Jump to content


Photo

AutoKiller minfree manager

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#1
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
AutoKiller 2.2.1

This app is designed to help make your phone run mutch smoother by configuring systems internal memory management routines.
It also features a full-powered process manager which lets you control your whole system.

Features:

- process manager
- simple/advanced mode
- presets
- shortcuts to presets
- settings reapply on boot (no init file hacking, i use a service)
- pages/mb views
- statistics

i plan to add a few more features, your feedback is welcome.

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

reported to work on:

-Nexus One
-Hero
-Spica
-G1
-MyTouch/Magic/G2
-Liquid
-Milestone/Droid
-Behold II
-IE 6010
-I 7500
-LG GW620
-Pulse
-XT800
-...

official homepage has a lot more info.


Thank you for your support, and for your kind donations thus far.

If you like my work, and can afford to donate a couple of dollars to buy me a beer, please use the link below!

Posted Image

rs

Edited by RatSon, 01 April 2010 - 12:50 PM.

  • 0

#2
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
updates:

1.2:
-faster boot-time setting (no more service)
-stability improvements
-advanced error reporting

1.1:
-stability and speed improvements
-boot setting delayed
-fixed FCs

1.0:
-name changed to AutoKiller, no longer beta
-redesigned ui
-desktop shortcuts to presets (long press on home screen, shortcuts, AutoKiller presets)
-stability and speed improvements

0.9.1b:
-hint on application start (helps first time users)
-default system setting is read at boot, reset or default will reapply boot settings
-typo fix
-statistics on homepage

0.9b:
-overall improvements
-anonymous statistics (only upload right now, display will follow later)
-more settings

0.8.2b:
-code cleanup
-better error handling

0.8.1b:
-new preset
-own icon

0.8b:
initial release

Edited by RatSon, 11 March 2010 - 06:11 PM.

  • 0

#3
venturerider

venturerider

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Québec
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer
** Never mind ***

;)

Edited by venturerider, 08 February 2010 - 02:36 PM.

  • 0
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.

#4
rico2k_uk

rico2k_uk

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 149 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:G2 Touch
  • Twitter:@ricostuart
sounds like a great idea! Androids own memor management is badly implemented. When you are running Sense, it really struggles when it has under 30mb of free ram. Its good at keeping free memory as low as possible! Since going to vanilla, thats not such an issue anymore. Free memory is always alot higher. If this program keeps a minimum amount free, then it will help!

  • 0

#5
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

Android already has solid memory management.

you are right, this tweaks will just make it even more efficient ;)

  • 0

#6
wabe

wabe

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Good idea! Have installed your app. I'm currently using memtweaks defaults (w/o compcache) in 3.2b5 which works fine. Has anyone tweaked these settings to achieve even better results?

  • 0

#7
Stevie B

Stevie B

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Burgess Hill
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus + Galaxy Tab 10.1
  • Twitter:@stevethesimtec
Thanks for the app. I always had to manually enter my values after a reboot with 1536,3072,4096,21000,23000,25000

I find these settings make a HUGE difference to ALL roms i've used - that includes AOSPs and sense based

So a nice simple tool to do a nice simple job

  • 0
Nothin' is easy

#8
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

Good idea! Have installed your app. I'm currently using memtweaks defaults (w/o compcache) in 3.2b5 which works fine. Has anyone tweaked these settings to achieve even better results?

my suggestion is to start with one of the presets, and keep lowering values. you shall keep them as low as possible, but some raise is needed. there is no general good level, till speed relies on what programs you have loaded and how you use them.

  • 0

#9
venturerider

venturerider

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Québec
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer
Here's a silly question, but if I'm running with around 30MB of free RAM most of the time, what is the advantage of running with, say, 70MB of free RAM most of the time? I would think that 30MB is *plenty* of free RAM to load up pretty much any application.

  • 0
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.

#10
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

Here's a silly question, but if I'm running with around 30MB of free RAM most of the time, what is the advantage of running with, say, 70MB of free RAM most of the time? I would think that 30MB is *plenty* of free RAM to load up pretty much any application.


this is just tuning. after the tweak was introduced everyone was talking about speed improvements whatever ROM or device they had. you shall try yourself.
you shall think about this as a mem cleaner, it will keep internal memory tidy without the need to use any task killer app.

