Jump to content


Photo

RS232 on the Blade

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10
This is of no use to most users, but it may be useful for some developers for debugging.

There is a 6 pad debug interface on the back of the blade.
The pin out for rs232 is below.
1=closest to SD slot.
1 2
3 4
5 6

Where
3 = TX 2.8V
5 = RX 2.8V
6 = GND

I will try to get some sort of connector working tomorrow and take some photos. The serial port is disabled in the kernel by default, so a kernel needs to be compiled to use it (or the kernel in my latest gingerbread rom has it enabled).

More info to come...

Edit. Updated pin out.
Edit. Now with pics.

=========================


This is my setup. There are many ways this could be done, this is only one example.

What you will need
Soldering iron. You want something with a fairly small tip.
A little bit of solder
Flux
Wire. I used 30ag. You want something small and try to keep it short.
Hot melt glue gun. This is optional, but these things are great for modding hardware.

3.3V RS232 adapter. I used the FT232R board below. They are available from sparkfun.com. There are many other solutions for this. If you want to do it really cheap a MAX232 should work.
Do not hook the phone up directly to a PC RS232 port. PC ports us higher voltage and may seriously damage your phone.
Attached File  ft232r_small.JPG   135.15KB   169 downloads


The points to connect
Attached File  back2_small.JPG   263.13KB   169 downloads

Attached File  back1_small.JPG   89.25KB   183 downloads

GND = Green
RX = Blue
TX = Red
PHONE  <-> RS232 adapter
GND	 -	  GND
RX	  -	  TX
TX	  -	  RX

Soldering
Use some flux on the area to be soldered.
Put a little solder on the points before trying to attach the wires.
Attached File  prep1_small.JPG   105.63KB   128 downloads

When you solder the wires on have them running toward the sd card side of the phone. I initially soldered them facing towards the sim card and then found I couldnt easily put a card in.

I didn't get any decent photos of it soldered once complete, so here is one with GND connect to the worng point. DONT do it this way.
Attached File  solder_wrong_small.JPG   104.39KB   160 downloads

Once its all done use a bit of glue to hold the wires in place.
Attached File  finished_small.JPG   123.88KB   172 downloads

Edited by Tom G, 19 December 2010 - 01:56 PM.

  • 0

#2
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Interesting - what are your plans for use with the serial port?

  • 0

#3
That-Guy

That-Guy

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,113 posts
Sounds interesting, gonna keep an eye on this thread :)

  • 0

Huawei U8800 / Ideos X5 - Rooted & Unlocked
Recovery: ClockworkMod Recovery 5.5.0.4 | Rom: Android 2.3.5 - Official Huawei Final Release
Kernel: 2.6.35.7 (un-modified) | Partitions: Stock Partition Layout

....:::: Ultimate Guide to the Huawei U8800 ::::....
Rooting | Custom ROMs | ClockworkMod | Themes | Other Hacks & Tweaks

[U8800] [How To] Root, Install ClockworkMod + Remove Bundled Apps from Official 2.3.5

Posted Image

WEBSITE - TWITTER - GOOGLE+ - BLOG


#4
El Nino9

El Nino9

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 171 posts

Interesting - what are your plans for use with the serial port?


mainly debugging as mentioned :) lol but im sure this can/may/will lead to jtag of some sort to revive a dead phone

use my Arduino Mega 2560 with it and this application

originally used this for the G1

http://hackaday.com/...ial-to-arduino/

wonder what the default baud rate is, 9600bps?

  • 0

#5
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
I had noticed that . I assumed it was a jtag... odd that its rs232 tho... I thought Steve Jobs had killed that along with the Floppy and VGA years ago..


:0

Edited by Sebastian404, 12 December 2010 - 05:05 PM.

  • 0

#6
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I had noticed that . I assumed it was a jtag... odd that its rs232 tho... I thought Steve Jobs had killed that along with the Floppy and VGA years ago..
:0


Its not dead - I had to use Rs232 to flash a Humax PVR only 1 month ago

  • 0

#7
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Its not dead - I had to use Rs232 to flash a Humax PVR only 1 month ago


There was a certain amount of irony in my post, but yeah its not quite dead, however I've spoken to loads of engineers who are never happy about the lack of it in new laptops..

My company issued laptop is a macbook pro, but since I have to mess about with devices that have RS232 I also have a Dell Latitude that I'm suppose to drag around with me when I'm in 'the field'...

Tho the way my company works is you get a personal IT budget and you can do what you want with it, I could trade in my macbook and get a desktop, or visa versa, or trade it all in for a box of iphones... unfortunately I cant cash it in and buy a trip to Hawaii :)

  • 0

#8
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

There was a certain amount of irony in my post, but yeah its not quite dead, however I've spoken to loads of engineers who are never happy about the lack of it in new laptops..

My company issued laptop is a macbook pro, but since I have to mess about with devices that have RS232 I also have a Dell Latitude that I'm suppose to drag around with me when I'm in 'the field'...

Tho the way my company works is you get a personal IT budget and you can do what you want with it, I could trade in my macbook and get a desktop, or visa versa, or trade it all in for a box of iphones... unfortunately I cant cash it in and buy a trip to Hawaii :)


Yeh, Work got me a Quadcore mac book pro with the shiny reflective screen. Any other laptop would have been better. However I needed OSX so I could do iPhone development - I do mostly boot into Ubuntu on it - just the touchpad is stupid sensitive.

I have a USB to serial converter to give me Rs232 when I need it.

Edited by StevenHarperUK, 12 December 2010 - 07:46 PM.

  • 0

#9
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

I have a USB to serial converter to give me Rs232 when I need it.


