How can I bind mount e.g. /system/sd/xxx /sdcard/xxx

Guest 1of2

Guest 1of2

Ho all,

I've rooted my desire with r3 and all is well, however I still have a few questions (I'm a noob on Android)

I have partitioned 14G mounted @ /system/sd (ext3) and 1.5G mounted /sdcard (vfat)

Ideally, I'd like to get rid of vfat altogether and just have single ext3/4 partition and bind mount /sdcard to /system/sd/sdcard, bhut that is the future, For now, I'm trying to figure out how I can add the following two commands to the start up init.

mount /system/sd/music /sdcard/mp3 -o bind

mount /system/sd/photos /sdcard/dcim -o bind

I want the default apps (music player and camera to access the larger partition and not the vfat).

Also, somewhere during bootup (before /sdcard is mounted), the system does an fsck -t vfat /sdcard (actually the /dev/ name), we need to add fsck -t ext3 to the /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 because if you lose power, you can corrupt the ext3 fs and fsck must be performed the phone will not boot.

Anyone know were this is mounted from ?

Thanks.

Albert.

Edited by 1of2

Guest burst
Ho all,

I've rooted my desire with r3 and all is well, however I still have a few questions (I'm a noob on Android)

I have partitioned 14G mounted @ /system/sd (ext3) and 1.5G mounted /sdcard (vfat)

Ideally, I'd like to get rid of vfat altogether and just have single ext3/4 partition and bind mount /sdcard to /system/sd/sdcard, bhut that is the future, For now, I'm trying to figure out how I can add the following two commands to the start up init.

mount /system/sd/music /sdcard/mp3 -o bind

mount /system/sd/photos /sdcard/dcim -o bind

I want the default apps (music player and camera to access the larger partition and not the vfat).