  • 0

#11
venturerider

venturerider

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Québec
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer
Thanks, but that doesn't answer my question. What difference does it make if I have 30MB free or if I have 70MB free? As long as I never hit 0% free, and possibly start swapping, and as long as I have ample wiggle room (ie. 30MB) I would be running at peek performance, non? Also, if I am asking the OS to kill more tasks more often, wouldn't that cause extra overhead and application restarts and slow the phone down?

I'm just curious, is all. Because for me, without any tweaking, my phone always maintains 30MB minimum of free RAM. I just don't see any benefit. Perhaps keeping the process table smaller is a benefit?

  • 0
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.

#12
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

Thanks, but that doesn't answer my question. What difference does it make if I have 30MB free or if I have 70MB free? As long as I never hit 0% free, and possibly start swapping, and as long as I have ample wiggle room (ie. 30MB) I would be running at peek performance, non? Also, if I am asking the OS to kill more tasks more often, wouldn't that cause extra overhead and application restarts and slow the phone down?

I'm just curious, is all. Because for me, without any tweaking, my phone always maintains 30MB minimum of free RAM. I just don't see any benefit. Perhaps keeping the process table smaller is a benefit?

you have 30mb because internal killer is set to keep 30mb free. my app lets you increase or lower this limit as you wish. you shall try out what setting suits you best, please come back and help the community with sharing you experiences.
thank you.

  • 0

#13
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito
@ RatSon
please can you explane me how your app works? I installed it but I am not sure. I undertood how does it work. Thanx so much!

  • 0

#14
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

@ RatSon
please can you explane me how your app works? I installed it but I am not sure. I undertood how does it work. Thanx so much!


all the details can be found in androcheck's explanation on the XDA thread
if you still have unanswered questions, let me know.

  • 0

#15
RatSon

RatSon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
0.8.2 is up, see second post for details.

  • 0

#16
Daz555

Daz555

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse
Installed this with the MCR 1.8beta and this app does not seem to make any difference at all to my free RAM.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy SIII GT-I9300 + Sotmax JB Ultimate Stock V24
HTC Desire HD + IceColdSandwich 8.8
HTC Desire + MildWild CM-8.0 Jelly-Gingerbread
T-Mobile Pulse (UK) + FLB-Mod1 v1.7 + 691MHz oc kernel + a2sd + a2sd swap.

#17
venturerider

venturerider

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Location:Québec
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Asus Transformer
You need to reboot after you make the changes. It definitely works. I can make my Hero hover at 70MB free, or 40, or 30. Makes no difference in performance, but there ya go.

Edited by venturerider, 09 February 2010 - 03:08 PM.

  • 0
For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.

#18
Phanes

Phanes

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:Montevideo, Punta Del Este, Munich, Budapest
  • Devices:HTC Hero
@venturerider

Your questions are legitimate. It is a logical tear down of, if it is useful or not. But you have to see the facts, we don´t have a linear reducement by using this app., it is a progressive one. That means that it is actually a difference if you run your memory on 30MB free or on 70MB.

Edited by Phanes, 09 February 2010 - 03:26 PM.

  • 0

#19
Arthur Hucksake

Arthur Hucksake

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
I am using systray to monitor my Ram and im impressed so far. It closes down stuff that usually gets stuck in the background for ages, like the web browser. Just never seems to close and now it does.

One question though, will this in anyway effect the widgets from updating such as twitter or facebook?

  • 0

#20
Daz555

Daz555

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse

You need to reboot after you make the changes. It definitely works. I can make my Hero hover at 70MB free, or 40, or 30. Makes no difference in performance, but there ya go.

Yep, made changes, rebooted - no difference regardless of which preset I use. I'm using Advance Task Killer to check my free memory.

  • 0
Samsung Galaxy SIII GT-I9300 + Sotmax JB Ultimate Stock V24
HTC Desire HD + IceColdSandwich 8.8
HTC Desire + MildWild CM-8.0 Jelly-Gingerbread
T-Mobile Pulse (UK) + FLB-Mod1 v1.7 + 691MHz oc kernel + a2sd + a2sd swap.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users