Jump to content


Photo

[TUT]How to flash Official WM 6.5 ROMs for other countries (currently JC2, European) on B7610 in India

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1
Sumit Bhardwaj

Sumit Bhardwaj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia PRO B7610
  • Twitter:@krazy_bout_tech
Hi Guys,

I am from India, and unfortunately, Samsung has not released WM 6.5 update for our phone till now. So After a lot of Reading, Thinking and Trying, I finally succeeded in flashing WM 6.5 rom, made for other country (Europe region) to my India b7610. The rom is running perfectly well and there is no problem at all. I have used almost every part of the OS. This has also led me to successfully get a full fledged kitchen working for B7610 using our beloved wes85's legendary RomTool, So I may start releasing my ROMs very soon. :)

Now enough chit chat. Lets come to business, but first a little warning/disclaimer :

Although this procedure works for the currently available, latest, official WM 6.5 ROM, the JC2 (B7610NXXJC2) firmware, things might get changed here and there in future versions. So I take absolutely no responsibilities of anything that happens to you or your phone by using this procedure. I found it working on my phone that’s why I am sharing it here. But apart from that, you are on your own.

In all the roms I have seen, there are always 4 parts available, the Eboot.eb0 (boot loader), the PDA.nb0/MST (OS Image/OS Image+Bootloader), Phone.bin (The phone/radio software) and xxx.csc (The OEM/Carrier customization part). Eboot, as I know it, is a critical part that starts your phone, plus loads the first part of the OS/Firmware Updater as per the situation. So if this one becomes bad, your phone is gone. PDA part is the actual OS, an nb0 file contains only OS, an MST contains both OS and Eboot so while nb0 is completely safe to flash, MST is not. Phone software is the thing that runs the cellular device inside your phone and is again very critical. CSC, is the disk image which contains the customization done by the carriers in your country, in a carrier bound phone, or the very own OEM of ours, Samsung.

Now, after analyzing a lot, I found out that the Eboot part is not needed to be updated every time you flash. While moving from WM 6.1 to 6.5 ROM, you need to do it, but not after that, unless there is a reason to do so. One of the reasons is that Eboot, as I know it, sets the page pool of the rom at runtime (unless its a cooked rom with patched page pool). 6.1 Eboot sets larger page pool, meaning less free ram. So to flash 6.5, you need to get a 6.5 Eboot.

PDA part in most official roms with XX in their names (XX stands for international rom, not region specific), contains files for all countries/region, as evident from the dump of the JC2 ROM. The JC2 rom, although is released in European region, as far as I know, contains pfg files for India too (imeiIndia.pfg). So I think XX roms can be flashed in any phone.

Similarly, the Phone part, with XX in their name, can be flashed in any phone. I have already done it and my phone is working absolutely fine with all 5 major providers in India, Airtel, IDEA/SPICE, Vodafone, Reliance GSM and Aircel, with absolutely no battery/other issues.

So the thing that remains is CSC, and I think there is a lot of confusion over it. Flashing a wrong CSC can cause problems like change of key layout of the hardware keyboard etc as this is customized by the CSC. Recently, I found the tool to dump CSC from the phone made again by our beloved wes85, and I analyzed the dump of our original WM 6.1 CSC, the B7610DDIJ3 ROM with B7610INUIJ3 CSC. What I found is that there is nothing in this CSC that is stopping us from flashing 6.5 ROMs into our phone. All we have to do is to reverse some of the customizations done by the CSC at first boot and we are good to go.

So here is what you have to do :

1. First, Flash the full JC2 official ROM with Eboot, Phone and MST parts. This will work fine as Eboot is not region specific at all, Phone is B7610XXJC2 version (or original is B7610XXIJ3) so its compatible and as far as I understand it, this phone version is not region specific too. PDA, as I have already said contains files for all regions.

2. Now after first boot completion, you will see that TouchWiz interface is same old one, with 3 bars on top instead of the number 1,2,3. This is because CSC has copied older, 6.1 files over the rom files during customization process. Similarly, if you try to switch to Samsung Today plug-in, it wont work at all, for the same reason. TO solver this issue, Download and install a proper file manager like Total Commander, or trial of Resco Explorer (I recommend buying it, its an awesome tool ;) )

3. Disable TouchWiz/Samsung Today plug-in.

4. Start your file manager, in its options, turn off display of ROM files, but turn on display of all hidden and system files. Now go to \Windows folder and delete these files :

Connection Setting.exe
DefaultPlugIns.dll
imeiIndia.pfg
open_widget_order_flash.dat
WidgetPlus.dll
WidgetPlus.swf
widgets.dat (if exist)

5. Re-enable your plug-in.

That’s it! All the plugins, and other parts of the rom will start to work fine and you will have no issues at all!


