installing stock 1.04 firmaware

Guest jonaldhinio

Guest jonaldhinio

Hi All,

I am new to this having just purchased and recieving my advent vega,right I will get to the point I am trying to upgrade to the 1.04 firmware I have downloaded it and followed the instructions but I must be missing something here.

I follow the advent vega update e.g press home button then press settings/software tool then software update,then tap download folder it then says tap on button shown below e.g

/sdcard/softwareupdate.

when I do this the update is not there???

Does this mean I already have 1.04? or where do i find out what firmware I have?

I want to install this as I want to install the custom rom from this site

to be honest I have no hope especially if I can't even install the 1.04 update!!!

If I go in to ifiles I can see the download but when I follow the instructions above I can not.

I would appreciate all help on this I learn quickly once I have been shown.

regards

jon

Guest trevor432990

Welcome Jon ... As a noob too I found it is hard to know quite what to do but you have come to the right place because everyone here will provide you with all the information you need to get going. The instructions you need to be following are set-out in Pauls posting at top of forum starting "30/Nov r4" which will install v1.04 + other features Post Location

You can find out what firmware by clicking SETTINGS > ABOUT DEVICE and at the bottom of the screen you will see Kernel Version and hidden in the string returned after the character 'v' is your current version of software.

What OS are you running on your desktop PC? There are a few other things to beware of during the update involving USB drivers etc and all we noobs would benefit from a guide written for people new to Android I think.

Anyway see how you get on and if you get stuck come back and update us and we'll try and help. ;)

Guest dazzawright