Jump to content


Photo

Archos 501582 70 Internet Tablet

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#21
Paulo Nobrega

Paulo Nobrega

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 186 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@paulodanobrega

Paulo, eu também ando indeciso entre o Archos e o Advent mas onde podes comprar o Advent?

I


Pois. O problema é esse. Não vejo maneira de arranjar um advent para Portugal.
Well, that's the problem. I can't seem to find a way to buy an advent and send it to Portugal.


I was pretty excited about getting that archos. If u say its disappointing I'll have to think again. I already had decided to get a 10 inch instead of 7, but I'm not seeing many options at the market now.
That just made me comeback to point of start.

I read that on expansys there is tablet, POV, that looks like from the same oem manufacturer than the advent vega. Still, its 7' and not 10.

Damn. Was really into that archos 101. Damn asus is taking to long to give us one :-(

  • 0
HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy Nexus

#22
Carbonize

Carbonize

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, UK
  • Interests:(X)HTML, CSS, PHP, JavaScript, working out and reading.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade(CM7 N257+ KANG)
  • Twitter:@carbonize
Got my Archos 70 on Friday and am happy with it so far. It's still running Android 2.1 but Archos says the 2.2 update will be out this month. Mainly went with the Archos for the uPNP support as well as the wide range of video codecs preinstalled. Screen has been very responsive so far. Not tried anything OTT yet like a different launcher or side loading apps as am waiting for the Froyo update first.

  • 0
<strong class='bbc'>C a r b o n i z e</strong>

<strong class='bbc'><em class='bbc'>Do or do not, there is no try.</em> - Yoda</strong>

#23
martin1718

martin1718

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Got my Archos 70 on Friday and am happy with it so far. It's still running Android 2.1 but Archos says the 2.2 update will be out this month. Mainly went with the Archos for the uPNP support as well as the wide range of video codecs preinstalled. Screen has been very responsive so far. Not tried anything OTT yet like a different launcher or side loading apps as am waiting for the Froyo update first.

Has anyone got a list of Apps that are available when you click on Archos's Appslib?

Please post on here if you have.

thanks,

martin

  • 0

#24
Carbonize

Carbonize

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, UK
  • Interests:(X)HTML, CSS, PHP, JavaScript, working out and reading.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade(CM7 N257+ KANG)
  • Twitter:@carbonize
That would be a long list since AppsLib has hundreds of apps available.

Just visit http://appslib.com/a...ions/index.html

Edited by Carbonize, 23 November 2010 - 01:05 PM.

  • 0
<strong class='bbc'>C a r b o n i z e</strong>

<strong class='bbc'><em class='bbc'>Do or do not, there is no try.</em> - Yoda</strong>

#25
monkeydrufy

monkeydrufy

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Hi guys,
I've just ordered the 70 it 8gb

It will come with froyo 2.2? if not How can I install it?

thanks

  • 0

#26
Carbonize

Carbonize

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, UK
  • Interests:(X)HTML, CSS, PHP, JavaScript, working out and reading.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade(CM7 N257+ KANG)
  • Twitter:@carbonize
If it doesn't come with it you can just go to the built in firmware updater and it will update it's self.

  • 0
<strong class='bbc'>C a r b o n i z e</strong>

<strong class='bbc'><em class='bbc'>Do or do not, there is no try.</em> - Yoda</strong>

#27
niko1986

niko1986

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse

If it doesn't come with it you can just go to the built in firmware updater and it will update it's self.


How has Froyo improved the Archos? Almost time to choose whether to get this or the advent vega ;)

  • 0

#28
trishmac

trishmac

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:nr glasgow
  • Devices:HTC One ; Nexus 7 ; W8 lap :/
  • Twitter:@cairdeas4
Hmm..if I'd read these posts first I prob wouldn't have gone for my archos 70..I'm so glad I didn't because it's awesome! Very bright and responsive..everything works great! Had to download an app to get the market on but it installed easily even for a noob like me. Just waiting on my leather case to keep the little dude safe..and recommend it to all..so there! ;) :P

  • 0

#29
Bisto321

Bisto321

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Sorry, ignore my original post below. Its the 7 not the 70 the in store tickets show 70 not 7! and the website shows the 70 spec too. The resistive screen should have made me think. Doh!



