Jump to content


Photo

[PC Application] GoldCardTool

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#1
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
GoldCard Tool v0.0.7

gct.0.0.7.png

Requirements:
  • Latest HTC Sync software installed (www.htc.com)
  • Spare microSD card
  • Windows PC (Tested on Windows7 x64,Vista x86)
  • .Net Framework 2.0
Step by step instructions:
  • Format the microSD card to FAT32 format.
  • Put the microSD card in your device and boot it.
  • Launch GoldCard Tool (Right Click and run as Admin if needed)
  • Connect Android device to USB (USB Debugging must be enabled on the device)
  • Click 'Get CID' (If MMC1 fails try MMC0)
  • Click the link to open revskills.de, enter the CID number from Goldcard Tool and create your goldcard image, which will be e-mailed to you.
  • Enable USB Mass Storage on the device.
  • Click 'Refresh' and select your microSD card in the drop down menu.
  • Click 'Load GoldCard.img' and open the .img file you got by email.
  • Click 'Patch MMC'
You now have a goldcard!

[Notes]
HTC Sync is required for drivers only
Android SDK is not required

Downloads have been moved to www.vorbeth.co.uk

Edited by klutsh, 26 June 2011 - 12:05 AM.

  • 1
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#2
PJFonseca

PJFonseca

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@PJFDF
Thanks!

This will help some n00b people to get things done. :)

  • 0

#3
homeroz

homeroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend

GoldCard Tool v0.0.2



Requirements:

  • Spare microSD card
  • Windows PC (Tested on Windows7 x64,Vista x86)
  • .Net Framework 2.0
Step by step instructions:
  • Format the microSD card to FAT32 format.
  • Put the microSD card in your device and boot it.
  • Launch GoldCard Tool (Right Click and run as Admin if needed)
  • Connect Android device to USB (USB Debugging must be enabled on the device)
  • Click 'Get CID'
  • Click the link to open revskills.de, enter the CID number from Goldcard Tool and create your goldcard image, which will be e-mailed to you.
  • Enable USB Mass Storage on the device.
  • Click 'Refresh' and select your microSD card in the drop down menu.
  • Click 'Load GoldCard.img' and open the .img file you got by email.
  • Click 'Patch MMC'
You now have a goldcard!

[Notes]
HTC Sync is required for drivers only
Android SDK is not required

[edit]
updated to fix error's in Vista

I keep getting "failed to get CID."

I formated the sd card, put it back in the phone (htc legend), rebooted my phone and connected it with pc using HTC sync and started program, without any succes...

any tips=

  • 1

#4
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

I keep getting "failed to get CID."

I formated the sd card, put it back in the phone (htc legend), rebooted my phone and connected it with pc using HTC sync and started program, without any succes...

any tips=

Is your device set as charge only when connected VIA USB or have you run Sync on the device?
It should be charge only.

I'll get a new version uploaded soon, that will show logging, help to get round these problems.

I've only been able to test this on my Hero so far.

[edit]
First post updated, lets see if we can fix this.

Edited by klutsh, 17 May 2010 - 11:37 PM.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#5
Gold_Bishop

Gold_Bishop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
First of all: Thanks for your tool!

It worked out fine until the last step. Then I recieved the following error message:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.MissingMethodException: Method not found: 'System.String System.Windows.Forms.OpenFileDialog.get_SafeFileName()'.
at ..œ(Object , EventArgs )
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINXP/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
GoldCardTool
Assembly Version: 0.0.3.0
Win32 Version: 0.0.3.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/DLZ/Android/GoldCardTool/GoldCardTool.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINXP/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINXP/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.42 (RTM.050727-4200)
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINXP/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
{3a1c36b8-596a-4d02-9e73-748c0230005b}
Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 0.0.3.0
CodeBase: file:///D:/DLZ/Android/GoldCardTool/GoldCardTool.exe
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Maybe you can help out what went wrong...

Thx
GB

  • 0

#6
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

First of all: Thanks for your tool!

It worked out fine until the last step. Then I recieved the following error message:
Maybe you can help out what went wrong...