PS. The official ROM has a bit low ram/Phone mem, as usual. I have created a modified version, without any modification with a small page pool (8 MB instead of 15 MB) and better compression (LZX). The free Phone mem in my rom is 160 MB (after deletion of above files) and free ram is about 64 MB with TouchWiz and 75 MB with Titanium.

I know that brother Daskalos has also created a modified version but it somehow has some problem with the incoming caller id screen. My rom, fortunately, is not having this problem. So If I get enough requests for this ROM, I can upload it for everyone here. Its English only, btw.


So my friends from India, don’t wait further for Samsung to release update, they suck in this department. Just follow the procedure and give new life to your B7610 with WM 6.5.

Cheers! :D

EDIT:

Here is the link to the ROM I was talking about :

Sumits Modified B7610NXXJC2 ROM

Edited by Sumit Bhardwaj, 15 May 2010 - 09:13 AM.

  • 0

#2
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610
hi dear...I am Anil from India and before thanking you let me declare it "I love you :)" yes i really love U Lolzzzz

i was desperate to flash my phone to winmo 6.5 and have seen almost every thread in this forum and each was complaining about some or the other things not working...also i wanted original samsung rom


so buddy ,i really want to flash my phone ASAP to winmo 6.5

i have flashed my previous SE K790i phone and hence if u guide me i can do this too. this is my 1st WinMO phone and hence need a proper guide which i hope you will provide me.

Can you uplaod the required files and software to flash a Phone from India having badword winmo 6.1 to better winmo 6.5 ??? also please post a good guide so that one can just follow it and get phone flashed...belive me there are 100's like me who want to flash but did not flashed just cauz of many doubts. you can find many like me in B7610 Orkut community too.

Once you guide me , i will flash my phone and will transfer this knowledge to others in community.

please buddy...plz help me.....god bless you.....

also check your PM ..thanks again buddy...i think my wait is over now....badword you samsung ;)

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#3
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610
note : I am using windows 7 64 bit
and downloading the rom from here
http://www.modaco.co...-rom-available/

just check if i am going the proper way.....thanks again

Edited by talktoanil, 14 May 2010 - 10:15 PM.

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#4
tammy89

tammy89

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia Pro B7610
That was a vry gud TUT...i really wanted to know wat every part of the phone meant i.e eboot,csc..

Also if u can upload the rom...we'll be grateful!!:)

  • 0

#5
darthveda

darthveda

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
  • Location:Bangalore, India
  • Devices:B7610
the rom is there in the B7610 forum!! you can use either daskalos (highly recommended) or the official JC2 ROM

  • 0

#6
Sumit Bhardwaj

Sumit Bhardwaj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia PRO B7610
  • Twitter:@krazy_bout_tech

the rom is there in the B7610 forum!! you can use either daskalos (highly recommended) or the official JC2 ROM


Ya buddy its available but atleast for Indian phones, it is showing garbled incoming caller id screen. I communicated this to daskalos but he is busy in other roms of his. So I decided to do it myself, and having successfully made the RomTool to work as a kitchen for me, I was able to create this ROM that works well on Indian phones atleast. Thats what I ws talking about.

No offence to anyone, ok :)

@All: I am uploading the rom, will post it in this thread only and will update the title of thread when its done. It may take some time as i only have 512 kbps bandwidth :|

  • 0

#7
daskalos

daskalos

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,297 posts
  • Devices:LG Expo,Samsung Omnia i900
  • Twitter:@E1i077

Ya buddy its available but atleast for Indian phones, it is showing garbled incoming caller id screen. I communicated this to daskalos but he is busy in other roms of his. So I decided to do it myself, and having successfully made the RomTool to work as a kitchen for me, I was able to create this ROM that works well on Indian phones atleast. Thats what I ws talking about.

No offence to anyone, ok ;)

@All: I am uploading the rom, will post it in this thread only and will update the title of thread when its done. It may take some time as i only have 512 kbps bandwidth :|


Sorry if I can't offer a solution to the garbled screen in Indian B7610, and the only theory I gave was it has to do something with the CSC or Phone.bin...
though it's worth to note that there are some people using my B7610 ROMs in India that are not having the garbled incoming caller id screen issue :)

I maybe wrong,but I think there's no official B7610 ROMs (old or new) that doesn't have the Samsung Widgets Plus with 1 2 3 today page indicator, only those with bars.
In my ROMs I got the Samsung Widgets with 1 2 3 today page indicator from i800

Edited by daskalos, 15 May 2010 - 06:40 AM.

