Jump to content


Photo

New ROM from HTC for the HD2!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
Damiantmc

Damiantmc

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Location:Telford
  • Interests:Phones, (Currently at Tmobile in telford so if your due your upgrades or looking for the latest phones on new lines pop in and ask for Damian)<br /><br />Also keen with Photography
  • Devices:HD2! and a Bold 9700
Hey guys,

Just a quick one to let you guys know that HTC have posted a new ROM on there official support page for the HD2,

This ones dated 22-01-2010 and is version number: 1.66.707.1

Grab it from here,

HD2 Updates on HTC's support site

:)

  • 0
Check out my photo's at Damiantmc.weebly.com. It's still a work in progress but it should get bigger soon

#2
rameses

rameses

    Kaiser Chief (not!)

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 416 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leeds UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3
Does this new ROM just bundle up the previous fixes or does it add anything new?

  • 0

Goodbye WinMo! Hello Android :o - It's about time I updated this!


#3
Damiantmc

Damiantmc

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Location:Telford
  • Interests:Phones, (Currently at Tmobile in telford so if your due your upgrades or looking for the latest phones on new lines pop in and ask for Damian)<br /><br />Also keen with Photography
  • Devices:HD2! and a Bold 9700

Does this new ROM just bundle up the previous fixes or does it add anything new?


hey, I'll be honest I only just got the phone the other day so I have no idea. I'm about to install one of the cooked roms so haven't really tested it either but I would presume it rolls in the other updates and I'm sure I read somewhere that it improves text messages again

Damian

  • 0
Check out my photo's at Damiantmc.weebly.com. It's still a work in progress but it should get bigger soon

#4
mick1475

mick1475

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Not available for me, and I'm running 1.48... from November. The sms bug is a source of great irritation for me.

  • 0

#5
candymut

candymut

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD2

hey, I'll be honest I only just got the phone the other day so I have no idea. I'm about to install one of the cooked Roms so haven't really tested it either but I would presume it rolls in the other updates and I'm sure I read somewhere that it improves text messages again

Damian


Hello.

The HTC HD2 ROM update makes things a bit more smoother and a few tweaks BUT if your HTC HD2 is locked to a network like Vodafone etc the inputting of your serial number may not work as this ROM is for a generic version (Sim free).

They is a way around this though so you can ROM your HDC HD2 ,simply input another serial number and then you can download the new ROM.
I have seen this new ROM around on the net anyway and a few sites have it and i have been told this ROM works for the Omni .
Virgin mobile the supplier of my HTC HD2 say they will be an update for this phone to Windows 7 in a few months time .
I have no problems with text messages though as some report

The current updates from the HCT site are for the pink camera fix and this was noticed the first time i used the phone but as for the ROM update my phone came with the new updated ROM...but as like you i am now working out what .cab files are as i use to be a Nokia N97mini 9. something user so i am a bit lost .

Edited by candymut, 27 January 2010 - 07:04 PM.

  • 0

#6
Maxwell Newton

Maxwell Newton

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia - HTC HD2
which rom version should i be upgrading to and what serial can i use as mine is from o2? I dont want to accidentally download an updated from for the wrong country!
This is where i was going to download from, is this right?
http://www.htc.com/u...amp;news_id=500
Only got this out the box a couple of hours ago and already chasing higher numbers!

UPDATE: found a serial for the WWE version: HT9AZNW00968
Going to update now ;)

going to use this:
http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=611433

To avoid using a gold card... whatever that is!

Edited by Maxwell Newton, 10 February 2010 - 06:00 PM.

  • 0

#7
john66

john66

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Location:Pontypool
  • Devices:SPV M700, SPV C500
I got my HD2 yesterday and tried to install the latest rom but it said invalid vendor id.
Is there a way to get around this problem?
The phone is locked to T-mobile.

  • 0

#8
Maxwell Newton

Maxwell Newton

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia - HTC HD2

I got my HD2 yesterday and tried to install the latest rom but it said invalid vendor id.
Is there a way to get around this problem?
The phone is locked to T-mobile.


look at my post, i think the software from xda gets around this...

  • 0

#9
john66

john66

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Location:Pontypool
  • Devices:SPV M700, SPV C500

look at my post, i think the software from xda gets around this...