Thx
GB


I can :)
Seems I used a property that requires .NET 3, oops, sorry.
I don't know why it allowed it to compile and run on my system, I should have seen that error too.
Uploading v0.0.4 now, with the property removed.

[edit]
Uploaded v0.0.4

Edited by klutsh, 18 May 2010 - 06:50 AM.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#7
homeroz

homeroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend

I can :)
Seems I used a property that requires .NET 3, oops, sorry.
I don't know why it allowed it to compile and run on my system, I should have seen that error too.
Uploading v0.0.4 now, with the property removed.

[edit]
Uploaded v0.0.4

Thanks for your effort but I still can't get it to work.
I formatted my sd card (the one that came with my legend), inserted it in the phone and restarted my phone (or did i needed to fastboot it?). Hooked up the usb cable, selected charging only and tried the CID. This was the message i got in the debugging log:

"Executing adb shell cat /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1/mmc1:*/cid
Reading adb output
------------------------
adb server is out of date. killing...
* daemon started successfully *
/sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1/mmc1:*/cid: No such file or directory

------------------------
Could not locate CID in output"



Am I doing something wrong?

Edited by homeroz, 18 May 2010 - 08:27 PM.

  • 0

#8
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

Thanks for your effort but I still can't get it to work.
I formatted my sd card (the one that came with my legend), inserted it in the phone and restarted my phone (or did i needed to fastboot it?). Hooked up the usb cable, selected charging only and tried the CID. This was the message i got in the debugging log:
Am I doing something wrong?

No your not, I've seen this error doing it by hand too, I'll add another search line to the adb command,
Your device is probably
/sys/class/mmc_host/mmc0/mmc0:*/cid

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#9
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
v0.0.5 uploaded.
You now have the option of selecting mmc1 or mmc0 as the location of the microSD's CID

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#10
wapsters

wapsters

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
does not work with Legend

  • 0

#11
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

does not work with Legend

Care to elaborate? I'd like to fix it so it does.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#12
homeroz

homeroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend

does not work with Legend

Created a gold card for my legend, rooting as i type...

Edit: Rooting worked, thanks!

Edited by homeroz, 19 May 2010 - 09:18 PM.

  • 0

#13
mebsk

mebsk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC desire
  • Twitter:@na
Hi, I have followed the instructions in post 1.

Connection type is charge only.

USB debugging is on.

In the Goldcard tool I get "Could not locate CID in output", both in MMC1 & MMC0.

Any help greatly appreciated, by the way i'm using XP.

  • 0

#14
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

Hi, I have followed the instructions in post 1.

Connection type is charge only.

USB debugging is on.

In the Goldcard tool I get "Could not locate CID in output", both in MMC1 & MMC0.

Any help greatly appreciated, by the way i'm using XP.

can you paste the text shown in the log window, also what device?

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#15
mebsk

mebsk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC desire
  • Twitter:@na

can you paste the text shown in the log window, also what device?


Log reads as follows:

Executing adb shell cat /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1/mmc1:*/cid
Reading adb output
------------------------
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
------------------------
Could not locate CID in output



Device is a HTC Desire

  • 0

#16
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

Log reads as follows:

Executing adb shell cat /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1/mmc1:*/cid
Reading adb output
------------------------
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
------------------------
Could not locate CID in output
Device is a HTC Desire

For some reason it's not picking up your Desire, I'll try to borrow a mates desire soon see if I can debug this more, currently I only have a Hero.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#17
Phantom20

Phantom20

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse
Works no problem on my HTC Desire
Thanks

  • 0

#18
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

Works no problem on my HTC Desire
Thanks

^ said mates desire :rolleyes:

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#19
Neekos

Neekos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire (T-Mobile UK)

^ said mates desire :D


Hi all.

Does anyone know how small and SD card can I use to create a goldcard. I have a spare 256MB card from my wife's phone lying around so I thought about using that, if possible. Any help appreciated. :rolleyes:

Thanks.

  • 0

#20
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
Any should work.
Your only patching Sector 0 of the microSD, no actual files go on the card.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users