  • 0
Like my ROMs?

There are many ways to say thank you, one way is by clicking below









Posted Image

#8
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

Ya buddy its available but atleast for Indian phones, it is showing garbled incoming caller id screen. I communicated this to daskalos but he is busy in other roms of his. So I decided to do it myself, and having successfully made the RomTool to work as a kitchen for me, I was able to create this ROM that works well on Indian phones atleast. Thats what I ws talking about.

No offence to anyone, ok :)

@All: I am uploading the rom, will post it in this thread only and will update the title of thread when its done. It may take some time as i only have 512 kbps bandwidth :|

i am downloading ROM from this link
http://www.modaco.co...-rom-available/

plz let me know if it will be OK or not ?

and if u are uploading your ROM then plzzzzzzzzzzzz split it in 40-50 MB batch and then uplaod. cauz my net sucks and if it get DC in between then i have to start again from ZERO
so plz upload in batch of 50 MB per file.

thanks buddy...

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#9
Bhavesh Shah

Bhavesh Shah

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hey " Samsung Mobile Firmware Downloader" is not working on my pc its going to some site name fus.samsung.com n den i get a info dat u hav no admin rights to dis software i hav given the admin rights i have also allowed the program to allow to move frm windows firewall den also the same issue wot may be the problem

  • 0

#10
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

@All: I am uploading the rom, will post it in this thread only and will update the title of thread when its done. It may take some time as i only have 512 kbps bandwidth :|



EXE extension ? do i need to extract exe ??? :)

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#11
abbeysumit

abbeysumit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:GT-B7610
Good to see a Chef from India...
This is to confirm that all daskalos ROMs are working great in Indian 7610... tried and tested no issues with caller Id screen....

Guys please share you experience with this ROM.... have not seen any..
Cheers

Edited by abbeysumit, 15 May 2010 - 11:15 AM.

  • 0

#12
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

Good to see a Chef from India...
This is to confirm that all daskalos ROMs are working great in Indian 7610... tried and tested no issues with caller Id screen....

Guys please share you experience with this ROM.... have not seen any..
Cheers



plz buddy ..guide me how to flash ???

m using windows 7 64 bit but can install 32 bit

can u make a proper guide with links to required software and step by step tutorial for same ?


i dont want to brick my phone hence plz help me in safe flashing..

thanks..

check u r PM plz

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#13
Sumit Bhardwaj

Sumit Bhardwaj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia PRO B7610
  • Twitter:@krazy_bout_tech

Sorry if I can't offer a solution to the garbled screen in Indian B7610, and the only theory I gave was it has to do something with the CSC or Phone.bin...
though it's worth to note that there are some people using my B7610 ROMs in India that are not having the garbled incoming caller id screen issue :)

I maybe wrong,but I think there's no official B7610 ROMs (old or new) that doesn't have the Samsung Widgets Plus with 1 2 3 today page indicator, only those with bars.
In my ROMs I got the Samsung Widgets with 1 2 3 today page indicator from i800


Hey buddy,

With all due respect to you, I am not criticizing your rom or anything like that. I also dont have any theory why its happening. CSC and Phone.bin are not the issues coz now i have flashed phone from official JC2 and have removed all the customizations of the CSC. after doing this, caller id and touchwiz all work fine on Stock ROM. So i guess its something to do with the modifications you applied to the rom.

Anyways, the point is, if a person is having issues with your rom, he/she can use my modified version as an alternative. thats it ;) I appreciate all the effort you put into your roms and really admire you as a person.

As for Samsung Widgets, ya you are right. All the official WM 6.5 roms have the 1,2,3 numbers, but the 6.1 ROM we got in India has the 3 bars on top to show the position of the 3 touchwiz screens. What I was saying is that when the 6.1 CSC customizes the phone on first boot, i copies the 6.1 version of the touchwiz and Samsung today interface files over the ones present in ROM. By just deleting those files, we get back the new interface. Please note that I am saying this only in the context of people using the B7610DDIJ3 ROM in India. Its not a generic problem.

  • 0

#14
abbeysumit

abbeysumit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:GT-B7610

plz buddy ..guide me how to flash ???

m using windows 7 64 bit but can install 32 bit

can u make a proper guide with links to required software and step by step tutorial for same ?
i dont want to brick my phone hence plz help me in safe flashing..

thanks..

check u r PM plz


Anil.. I am also flashing on 64bit Win 7. Where r you from in India?. May be we can talk on a phone...wat say ?