If anyone is dithering about getting a 70 or not - Staples now have the 70 8Gb model for sale at £129, that is great value.

Archos probably want to get customers from the Advent baby tab and need to price match it to compete.

Just been playing with one in store, resistive is not for me anymore ;) , but it is a great spec mini tab at that price.


Edited by Bisto321, 05 December 2010 - 03:40 PM.

  • 0

#30
niko1986

niko1986

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse

Sorry, ignore my original post below. Its the 7 not the 70 the in store tickets show 70 not 7! and the website shows the 70 spec too. The resistive screen should have made me think. Doh!


http://www.staples.c...ternet-tablet-7

Is this link the one you were talking about. If they sent out a archos home 7, someone needs shooting for putting up the totally wrong specs, even the pdf shows capacative and 250gb hard drive ... bargain if those were the specs though.

  • 0

#31
Bisto321

Bisto321

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

http://www.staples.c...ternet-tablet-7

Is this link the one you were talking about. If they sent out a archos home 7, someone needs shooting for putting up the totally wrong specs, even the pdf shows capacative and 250gb hard drive ... bargain if those were the specs though.


Yes. The staples site specs are a bit messed up I think ;) The one I played with in store had a resistive screen - they do look very similar, but I am sure the 70 has got to be miles better than the 7 - hence the price difference.

The store tags show Archos70 though, so I will pop in tomorrow and let them know.

If by a miracle they are Archos70's for £129, how many do you think I should buy? :P

  • 0

#32
niko1986

niko1986

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse

Yes. The staples site specs are a bit messed up I think ;) The one I played with in store had a resistive screen - they do look very similar, but I am sure the 70 has got to be miles better than the 7 - hence the price difference.

The store tags show Archos70 though, so I will pop in tomorrow and let them know.

If by a miracle they are Archos70's for £129, how many do you think I should buy? :P


Seeing as pixmania is sold out and is selling them for about 160 i'd maybe get a spare and ebay it :P

  • 0

#33
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus

Seeing as pixmania is sold out and is selling them for about 160 i'd maybe get a spare and ebay it :(


Its hard to imagine how Archos could make this range any more confusing. The 70 looks to be the one to have - saw it in a store today and it seems great - even though the description says its 2.2 but settings say 2.1

Funnily enough the store had it marked as the 7 rather than the 70 - so the retailers ain't getting the range either.

From the short play the capacitance screen looks very good and the price is incredibly reasonable - lower than many phones. Not sure if it will support Flash - it will depend on whether the CPU is supported or not. Couldn't find the marketplace on there - so I guess its their own using a different icon that my eye didn't pick up on.

Aldiko is included - I read a couple of pages - that, at least, seems to work very well. Video didn't look all that good - I think the resolution is a bit low considering they are boasting about HD playback (720p). Seems a bit pointless on a 800*400 screen.

Certainly if you are looking at the likes of the Dell 5 inch then this one is a bargain at just under half the price.

  • 0

#34
Carbonize

Carbonize

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bristol, UK
  • Interests:(X)HTML, CSS, PHP, JavaScript, working out and reading.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade(CM7 N257+ KANG)
  • Twitter:@carbonize

The 70 looks to be the one to have - saw it in a store today and it seems great - even though the description says its 2.2 but settings say 2.1

The 2.2 update was released November 30th and a subsequent bug fix was released on December 16th. 2.2.1 to be precise.


Not sure if it will support Flash - it will depend on whether the CPU is supported or not.

It happily supports Flash but we are waiting on Adobe to certify the optimised version of Flash Archos has made for these devices.


Couldn't find the marketplace on there - so I guess its their own using a different icon that my eye didn't pick up on.

It comes with AppsLib which is Archos's own variation of marketplace. I believe Google will not allow marketplace on tablet devices at present as it was initially only designed for phones. You can put market on the Archos device though by simply downloading the APK that can be found out there.


Video didn't look all that good - I think the resolution is a bit low considering they are boasting about HD playback (720p). Seems a bit pointless on a 800*400 screen.

The HD support is mainly to show that you do not have to convert your movies to watch them on the tablet. Also it has HDMI out so you can put your HD movies on there and watch them through the TV.

  • 0
<strong class='bbc'>C a r b o n i z e</strong>

<strong class='bbc'><em class='bbc'>Do or do not, there is no try.</em> - Yoda</strong>




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users