Jump to content


Photo

Back to the Basics (UPDATED CF03, DC22 & DF14) - Reformed Flashaholic

* * * * - 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#21
tractor101

tractor101

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i910
Very tempted to do this! :(

Storage space is one of the ditractors. Guess i'm spoiled having 100+ MB in the custom ROM.

I don't think i would do good with withdrawals, i would probably just relaps back into flashacolizm.. :(

Edited by tractor101, 23 February 2010 - 01:07 AM.

  • 0

#22
SuzukiDan

SuzukiDan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:i910
Trying most of this stuff.. heres some notes I have:

1.) When increasing the scrollbar size, it causes some screens to re-arrange, such as the System tab in all settings - the icons are now 2 columns instead of 3 (looks worse and makes you scroll more)

2.) The personalizer comes up with a mortscript error on startup every time, not sure what I did wrong.

3.) the default dialer loses the touch response / haptic feedback function


Only thing I might add is a text editor and S2U2. Other than that Im loving the reg hacks / cab installs. Thanks!

  • 0

#23
dgyahn

dgyahn

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:Omnia i920

Trying most of this stuff.. heres some notes I have:

1.) When increasing the scrollbar size, it causes some screens to re-arrange, such as the System tab in all settings - the icons are now 2 columns instead of 3 (looks worse and makes you scroll more)

2.) The personalizer comes up with a mortscript error on startup every time, not sure what I did wrong.

3.) the default dialer loses the touch response / haptic feedback function
Only thing I might add is a text editor and S2U2. Other than that Im loving the reg hacks / cab installs. Thanks!


I had the same error with Personalizer but only after I ran my Clean Temp program. Even after uninstaliling one or both progams and reinstalling. Somehow I think Clean Temp interfears with it. I've set my scroll bar registry edit to 14. That avoids the realignment of the icons. S2U2 is a great program but since it is readly available I did not include it.

Edited by dgyahn, 23 February 2010 - 06:57 PM.

  • 0
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

#24
dgyahn

dgyahn

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:Omnia i920

I had the same error with Personalizer but only after I ran my Clean Temp program. Even after uninstaliling one or both progams and reinstalling. Somehow I think Clean Temp interfears with it. I've set my scroll bar registry edit to 14. That avoids the realignment of the icons. S2U2 is a great program but since it is readly available I did not include it.


Install Personalizer to Main Memory to avoid Mortscript error.

  • 0
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

#25
Fa310tx

Fa310tx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Branson, MO
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i910
Cool post...
I'm finding myself in the same predicament, although I'd probably put m2d2 on it.
JJ

  • 0

#26
peperonikiller

peperonikiller

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Devices:Omnia i910, Moto Q9C
  • Twitter:@peperonikiller
Has anyone tried my roms?

  • 0
Join my Facebook group HERE
Posted Image

#27
Fa310tx

Fa310tx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Branson, MO
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i910

Has anyone tried my roms?

I haven't, but you're a 6.5 guy. I'm a 6.1 guy.
JJ

  • 0

#28
dgyahn

dgyahn

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:Omnia i920

You should have cabbed the registry settings. Woulda been easy to install/uninstall.


Most registry edits are now CABed and ready to install. Install these to your "Main Memory".

  • 0
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

#29
peperonikiller

peperonikiller

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 246 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Devices:Omnia i910, Moto Q9C
  • Twitter:@peperonikiller

I haven't, but you're a 6.5 guy. I'm a 6.1 guy.
JJ



since i started using 6.5 i cant go back, ive tried and i just cant do it lol

  • 0
Join my Facebook group HERE
Posted Image

#30
Fa310tx

Fa310tx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Branson, MO
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i910

since i started using 6.5 i cant go back, ive tried and i just cant do it lol

I'm the exact opposite. I view 6.5 like Windows 95. I really want to like it. I installed it nearly a dozen times, thinking that I would like it "this time". Every time I went back to 6.1 and 3.11, respectively. When Windows 98 came out, I switched without looking back. When 98SE came out, I switched. When Nt4 came out, I switched. When 2k came out, I switched. I hated ME. I didn't like Xp, but was forced into using it when programs started requiring Sp2. I still don't use Sp3. I hate Vista and I don't care for Win7, much.
I will say that I like 6.5.x more than vanilla 6.5, but still not as much as 6.1.
JJ

