Jump to content


Photo

HD7 unlocked for $25 usd


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..
Found a site that listed the HD7 as unlockable, most don't mention it in their handset lists. Entered my IMEI, computer said yes, paid my $25 by paypal (about £16 ) and a whole 8 MINUTES later got my code emailed to me. Tested on t-mobile PAYG, handset works fine, even prompts to update operator settings.

http://www.HTCimeiUnlock.com/

no affiliation to me blah blah blah....

Hope this helps someone ;-)

M.S

  • 0

#2
agolding

agolding

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
I presume the o2 branding remains after the unlock?
not a massive problem, just wondered.

  • 0

#3
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

I presume the o2 branding remains after the unlock?
not a massive problem, just wondered.


Yeah but that's to be expected. This is just an 8 digit code unlock like a network would give you and doesn't reset or wipe the phone or load any software like the xda-dev hacks to unlock usually do. Not much branding on it anyway tbh.

M.S

  • 0

#4
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Good new for me then :P

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#5
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

I presume the o2 branding remains after the unlock?
not a massive problem, just wondered.

Yeah, there's a generic RUU floating around though, so a goldcard might let you flash it?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
The O2 branding is LITERALLY the boot screen only tho...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Probably due to the restrictions on the WP7 layout criteria, which is a good thing.

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#8
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

The O2 branding is LITERALLY the boot screen only tho...

P


And the dome o2 arena picture. And their blue theme. But the rom still has other operator settings in it ;-)

M.S

  • 0

#9
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

Yeah, there's a generic RUU floating around though, so a goldcard might let you flash it?

P


Got the generic rom - how's an SD goldcard gonna work with no micro SD access?

Back in the day I always thought of a goldcard to be a programmable sim not an SD, for use with satellite decoder boxes - has anyone started to develop a programmable test sim type goldcard?

M.s

  • 0

#10
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
No code available for my phone as yet, guess I'm in a waiting game for now.

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#11
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

No code available for my phone as yet, guess I'm in a waiting game for now.


Gutted. Got mine in 10 mins, as have others on xda-devs. They use a code sheet i.e not generated and may not have the updated codes yet. When you entered IMEI before paying did it say it was available?

M.S

Edited by Mysterious Stranger, 26 October 2010 - 08:47 AM.

  • 0

#12
Killian

Killian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts

No code available for my phone as yet, guess I'm in a waiting game for now.


Now that's what I didn't want to hear :P I'm going to be picking one up on Thursday and hoping to use my Tmob contract with it. If I can't get it unlocked how easy is it to return the phone? Will they take it back no questions asked or am I screwed?

  • 0

#13
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

Now that's what I didn't want to hear :P I'm going to be picking one up on Thursday and hoping to use my Tmob contract with it. If I can't get it unlocked how easy is it to return the phone? Will they take it back no questions asked or am I screwed?


They have to take it back no questions asked. Your refund may take a few days though dependant on cash or card. If cash you usually get a cheque theough the post. You never know, your hd7 may be on their list and available.

M.S

  • 0

#14
Killian

Killian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts

They have to take it back no questions asked. Your refund may take a few days though dependant on cash or card. If cash you usually get a cheque theough the post. You never know, your hd7 may be on their list and available.

M.S


That works for me. Need to make sure I can pick it up in a shop now though as I really don't want the hassle of messing around with posting things. If I do pick it up from a store quite a way away, does it need to be returned back to that store should I decide not to keep it or can you take it back to any o2 store?

  • 0

#15
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

That works for me. Need to make sure I can pick it up in a shop now though as I really don't want the hassle of messing around with posting things. If I do pick it up from a store quite a way away, does it need to be returned back to that store should I decide not to keep it or can you take it back to any o2 store?


Any o2 store would be fine to refund. TBH if you find one and can't unlock it I'd put it on eBay ;-)

M.S

  • 0

#16
ascito

ascito

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
  • Devices:HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@ascito
One question:
doest it support DLNA feature?
...onother one:
is there anybody that want to buy an O2 sim free for me?
THX in advance.

  • 0

#17
Bibbleq

Bibbleq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

And the dome o2 arena picture. And their blue theme. But the rom still has other operator settings in it ;-)

M.S


Its also the Yahoo search from pocket IE - that's the bit that annoys me most of all

Incidentally I got mine unlocked by sending the IMIE to O2 via a friends account. Got 3 replies saying they couldn't unlock it as the phone wasn't valid but then the 4th worked. I think it depends who answers the query at the other end.

  • 0

#18
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Still no code available for me :)

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#19
Killian

Killian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
I've just been sent mine from
http://www.unlocking SPAM link removed.co.uk/HTC/HD7/

Ordered last Thursday (when the phone arrived - ordered from 02.co.uk) but got an email saying not available and an 'agent' would get back to me. Heard back a while later saying they couldn't get the key but they would continue to check the IMEI every day until available and email me either way each day. Alternatively I could of had a refund but chose to leave it and see. Had an email everyday since and finally got my code today!

Would assume that means every other DB will be updated but not sure how it works plus it depends on when yours was manufactured. My handset only came last week but god only knows how long it was sat at the o2 warehouse.

Edited by Killian, 02 November 2010 - 01:16 PM.

  • 0

#20
Killian

Killian

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
However I'm posting the site its saying SPAM link removed..... hmm.

It's "mobile" "unlock" (...uk) if anyone wants to give it a go.

Edited by Killian, 02 November 2010 - 01:18 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users