Thanks all sorted now.
The latest rom also sorted the crackling speaker problem that some have reported over at XDA.

  • 0

#10
Stu Kirk

Stu Kirk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:E650
Hi,

I am thinking of updating the ROM on my new HD2 as it does have the crackling speaker problem along with other little snags.

I have never done anything like this before so just wondering what the pro's/cons were as I read somewhere that it invalidates your warranty and also wipes the phone.

Many thanks

  • 0

#11
Kevlarski

Kevlarski

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle upon Tyne
Just for info the page quoted in this post is regional. I checked my device using this page and it said it wasn't for my device. When I went to the UK page it accepted my serial number and showed the following updates:
ROM Version:
Norway:1.66.409.1, Spain :1.66.412.1, Denmark:1.66.403.1, France :1.66.406.1,
Sweden:1.66.413.2, Italy:1.66.408.1, WWE:1.66.405.2
I think the 1.66 is the version and the rest of the numbers are regional/operator specific.
I have just got my phone from Virgin last weekend and it has ROM 1.66.405.2 (76641) WWE. Good to know I can update when a new one arrives as my last Diamond on Orange was locked and I couldn't get past 1.93 with it.


Hey guys,

Just a quick one to let you guys know that HTC have posted a new ROM on there official support page for the HD2,

This ones dated 22-01-2010 and is version number: 1.66.707.1

Grab it from here,

HD2 Updates on HTC's support site

:(


  • 0
Virgin HD2 (1.66.405.2 WWE, Radio: 2.06.51.07)
Orange Touch Diamond (Official OrangeUK ROM: 1.93.405.1 WWE, Radio: 1.00.25.05)
Orange SPV M500, Orange SPV C500

#12
john66

john66

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Location:Pontypool
  • Devices:SPV M700, SPV C500

Hi,

I am thinking of updating the ROM on my new HD2 as it does have the crackling speaker problem along with other little snags.

I have never done anything like this before so just wondering what the pro's/cons were as I read somewhere that it invalidates your warranty and also wipes the phone.

Many thanks


I rang t-mobile to ask if it would be ok to update the rom, rather than send it back and support said to do it.I wrote his name down and the time I rang.

If your phone is locked to a network you may find this helpfull over at xda
You may need a s/n to download from HTC if your's does not work. Try this one HT9AZNW00968

It's all very easy.

  • 0

#13
Stu Kirk

Stu Kirk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:E650
Thanks for the help.

I think I'll give it a go as the phone came from Carphone warehouse so not tied in to any provider, might solve a few of these niggling little issues.

Otherwise - fantastic phone, well happy with it.

  • 0

#14
MadSci

MadSci

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

look at my post, i think the software from xda gets around this...


Which software?

Thanks

  • 0

#15
shaggyguitarist

shaggyguitarist

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast N.Ireland
  • Interests:guitars youth work
  • Devices:SPV c600 Nokia 6680 SPV M3100
I am getting a new HD2 from carphone warehouse tomorrow.

Its on the orange network, and he said it was SIM free.

I have NEVER installed a new ROM on any of my HTC phones and am almost nervous even thinking about doing it. Im a complete newbie in ROMs.

Should I install the latest ROM, and where is the best place to find it?

  • 0

#16
andybarker

andybarker

    Diehard

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hertfordshire
  • Devices:S4, Transformer Infinity, N7
I would only recommend flashing a new ROM if you have a need to, rather than because you can.

I've flashed ROMs for previous phones where I felt it worthwhile. So far on the HD2, I have felt no need to update it.

Some people want more speed, more apps, different apps, etc. and some are happy with what comes with the phone.

  • 0

#17
tsutton

tsutton

    Need answers? Use the search feature. :)

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,225 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Norwich, UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S2/HD2 (Andriod)
  • Twitter:@tony_sutton

I am getting a new HD2 from carphone warehouse tomorrow.
Should I install the latest ROM, and where is the best place to find it?


You might will find that it's already on the latest version assuming CWP get a regular stock delivery from HTC.

  • 0
- Tony Sutton
- My Ford Focus ST170 car | My Car's Dashcam Video




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users