Jump to content


Photo

Secret Dialler Codes!

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts
Note: I'm not responsible for what might happen on your phone if you choose to dial any of these!

These are the codes that work on the standard phone dialler app on the Orange San Francisco, but I'm pretty sure they'll be almost identical on other models that we collectively know as "ZTE Blade". Known small differences (in texts) are down to whether the firmware expects to be running on an OLED or TFT display, and whether you've deleted seemingly unused apps like ChiperTest.apk, fcctest.apk and QcNvTest.apk. Most are prefixed with "*983*", which is "*ZTE*" in phone letters -- I've added a mnemonic for the other part where I think it's obvious (feel free to suggest better ones!).

"Automatic Inspection" runs through the basic tests automatically (usually you need press a button to move on to the next bit -- don't get thrown by any blank colour test screens!). There are a number of interesting items for developers, with hardware info and other goodies. If any of the descriptions don't make the function obvious then it's either poorly written or I don't know exactly what it does (I'll happily update this if others can explain better).

If the code has been recognised by the dialler then it will react immediately when you enter the final "#". If nothing happens when you've done that, don't press Dial!

Edit: on the ROMs based on the Japanese 2.2 you need to put the phone into "Engineering Mode" first, by dialling *ZTE*OPENEM# (*983*673636#) -- this action will be confirmed by a quick pop-up. To close this mode, dial *ZTE*CLOSEEM# (*983*2567336#) -- this then prompts whether you want to do a Factory Reset, which you do not have to do (you can simply Back away from this screen).


Dial Mnemonic Operation
*983*0# Menu (20:Battery/OLED/Back Light/Vibrator/Ringer/LED/Key/OLED off/SD/BT address/Radio Info/Memory/TouchPaint Test/Audio Loop/FM/Camera/GPS Test/IMEI/IMSI)
*983*3640*01# IMSI
*983*25# Battery Info
*983*31# OLED Test
*983*26# Backlight Test
*983*850# Radio Test 0
*983*86# Vibrator & LED Test
*983*84# Ringer Test
*983*07*01# Headset Test
*983*07*02# Key Test
*983*3470# LCD Test
*983*81# SD Test
*983*890# -
*983*26*# Radio Test 1
*#06# IMEI
*983*27274# CRASH Reboot
*#08# Test Flag [Note: requires QcNvTest.apk in /system/app]
*#09***# BT Test
*983*1275# _ASK Dev Info
*983*7# Menu (4:Version/IMEI/IMSI/BT address)
*983*3640# DOH+ Phone Info (inc ping test, radio on/off)
*983*636# MEM Memory Test
*983*28# BT Emode BT Test
*983*477# GPS GPS Test
*983*21# Audio Loop Test
*983*70# Automatic Inspection
*#18# LED Test
*#19# TouchPaint Test
*983*36# FM FM Test
*983*57# Factory Reset
*983*473# Camera
*#23# Video Camera
*983*10# Delete (Touchscreeen) Calibration File
*#25# FM Test
*983*2726# SIM Contacts Op 1
*983*37# SIM Contacts Op 2
*983*6726# SIM Contacts Op 3
*983*154# "test" Menu (12:Self-starting/Software Version/Hardware Version/PSN/Test Flag/[Completed]/Board Serial/Bluetooth Address/SMS security/SMS Registration Status/Flash Type/PRL Version/Serial Configuration)
*983*07# Menu (9:OLED/Ringer/Vibrator/Key Test/Audio Loop/Headset Test/FM/Camera/SD)
*983*5182# Dev Info
*983*7469# SHOW Automatic Inspection
*#26***# Sensor Test
*983*7936# QXDM Save Qxdm in log system
*987*0# Menu (4:Produce Information[->"test" Menu]/Automatic Inspection/Factory data reset/Battery information)
*#27***# Compass Test
*983*87274# USBSI USB Switch Test
*983*06# BT Test
*983*564738# LOGSET LOG Set (inc sys_rw)
*983*93# FCC Test [Note: requires fcctest.apk in /system/app]
*983*2377# CFQP Call Forwarding Query with PowerOn
*983*24474636# CHIPINFO Chiper Test (chip info) [Note: requires ChiperTest.apk in /system/app]
*983*29873283# AXUPDATE Touchscreen Updater
*983*73564# SDLOG SD Log


Note: the above are for the standard ROM (well, apps) running 2.1. The current Froyo ROM (with standard dialler, etc.) does not have the Touchscreen Updater, but adds:

Dial Operation
*987*123456# DM Test

Edited by Arr Too, 03 January 2011 - 06:56 PM.

  • 1

#2
Lew247

Lew247

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 830 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
  • Devices:Galaxy S3
nice one - works well
shame there's no netmonitor built in like Nokia's have.

Edited by Lew247, 11 December 2010 - 06:23 PM.

  • 0

#3
factro

factro

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
It does not work in my SF, I am running froyo beta 2.2 and it gives msg like " Conncetion Problem or invalid MMI code". ?

  • 0

#4
fryguyse

fryguyse

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:SF Blade
The dialer codes works fine for me (OSF with FroYo)

Just noticed (maybe someone already did) on the FroYo g2(?) ROM that if you start the radio, go to the dialer and press a number etc. the radio continues to play for a few seconds and then dies again, this can be repeated.

Edited by fryguyse, 11 December 2010 - 08:51 PM.