  • 0

#15
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

Anil.. I am also flashing on 64bit Win 7. Where r you from in India?. May be we can talk on a phone...wat say ?



gr8 buddy... add me on gtalk




and sure, we can talk and exchange number on Gtalk if you don't mind.

thanks a lot

Edited by talktoanil, 15 May 2010 - 02:32 PM.

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#16
Sumit Bhardwaj

Sumit Bhardwaj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia PRO B7610
  • Twitter:@krazy_bout_tech

Hey " Samsung Mobile Firmware Downloader" is not working on my pc its going to some site name fus.samsung.com n den i get a info dat u hav no admin rights to dis software i hav given the admin rights i have also allowed the program to allow to move frm windows firewall den also the same issue wot may be the problem


Samsung has blocked it. You cant do anything right now about it.

EXE extension ? do i need to extract exe ??? :)


The file is compressed by 7zip and is self extracting. Run it, give it a location and it will extract the nb0 file there.

Good to see a Chef from India...
This is to confirm that all daskalos ROMs are working great in Indian 7610... tried and tested no issues with caller Id screen....

Guys please share you experience with this ROM.... have not seen any..
Cheers


Thats good to know. I tried flashing it 3 times, but I am getting the issue. It seems its not happening on all indian phones.

plz buddy ..guide me how to flash ???

m using windows 7 64 bit but can install 32 bit

can u make a proper guide with links to required software and step by step tutorial for same ?
i dont want to brick my phone hence plz help me in safe flashing..

thanks..

check u r PM plz


I dont have any idea of doing it on a 64 bit system, you will have to consult somebody else. As for flashing process, check out other threads in the forum on topic, "flashing using Octans". Also check the sticky thread "B7610 Collection" at the top of the forum.

If you want to use my rom, or daskalos, I would recommend that first, Download the original JC2 rom, flash all the 3 components from it (Eboot.eb0, Phone.Bin and B6510NXXJC2.MST, but not the CSC that comes with it). Let it boot for the first time completely. After that, flash my or daskalos's nb0 file (its only the PDA section) and perform the steps as I have written in post #1. You will get a working ROM.

  • 0

#17
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

If you want to use my rom, or daskalos, I would recommend that first, Download the original JC2 rom, flash all the 3 components from it (Eboot.eb0, Phone.Bin and B6510NXXJC2.MST, but not the CSC that comes with it). Let it boot for the first time completely. After that, flash my or daskalos's nb0 file (its only the PDA section) and perform the steps as I have written in post #1. You will get a working ROM.



hi sumit,
I have downloaded ROM as well as original JC2 ROM from below link
http://www.modaco.co...-rom-available/

Please let me know if this that JC2 ROM you are mentioning

can you provide links for how to flash ?

I am new to winmo phones and have flashed SE phones before.

so if you can guide me a lil , i can pick from there and get this upgrade done.


I will be back at 7.30 PM as its load shedding time here :)

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)

#18
Sumit Bhardwaj

Sumit Bhardwaj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Mumbai, India
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia PRO B7610
  • Twitter:@krazy_bout_tech

hi sumit,
I have downloaded ROM as well as original JC2 ROM from below link
http://www.modaco.co...-rom-available/

Please let me know if this that JC2 ROM you are mentioning

can you provide links for how to flash ?

I am new to winmo phones and have flashed SE phones before.

so if you can guide me a lil , i can pick from there and get this upgrade done.
I will be back at 7.30 PM as its load shedding time here :)


Yes its the same ROM. First flash the JC2 ROMs eboot, phone and MST as I told above then flash my or daskalos's rom's nb0 only. The process of flashing is straight forward and is given with pictures in the tutorials already. i wont repeat the same thing, so please check out the threads I mentioned.

  • 0

#19
abbeysumit

abbeysumit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:GT-B7610
Anil.. have added you in gmail... u there to listen on 64bit ???

  • 0

#20
talktoanil

talktoanil

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India, Mumbai
  • Devices:B7610

Anil.. have added you in gmail... u there to listen on 64bit ???

i m on mobile now. will be on PC in next 30 min. thanks.


EDIT : I am online now...plz ping me once you are online. thanks

Edited by talktoanil, 15 May 2010 - 02:32 PM.

  • 0
Daskalos 6.5 ROM's ROCKS :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users