing tennis and writing.
  • Devices:Nexus One + HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@aychteesee
I've turned off the downloads until I can find a fix for a bug that doesn't play your ringtone when you have a call. With all this HTC stuff, I'm considering building Android from source and using Teknologist's kernel. Stay tuned.

Andrew

  • 0

#18
treese

treese

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
i have managed to get the acore on the startup to at least stop, i turned off network date synchronization, cleared my voicemail notification in the call settings, haven't setup my gmail account yet. gonna try that next. btw haven't messed with editing apn conf either, just installed .4, will be adding telus info and seeing how that goes as well. still loving the rom. thanxs mate.

Edit:
had to make my wifi broadcast in other to connect wouldn't connect it otherwise

edit2:
gmail, apn, market, so far everything seems to work, haven't had a acore problem again, have rebooted multiple times, hopefully won't be seeing it anytime soon either. hehe

Edited by treese, 30 December 2009 - 12:46 AM.

  • 0

#19
venturerider

venturerider

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Québec
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer

Gonna try it now... interesting to see how it will compare to jnwhiteh's AOSP 2.1 rom that I've been using for a while now

Oz


You mean jnwhiteh's AOSP 2.0.1.

  • 0
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.

#20
ngocminhsteel

ngocminhsteel

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:HTC HERO
after install, it's none sense and force colse local, weather...etc, waitting fix

Edited by ngocminhsteel, 30 December 2009 - 04:15 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users