  • 0

#31
rfarrah

rfarrah

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Location:OKC
  • Devices:HTC Incredible

I'm the exact opposite. I view 6.5 like Windows 95. I really want to like it. I installed it nearly a dozen times, thinking that I would like it "this time". Every time I went back to 6.1 and 3.11, respectively. When Windows 98 came out, I switched without looking back. When 98SE came out, I switched. When Nt4 came out, I switched. When 2k came out, I switched. I hated ME. I didn't like Xp, but was forced into using it when programs started requiring Sp2. I still don't use Sp3. I hate Vista and I don't care for Win7, much.
I will say that I like 6.5.x more than vanilla 6.5, but still not as much as 6.1.
JJ


I hate to say this, but you REALLY need to get more comfortable with CHANGE. :(

  • 0

#32
Fa310tx

Fa310tx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Location:Branson, MO
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i910

I hate to say this, but you REALLY need to get more comfortable with CHANGE. :(

Well, at least I know the OP is with me!!!
Old's-cool...
I like Quickmenu. In a world becoming ever-more like apple products, it keeps my windows phone staunchly where it should be. 6.5 just doesn't play nice with it.
But, in the words of Monty Python, "Let's not bicker and argue about who killed who. This is supposed to be a happy occasion."
Let's not, un-necessarily jump onto page 3.
JJ

  • 0

#33
SuzukiDan

SuzukiDan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:i910
Just want to give an update, I tried this 'back to the basics' routine and it worked decent, better than OEM but .. sorry its still the crappy OEM OS. Slow, laggy, annoying.

So I followed the advice of some posters here, and tried Liorytes 28223 build with various supporting apps such as S2U2, smarlock, Opera, google maps etc and I gotta say, it blows my mind how much better this is. I also downloaded the M2D all in one cab and that is pretty slick too! Touch response , scrolling are both AMAZING in comparison. Menus make more sense. I can actually watch youtube vids with internet explorer / media player.

And the best part is , its STABLE! I've only had a few bugs which have been resolved. I had the phone choke up on me 2-3 times but thats no different than the OEM rom was. Battery life has been at least as good as OEM ROM.

So moral of the story is, if you are like me and afraid to flash, then try this basic setup but it will never perform like this 28223 rom.. this is my first time flashing so I cant say how good other roms are in comparison, maybe they are bad enough that people would prefer the stable OEM rom.

Edited by SuzukiDan, 01 March 2010 - 03:50 PM.

  • 0

#34
rcicu

rcicu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Devices:i910
what weather app are you using?

  • 0

Posted Image


#35
dgyahn

dgyahn

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:Omnia i920

what weather app are you using?


I use SPB Weather. http://www.spbsoftwa...ftware/weather/

But if you want a free weather app check out Weather Bug.

Attached Files


Edited by dgyahn, 04 March 2010 - 06:06 PM.

  • 0
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

#36
rcicu

rcicu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Devices:i910
Thanks, That was just what I was looking for!

  • 0

Posted Image


#37
aace

aace

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 275 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i910
nice, good job!
thanks for sharing <_<

  • 0

#38
tailgunner05

tailgunner05

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i910
is there a way to uninstall or disable opera 9.5 from the original rom? id love to stop flashing but the one thing i hate bout the cf03 is that on the widget today screen, the internet button goes to 9.5 even if u have 10.3 installed

  • 0

#39
Ocracoke3l1te

Ocracoke3l1te

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:i910
Where did you download the stock Verizon 6.1 CF03 ROM could you post a link.

  • 0

#40
dgyahn

dgyahn

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Devices:Omnia i920

Where did you download the stock Verizon 6.1 CF03 ROM could you post a link.


Here's the link:
http://ars.samsung.c...mp;AT_ID=157996

  • 0
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users