Jump to content


Photo

27/Jul r3b MG Custom Rom for pulse mini


  • Please log in to reply
172 replies to this topic

#21
m2te

m2te

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire; T-Mo Pulse Mini

I am getting intermittent conntection on wifi and 3g, and I cannot mount the SD card over the USB connection, but the general speed of the phone is far smoother than it ever was on the TMOB image.

Regarding the USB problem, any of you performed a wipe of the dalvik cache / data from with the custom recovery? I recently had a fully working rom then I ran the wipe, after that I couldn't mount the SD card.

The only way I have found to restore the SD Card mounting is to flash one of the stock roms from the Huawei web site.

I need to do more tests but not enough time at the moment.

  • 0

#22
Mental_Atom

Mental_Atom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Just flashed this and its awesome! Keep up the good work. Any upcoming features?

  • 0

#23
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
I'll add the boot.img from mike and see if a2sd is working then.
With it, I'll update launcher pro, maps, facebook to latest version.

And the theming will be updated...

that's it so far. I don't plan releasing more than.
Important is to have a stable rom wiht a nice UI and some useful apps.
And for the moment I don't see what it missing and general important...

gforums

  • 0

#24
Mental_Atom

Mental_Atom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

I'll add the boot.img from mike and see if a2sd is working then.
With it, I'll update launcher pro, maps, facebook to latest version.

And the theming will be updated...

that's it so far. I don't plan releasing more than.
Important is to have a stable rom wiht a nice UI and some useful apps.
And for the moment I don't see what it missing and general important...

gforums


just noticed, headphones dont appear to be working.

  • 0

#25
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
just tried mine. standard 3.5mm.
they are recognized and working...

  • 0

#26
Danh2122

Danh2122

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
can someone copy and upload everything that's on the Virtual CD drive when you plug in the phone via usb, can't seem to get then original ROM to flash properly.

Anybody know a way to remove the Clockwork Recovery to send it back the original recovery? OR A way to install the Stock ROM using Clockwork Recovery


UPDATE: Wait I've done it Yey :(

Edited by Danh2122, 25 July 2010 - 07:31 PM.

  • 0
Donate Via Paypal

Android Has Flash,
Android doesn't need to be plugged into a pc upon first use,
Android is Open Source,
Android is Free and Anywhere
Android has a cute little Mascot

#27
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,637 posts
Nice to see Pulse Mini development coming along fast. Thought I'd offer some info if it's at all useful

Are you using the old a2sd or the newer Darktremor A2SD? Personally I think the Darktremor version is a lot better and doesn't suffer from any issues like the old one did. This should work fine on the pulse mini but the kernel init.rc will need to be slightly edited so the part which calls busybox runparts is moved higher up (below the raccoon part).

Whilst you are in init.rc you can make some nice changes to the memory management to speed things up. Oh and remove the Superboot folder from the kernel ramdisk. Isn't needed any more.

A lot of the edits I made to the kernel init.rc were to speed things up a little on the big Pulse which doesn't have as much ram. As the mini pulse has more ram and a faster CPU the fixes should actually make it perform even better. And I'm fairly sure that JIT may even run for you guys properly.

If you want either add me on google talk or send me a PM about this. I can share my configs for the pulse kernel if you want something to base yours on. So far I've not seen much differences between the two kernels so Huawei are really lazy.

I still plan to buy a Pulse Mini for development one day :(

  • 0

#28
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
Is the Gallery App working for you on my latest rom?
I get FCs, don't know yet why.

  • 0

#29
Gjole86

Gjole86

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Devices:Pulse Mini with GM0d
FC here too

  • 0

#30
m2te

m2te

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire; T-Mo Pulse Mini

Nice to see Pulse Mini development coming along fast. Thought I'd offer some info if it's at all useful

Are you using the old a2sd or the newer Darktremor A2SD? Personally I think the Darktremor version is a lot better and doesn't suffer from any issues like the old one did. This should work fine on the pulse mini but the kernel init.rc will need to be slightly edited so the part which calls busybox runparts is moved higher up (below the raccoon part).

Whilst you are in init.rc you can make some nice changes to the memory management to speed things up. Oh and remove the Superboot folder from the kernel ramdisk. Isn't needed any more.

A lot of the edits I made to the kernel init.rc were to speed things up a little on the big Pulse which doesn't have as much ram. As the mini pulse has more ram and a faster CPU the fixes should actually make it perform even better. And I'm fairly sure that JIT may even run for you guys properly.

If you want either add me on google talk or send me a PM about this. I can share my configs for the pulse kernel if you want something to base yours on. So far I've not seen much differences between the two kernels so Huawei are really lazy.

I still plan to buy a Pulse Mini for development one day :(


I would be very interested for info on your kernel changes, I tried to download your latest pulse rom earlier to take a look but I couldn't download it for some reason. Good to know about the a2sd changes, I put the code right at the end of init.rc script. I'll change that for the next boot.img release.

Thanks,
Mike.

  • 0

#31
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
so this is your part, mike :(

like to see a working a2sd on the pulse mini!

  • 0

#32
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,637 posts

I would be very interested for info on your kernel changes, I tried to download your latest pulse rom earlier to take a look but I couldn't download it for some reason. Good to know about the a2sd changes, I put the code right at the end of init.rc script. I'll change that for the next boot.img release.

Thanks,
Mike.


It was a weird fix. Having the runparts at the end of the init.rc worked with the older a2sd but it caused Darktremor to sometimes not even work right. Moving it up the file allowed it to work correctly at all times. I don't see any reason why it won't work the same for the mini pulse.