  • 0

#5
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

It does not work in my SF, I am running froyo beta 2.2 and it gives msg like " Conncetion Problem or invalid MMI code". ?

I've just tried the latest Froyo ROM and there's just one difference (now noted in the first post). Which specific codes give you a problem? Are you sure you're using the stock dialler? And haven't removed too many other "unused" stock apps?

  • 0

#6
markusj

markusj

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Budapest
  • Devices:ZTE Blade [TFT]
  • Twitter:@aresius_
If I try CHIPINFO, com.android.phone stops, and I have to force close it.
Hungarian Blade, TFT, 256Mb RAM, Finnish Fillyjonk RLS2

  • 0

#7
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

If I try CHIPINFO, com.android.phone stops, and I have to force close it.
Hungarian Blade, TFT, 256Mb RAM, Finnish Fillyjonk RLS2

As stated in the first post, if you (or the ROM builder) have deleted ChiperTest.apk then that code will fail since it's not unexpecting that to be missing. I'll update the table to make this clearer.

  • 0

#8
m_w_clarke

m_w_clarke

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i300
Worth a sticky I reckon.
Very useful - if you are careful with them.

  • 0

#9
Mike_P

Mike_P

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Finally some codes that actually work, seen some so called universal android codes before that never seemed to work, cheers.

  • 0

#10
Stryke69

Stryke69

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x (CM7 190)
Nice, especially the "OLED Test" and the "LCD test" for those you recently got their SF and can't tell which display they have.
I own a SF with an OLED display and the "LCD test" won't run for me (just have a black screen for about a second and then the dialer again, the OLED test gives me some nice colored screens :))

  • 0

#11
That-Guy

That-Guy

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,113 posts
Nice thanks for sharing :)

  • 0

Huawei U8800 / Ideos X5 - Rooted & Unlocked
Recovery: ClockworkMod Recovery 5.5.0.4 | Rom: Android 2.3.5 - Official Huawei Final Release
Kernel: 2.6.35.7 (un-modified) | Partitions: Stock Partition Layout

....:::: Ultimate Guide to the Huawei U8800 ::::....
Rooting | Custom ROMs | ClockworkMod | Themes | Other Hacks & Tweaks

[U8800] [How To] Root, Install ClockworkMod + Remove Bundled Apps from Official 2.3.5

Posted Image

WEBSITE - TWITTER - GOOGLE+ - BLOG


#12
diggerbycroft18

diggerbycroft18

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Is there a code to change the default power button to shut down straight away without having to confirm the option ? there is one for the desire and would be handy for the blade

Edited by diggerbycroft18, 11 December 2010 - 08:46 PM.

  • 0

#13
_Carl_

_Carl_

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange Monte Carlo (ZTE Skate)

Nice, especially the "OLED Test" and the "LCD test" for those you recently got their SF and can't tell which display they have.
I own a SF with an OLED display and the "LCD test" won't run for me (just have a black screen for about a second and then the dialer again, the OLED test gives me some nice colored screens :))


both of those tests run on my SF... so what does that mean :)

  • 0

#14
Viper9lp

Viper9lp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

both of those tests run on my SF... so what does that mean :)


im not sure what type of display i have, but with my phone i can only run the OLED -*983*31#- test..... but in the menu overview its called "LCD"?!?!?
the LCD test -*983*3470#- only shows a short black screen.....

  • 0

#15
wakaru

wakaru

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Yorkshire
  • Devices:OLED Orange San Francisco
  • Twitter:@jesusg
Brilliant info! Pretty good and simple way to verify that the relevant hardware in the phone is working. :)

  • 0

#16
abbas_sheikh

abbas_sheikh

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
See attachments, 2nd menu option says OLED in 1st device and 2nd one says LCD.
Attached File  LED_Device.png   21.96KB   107 downloads Attached File  TFT_Device.png   21.44KB   91 downloads

Also towards bottom of screen capture one says OLED off and 2nd one says LCD off.

  • 0

#17
factro

factro

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I've just tried the latest Froyo ROM and there's just one difference (now noted in the first post). Which specific codes give you a problem? Are you sure you're using the stock dialler? And haven't removed too many other "unused" stock apps?

I am using dialer one..but it will rise any problem cause its only the interface..ya...soo?? or does it give a problem??
i am using froyo beta 2.2

  • 0

#18
trishmac

trishmac

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:nr glasgow
  • Devices:HTC One ; Nexus 7 ; W8 lap :/
  • Twitter:@cairdeas4
Thanks for sharing..deffo a sticky for this :)

  • 0

#19
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

I am using dialer one..

Well, I did clearly state in the first post that you need the standard dialler, and they are special codes from ZTE, so I don't know why you'd think another dialler would work. :)

  • 0

#20
5c00ter

5c00ter

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@5c00ter

See attachments, 2nd menu option says OLED in 1st device and 2nd one says LCD.
Attached File  LED_Device.png   21.96KB   107 downloads Attached File  TFT_Device.png   21.44KB   91 downloads

Also towards bottom of screen capture one says OLED off and 2nd one says LCD off.


Interestingly, the test menu on my blade, gives me LCD test with OLED off at the bottom. My model is the B08. If I use the *983*31# code for OLED the RGB colour test works. If I try using the *983*3470# test for LCD screen, blackout for a second before display returns.

The big question is: do I have OLED or LCD(TFT) ?

Confused... :)

  • 0




5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users