Jump to content


Photo

How to dump system and boot from a standard device

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1
malez

malez

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid - Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@malez2000
I have written a full how to dump system and boot partition.
The goal is to keep your device as untouched as possible and to be able to provide the dump.

It is specially usefull if you have a new devices for wich we don't have the dump. So please dump you system if your are this one.

First of all i don't advice you to install lastest sdk because adb tools where updated for froyo and can have problems to access device. That's why i provide you an archive with adb in it.

I) Before device (preparing operation)
===========


1) install acer drivers : http://www.megaupload.com/?d=E5PTHL3O (reboot the computer to be sure they are isntalled)

2) download this archive (in next step i will call it superboot.zip)
http://acer-liquid-c...s/Superboot.zip

3) Extract the content of Superboot.zip to a directory, let's say c:\superboot.
4) Copy adb-windows.exe to adb.exe (copy not move) IMPORTANT. To be clear you can even rename adb-windows.exe to adb.exe or duplicate the adb-windows.exe file and rename the duplicate file to adb.exe

5) Download this archive http://www.4shared.c...Ib/mzTools.html
6) Extract the content of mzTools.zip in the same directory as the content of superboot.zip

7) Test can you can use adb :
7a) open a terminal emulator ( start / execute / cmd )
7b) move to the directory where you have stored tools using cd command (for exemple cd \superboot)
7c) adb devices -> should return "List of devices attached" and nothing more.
7d) you adb installation is ready


II) When you have the device (dumping)
================



1) Go in Settings / About Phone and note all informations provided
2) Go in Settings / Applications / Developement and enable USB debuging (without this will not be able to do nothing)
3) Connect the phone to usb


Connecting to the device


4a)open a terminal emulator ( start / execute / cmd ) From now : all operation must be done in the terminal emulator
4b) move to the directory where you have stored tools using cd command (for exemple cd \superboot)
4c) adb devices -> should return "List of devices attached" and a device with a number (that is your phone)

Dumping system content


5) adb root
5) adb push busybox /data/local/tmp/
6) adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/busybox
7) adb shell /data/local/tmp/busybox tar czvf /sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz /system

Dumping boot content (does not always work)

need to be completed to gain root access
8) adb root
8a) adb push dump_image /data/local/tmp/
9) adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/dump_image
10) adb shell /data/local/tmp/dump_image boot /sdcard/liquidEboot.img

Getting files


11) adb pull /sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz . (will take a long time)
12) adb pull /sdcard/liquidEboot.img .

Files will be in your superboot directory

Cleaning all traces of operation on your phone

13) adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/dump_image
14) adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/busybox
15) adb shell rm /sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz
16) adb shell rm /sdcard/liquidEboot.img

Disable usb debugging. You phone is the same as out of box.

Provide us
liquidEsystem.tgz and liquidEboot.img files

Edited by malez, 07 October 2010 - 06:52 AM.

  • 0
If you enjoy what i do, i would really apprecite that you place a little gift
Posted ImagePosted Image Follow me on twitter http://twitter.com/malez2000Posted Image

LCR-F(royo)
malez recovery 0.6.1

#2
mirox3m

mirox3m

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid >> Galaxy S
This needs to be a 'pinned topic'.

  • 0
Probably the first complete CAR PC in Europe http://goo.gl/hPUB

#3
nameless'

nameless'

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Barcelona
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Nice post, thanks :(

  • 0

#4
Edward.W

Edward.W

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
  • Location:Hong Kong
  • Interests:Computer Hardware, Gadgets, Phones, Cameras
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
  • Twitter:@edward315802
Important note for the New Devices(Liquid E/Stream) users...

I hope they can dump the system out and we can start our work on the dump :(

  • 0
Posted Image

#5
m4ss

m4ss

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid
yep, this one must be pinned. :(

c'mon acer liquid ferrari and liquidE, now no excuse for the dump ! :(

  • 0

#6
G_Technik

G_Technik

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Moscow Region
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E

4) Copy adb-windows.exe to adb.exe (copy not move) IMPORTANT

Do you mean rename or what?
I'm trying to translate this instruction to Russian and I'm not sure I understand it right.