Anyway my init.rc changes:
# Define the oom_adj values for the classes of processes that can be
# killed by the kernel.  These are used in ActivityManagerService.
	setprop ro.FOREGROUND_APP_ADJ 0
	setprop ro.VISIBLE_APP_ADJ 1
	setprop ro.SECONDARY_SERVER_ADJ 2
	setprop ro.BACKUP_APP_ADJ 2
	setprop ro.HOME_APP_ADJ 1
	setprop ro.HIDDEN_APP_MIN_ADJ 7
	setprop ro.CONTENT_PROVIDER_ADJ 14
	setprop ro.EMPTY_APP_ADJ 15

# Define the memory thresholds at which the above process classes will
# be killed.  These numbers are in pages (4k).
	setprop ro.FOREGROUND_APP_MEM 1536
	setprop ro.VISIBLE_APP_MEM 2048
	setprop ro.SECONDARY_SERVER_MEM 4096
	setprop ro.BACKUP_APP_MEM 4096
	setprop ro.HOME_APP_MEM 4096
	setprop ro.HIDDEN_APP_MEM 10240
	setprop ro.CONTENT_PROVIDER_MEM 12800
	setprop ro.EMPTY_APP_MEM 15360

# Write value must be consistent with the above properties.
# Note that the driver only supports 6 slots, so we have HOME_APP at the
# same memory level as services.
	write /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/adj 0,1,2,7,14,15

	write /proc/sys/vm/overcommit_memory 1
	write /proc/sys/vm/min_free_order_shift 4
	write /sys/module/lowmemorykiller/parameters/minfree 1536,2048,4096,10240,12800,15360

Those are tweaks to the memory management to keep most essentials services in memory for longer as well as provide a little speed boost. The values are based on the "moderate" settings in Autokiller app. 'setprop ro.HOME_APP_ADJ 1' is useful as this keeps the current launcher in ram at all times.

A2SD fixes:

You need to look for 'class_start default' and add two lines above it so it looks like
start userinit
	on property:cm.filesystem.ready=1
	class_start default

then move the userinit part from the bottom to below "service racoon"
service racoon /system/bin/racoon
	socket racoon stream 600 system system
	# racoon will setuid to vpn after getting necessary resources.
	group net_admin
	disabled
	oneshot
	
# Execute files in /etc/init.d before booting
service userinit /system/xbin/busybox run-parts /system/etc/init.d
	disabled
	oneshot

service mtpd /system/bin/mtpd
	socket mtpd stream 600 system system
	user vpn
	group vpn net_admin net_raw
	disabled
	oneshot

That will allow A2SD to work correctly.

then you just need to download Darktremor from http://www.darktremo...pf4a-signed.zip and extract the zip moving the files into the rom. Remember to remove all older a2sd files including the startup scripts.

These are only small changes which make a difference but the best thing is to get compiling the pulse mini kernel source and add compcache, swap and overclocking :(

and I still want to know how you edited Fancy Widget so it defaults to Celsius and alarm clock. APKtool wouldn't re-compile the apk for me :(

Edited by flibblesan, 26 July 2010 - 02:33 AM.

  • 0

#33
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null

and I still want to know how you edited Fancy Widget so it defaults to Celsius and alarm clock. APKtool wouldn't re-compile the apk for me sad.gif


oh well for sure apktool re-signes apks for me.
But in this case, I just included fancy widget settings from /data/data in the rom :(

  • 0

#34
pz8l8t

pz8l8t

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
hi guys. thanks for your work on the mini so far. if your going to be messing around with the kernel, can you see if you can get it to support netfilter (iptables), so it would be possible to use android-wifi-tether? I have problems with barnacle which means it doesn't work for me (see thread "barnacle wifi thether problems"). thanks in advance.

  • 0

#35
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
ok guys,
r3 is online!

Now with a2sd, a working gallery and improvements on the boot.img

  • 0

#36
fredfox_uk

fredfox_uk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Pulse Mini
Thanks for you help in getting my first Android flash to work :(

After the flash, all the settings for my Google account, Wi-Fi and unlock pattern are remembered ? How's that done given this is a flash of a new ROM and I'm using a new SD card ?

  • 0

#37
Gjole86

Gjole86

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Devices:Pulse Mini with GM0d

ok guys,
r3 is online!

Now with a2sd, a working gallery and improvements on the boot.img

downloading atm, flashing after dinner. expect deep review soon :(

  • 0

#38
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null

After the flash, all the settings for my Google account, Wi-Fi and unlock pattern are remembered ? How's that done given this is a flash of a new ROM and I'm using a new SD card ?


Well the rom doesn't overwrite the whole system. If you didn't "wipe data/factory reset" within the recovery, parts of the rom (Userdata) aren't deleted.
So if you don't have any problems with the rom, that's fine. Otherwise I recommand doing a wipe, but only when you encouter trouble.

downloading atm, flashing after dinner. expect deep review soon smile.gif


Enjoy your meal :-) I hope I can enjoy your review then ...lol

Edited by gforums, 26 July 2010 - 06:35 PM.

  • 0

#39
Mental_Atom

Mental_Atom

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
i know apps2sd is built in, so how do you use it? or am i just dumb

  • 0

#40
gforums

gforums

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:null
Just follow the step in the first post to create a second (ext2) partition on your sd card.
A2SD automatically moves your installed apps and their cache onto the ext2 partition from your sd card.
You can see it's working either when inserting your sd card on a linux system or by navigating with "root explorer" to /system/sd and see if there is a app and a app cache folder...

A2SD has no programm icon or any configuration options...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users