Jump to content


Photo

How to unlock the bootloader on your Nexus One

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien



Posted Image

So we rooted the Nexus One. Before it was out. Without a device. Neat, but many knowledgeable commentators in the Android community noted that the root was only possible due to the engineering bootloader shipped on the devices distributed by Google, and that retail devices would likely have locked bootloaders. We told them not to worry... and here's why.

Retail devices DO have locked bootloaders.

But you can unlock them.


You see, in the bootloader of the Nexus One there is a secret command. A command that, when issued via fastboot, gives you the warning you see here, after which you can merrily unlock your bootloader and flash anything you want onto your device (including our superboot rooting image).

Nice eh?

It's easy too! Google WANTS you to be able to do whatever you please on your Nexus One, but they also want you to be aware of the consequences.

To unlock your Nexus One's bootloader simply...

- Install the Android SDK
- Power on the device whilst holding the trackball to enter bootloader mode and connect your phone to the computer
- Download and extract fastboot from here (Windows, Linux and Mac included)
- Windows: from the sdk tools folder, copy "adb.exe", "AdbWinApi.dll" and "ddms.bat" to the fastboot folder
- Run a command prompt / terminal at the fastboot directory you just extracted
- Type 'fastboot-windows oem unlock' or './fastboot-mac oem unlock' or './fastboot-linux oem unlock' (as appropriate)
- Proceed on your merry bootloader unlocked way (note: you device will be wiped)

Enjoy! :) Big nod to packetlss for the heads up!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
Drizzy

Drizzy

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here and there
  • Interests:Tech stuff
  • Devices:iPhone 4s
  • Twitter:@nosimcard
thanks Paul, as always you still have the magic touch! :)

  • 0


#3
RTSP

RTSP

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@rtsp
After reading this post. I realize that I can't wait for official release. Just want it asap :) ;) B)

  • 0

#4
Vtecbros

Vtecbros

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
Awesome cant wait to get it for T-mobile USA to root it!

  • 0

#5
minty1978

minty1978

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
  • Location:Warwickshire
  • Interests:Gadgets!!!!
  • Devices:HTC Hero G2
  • Twitter:@mintymurray
wowsers, google have listened!!! well done paul for finding this and bringing it to the masses :)

  • 0
HTC Hero: MoDaCo MCR 3.2b5 Custom Bake
HTC Dream: Google IONr2 - Long gone

#6
roy_drage

roy_drage

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:HTC ROSE
Nexus one isn't even out yet and it's been rooted!

Us Milestone users are still waiting :)

  • 0

#7
igotnexusone

igotnexusone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Hi Paul et al,

Managed to get into bootloader mode and have flashed the bootloader ( several times now ).
Having a problem when device reboots where I can no longer get to the application drawer.
Have tried resetting completely. Cleared all user data etc.
Would like to try putting the stock bootloader img back.

Do you know where I can get a copy?

Any other ideas appreciated.

  • 0

#8
Taranfx

Taranfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
The attachment zip aint there.

  • 0

#9
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yes it is, works for me!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#10
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,216 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Stock boot image can be found here...

http://android.modac...ip-build-22607/

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#11
igotnexusone

igotnexusone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Thanks for the images Paul - saved me tons of trouble

ended up flashing the system image and wiping clean and all was well

dang thing had gotten into a very weird state where my application drawer wouldn't open and wifi radio wouldn't turn on either

  • 0

#12
mattyboy247

mattyboy247

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Never mind... different computer worked! Thanks!

Edited by mattyboy247, 06 January 2010 - 07:03 PM.

  • 0

#13
aron7awol

aron7awol

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Has anyone tried re-flashing the stock image after unlocking to see if it locks the device again?

  • 0

#14
rjgii

rjgii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:G1, Nexus One
  • Twitter:@rjgii
Neither of my machines have been able to preform this. I get the "Waiting for device" message, but it hangs here.

I've tried running this from Windows, and Linux, and both do the same thing.

Has anyone else run into this issue?

  • 0

#15
Kermee

Kermee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One Unlocked
  • Twitter:@kermee

Neither of my machines have been able to preform this. I get the "Waiting for device" message, but it hangs here.

I've tried running this from Windows, and Linux, and both do the same thing.

Has anyone else run into this issue?


You're probably missing the proper USB drivers. If you have the Android SDK, make sure you update it; they just released the USB drivers for the Nexus One in the last USB package.

If you don't have the Android SDK, there's a ZIP file floating around that has the USB drivers you need to support the Nexus One.

Cheers,
Kermee

  • 0

#16
jdxx76

jdxx76

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
so, besides what has been explained up there about the BootLoader...Does it also UNLOCK the phone...to use on other GSM carriers?

  • 0

#17
joners

joners

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Basildon, Essex
  • Devices:Dream, Omnia, X1, Nexus One
  • Twitter:@strikesbac

so, besides what has been explained up there about the BootLoader...Does it also UNLOCK the phone...to use on other GSM carriers?


Nope this is something else.

Nexus one can be bought sim free unlocked.

  • 0

#18
HoOnZ

HoOnZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

You're probably missing the proper USB drivers. If you have the Android SDK, make sure you update it; they just released the USB drivers for the Nexus One in the last USB package.

If you don't have the Android SDK, there's a ZIP file floating around that has the USB drivers you need to support the Nexus One.

Cheers,
Kermee


I am also having the same issues and I'm using the latest USB drivers that's floating around. Fastboot just hangs in the < waiting for device > message.

I have the following files in my fastboot folder;

adb.exe
AdbWinApi.dll
ddms.bat
fastboot-windows.exe

Am I missing something?

I also tried it on a Mac which gives me the same result.

Thanks in advance!

- JOhn

  • 0

#19
HoOnZ

HoOnZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

I am also having the same issues and I'm using the latest USB drivers that's floating around. Fastboot just hangs in the < waiting for device > message.

I have the following files in my fastboot folder;

adb.exe
AdbWinApi.dll
ddms.bat
fastboot-windows.exe

Am I missing something?

I also tried it on a Mac which gives me the same result.

Thanks in advance!

- JOhn


I just figured it out. :)

  • 0

#20
GuerillaZhou

GuerillaZhou

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Champaign, IL
  • Devices:Google Nexus One
  • Twitter:@GuerillaZhou
got it, thanks

Edited by GuerillaZhou, 12 January 2010 - 05:08 AM.

  • 0
Google Nexus One-Cyanogen Rom 5.0.5.3
RA_Amon Recovery 1.7.0
4.04.00.03_2

FIGHTING ILLINI




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users