  • 0
Acer Metal_3.021.01_t&l_Metal_2.3_test5

#7
jayziac

jayziac

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Devices:Liquid A1 (T&L GB .08 Froyo)
Rename will have 1 copy in the end (like move), copy will have original 'adb-windows.exe' and new 'adb.exe'

  • 0

#8
G_Technik

G_Technik

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Location:Moscow Region
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E

Rename will have 1 copy in the end (like move), copy will have original 'adb-windows.exe' and new 'adb.exe'

Thanks/
I understood that Ihave had 2 files.
I've got 1 more question
C:\Superboot>adb shell rm /sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz .
rm failed for ., Is a directory
Is it correct answer?

Russian Instuction/Инструкция на русском

Edited by G_Technik, 04 June 2010 - 05:02 PM.

  • 0
Acer Metal_3.021.01_t&l_Metal_2.3_test5

#9
jayziac

jayziac

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Devices:Liquid A1 (T&L GB .08 Froyo)
I think the intent is to remove '/sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz' afterwards. The extra '.' is where the error is from, not sure if it's really needed or a typo.

  • 0

#10
Pretoriano80

Pretoriano80

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
Maybe we will have an official 2.1 dump (Acer Liquid E) soon...check this --> http://forum.xda-dev...d...3803&page=3

  • 0

#11
bais

bais

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 700 posts
If you look at the baseband you notice it's older than the one we have.

We have: 04.02.XX, this have 04.01.01

  • 0

#12
HustlinDaily

HustlinDaily

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,025 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola Atrix & Acer Liquid
DAMN IT ACER

  • 0
Black AT&T Motorola Atrix 4G
ROM: DarkSide v4.5
RECOVERY: RomRacer CWM by RomRacer

White Acer Liquid A1
ROM: CM9 Alpha 31 by After_Silence, RomzesRover, ThePasto, Dario, Gly, Honor, Lens_Flare
BIN: 4.004.14.EMEA.GEN1
RECOVERY: Malez Recovery by Malez2000
MANY THANKS TO ALL OF YOU!!!

#13
Pretoriano80

Pretoriano80

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

If you look at the baseband you notice it's older than the one we have.

We have: 04.02.XX, this have 04.01.01


Yep,i've seen that but we can't jump to any conclusion until our developers get their hand on it.So far we can only see two different Baseband version but is hard to say wich on is older (not always newer =better).

Btw now that Acer is selling a product with Eclair on it they should release the source,right?

Edited by Pretoriano80, 09 June 2010 - 06:31 PM.

  • 0

#14
Seth Cold

Seth Cold

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 575 posts
  • Location:Medellin, Colombia
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S Captivate
  • Twitter:@coldonline
this is weird... build is acer_liquid_1.100.03_pa_rog

model id is liquid with no e

what the?

  • 0
Viva el DIM el poderoso!!
Follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/coldonline
IMPROVEMENTWEAR.COM

#15
Pretoriano80

Pretoriano80

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts

this is weird... build is acer_liquid_1.100.03_pa_rog

model id is liquid with no e

what the?


I guess they use the "Liquid E" just for the commercial brand....pointing out that is using Eclair.

  • 0

#16
malez

malez

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid - Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@malez2000

I think the intent is to remove '/sdcard/liquidEsystem.tgz' afterwards. The extra '.' is where the error is from, not sure if it's really needed or a typo.



Typo error, sorry. No dot needed

edited

  • 0
If you enjoy what i do, i would really apprecite that you place a little gift
Posted ImagePosted Image Follow me on twitter http://twitter.com/malez2000Posted Image

LCR-F(royo)
malez recovery 0.6.1

#17
malez

malez

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid - Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@malez2000
Changed path from /data to /data/local (to suit permissions)

  • 0
If you enjoy what i do, i would really apprecite that you place a little gift
Posted ImagePosted Image Follow me on twitter http://twitter.com/malez2000Posted Image

LCR-F(royo)
malez recovery 0.6.1

#18
jiego

jiego

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Devices:Acer A1

Changed path from /data to /data/local (to suit permissions)


we have the device, build is liquidE1.100.09-AAP_GEN2
when dump system 10) adb shell /data/local/dump_image boot /sdcard/liquidEboot.img
need root , <can't get info of partition boot:Permission denied>
how to do it

  • 0

#19
simoneser

simoneser

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 548 posts
Try to follow also this thread: http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=693803

:)

  • 0

#20
vanahaim

vanahaim

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
to jiego: Good news!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users