I've been working with a bunch of Nokia Engineers of late, and they claim that those USB to Serial don't work with lots of the more exotic equipment out there.. specially in the telecoms world..

  • 0

#10
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I've been working with a bunch of Nokia Engineers of late, and they claim that those USB to Serial don't work with lots of the more exotic equipment out there.. specially in the telecoms world..


You are right, about 50% of the time the trusty old creaking laptop comes out :)

  • 0

#11
jonep

jonep

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE

I've been working with a bunch of Nokia Engineers of late, and they claim that those USB to Serial don't work with lots of the more exotic equipment out there.. specially in the telecoms world..


Agreed.

I work with lots of kit that defaults to RS232 and those USB to Serial just don't work which mean I have to lump a Dell D620 around with on board serial when I would much prefer to carry a netbook for for term sessions.

  • 0

#12
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10
I've updated the pin out. I don't know what 2 is, but it isn't GND (or atleast not the one we want). With 2 connected to GND on the rs232 the power led flashes red and it doesn't boot.

I couldn't find anything that would work reliably as a connector, so I soldered it. It wasn't as hard as I expected but I wouldn't recommend trying if you haven't done a bit of soldering before. Obviously soldering a port onto the back of the phone limits its portability, mine hasn't been out of the house since I got it so it won't be a problem for me, but it probably isn't an option for most people. I'll put up a bit of a guide later with photo.

  • 0

#13
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10

Agreed.

I work with lots of kit that defaults to RS232 and those USB to Serial just don't work which mean I have to lump a Dell D620 around with on board serial when I would much prefer to carry a netbook for for term sessions.

Maybe your using the wrong software or hardware. The FT232R usb-to-serial converters work well with most unix terminal emulators. I'm using an FT232R board from sparkfun.com with minicom.

  • 0

#14
eekcage

eekcage

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:qtek8080(party phone)ZTE Blade
Hi all,

Guess I can come out of hiding after many hours browsing here.

2.8v seems odd for serial. I'd expect 3.3v TTL as obviously its not going to be true negative RS232 voltages. Are you probe/scoping it? I'd expect a strange voltage if using a multimeter and the blades churning out data.

How would I go about using the port? is it a hardware port that can be seen from a terminal app or mucking around in the blades shell type thingermagijjer (that i'm still learning)?, Thanks if anybody knows. I've got large electronics knowledge and would like to mess around with this area of phones, previously using bluetooth IC's scrounged from work on projects but prefer cables and wires to have fun.

How about this.. a 2 wheeled balancing robot using the phones accelerometers and compass (possibly removing the need for a gyro) ok It can be done over BT or TCP stack but again thats no fun. Ok i stop dribbling ideas on this keyboard and probe the pads this evening after some reading and voiding of the magic stickers. mmmm strike through

Oh Tom G is that FT232R a FTDI chip? I've been trying to get my hands on one for ages now. Does anyone know if the blades usb port can host?

Cheers

  • 0

#15
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10

Hi all,

Guess I can come out of hiding after many hours browsing here.

2.8v seems odd for serial. I'd expect 3.3v TTL as obviously its not going to be true negative RS232 voltages. Are you probe/scoping it? I'd expect a strange voltage if using a multimeter and the blades churning out data.

How would I go about using the port? is it a hardware port that can be seen from a terminal app or mucking around in the blades shell type thingermagijjer (that i'm still learning)?, Thanks if anybody knows. I've got large electronics knowledge and would like to mess around with this area of phones, previously using bluetooth IC's scrounged from work on projects but prefer cables and wires to have fun.

How about this.. a 2 wheeled balancing robot using the phones accelerometers and compass (possibly removing the need for a gyro) ok It can be done over BT or TCP stack but again thats no fun. Ok i stop dribbling ideas on this keyboard and probe the pads this evening after some reading and voiding of the magic stickers. mmmm strike through

Oh Tom G is that FT232R a FTDI chip? I've been trying to get my hands on one for ages now. Does anyone know if the blades usb port can host?

Cheers


It is an FTDI chip. The pulse and G1 also output 2.8V, but it works fine with a 3.3V TTL. The reading was from a multimeter, you should get a steady 2.8V even when its not sending.
My main plans for it is as a hardware console. You can use it as an interactive console or you can redirect kernel output to it with "console=ttyMSM2,115200n8" on the kernel command line. It should help with kernel dev as you can get a console without usb working plus it starts much earlier than adb.

I've been playing with it a bit more. The bootloader outputs data at 115200,8N1 but it looks like minicom is having trouble with it (i think because there are no new lines characters).
Fastboot mode also outputs at 115200,8n1
fastboot getvar version
version: 0.5
finished. total time: 0.000s
results in
fastboot: getvar:version
on the rs232.

I can't find a way to configure minicom to do what I want with the bootloader so I will try some other terminals.

Edited by Tom G, 13 December 2010 - 08:42 AM.

  • 0

#16
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10
Boot loader output :)
This is interesting. Check out the partition table.

^@^@welcome to lk

calling constructors
initializing heap
initializing threads
initializing dpc
initializing timers
creating bootstrap completion thread
top of bootstrap2()
initializing flash
nandcfg: 0 0 (initial)
nandcfg(Apps): a85408c0 4745e (used)
nandcfg(Modem): aa5400c0 4745e (used)
initializing platform
platform_init()
flash_read_image: success (0 errors)
[hp@lcd&fb]:lcd module init exit
!^@initializing target
target_init()
0: 0:MIBIB offs=0x00000000 size=0x0000000a attr: 0x00ffffff
1: 0:QCSBL offs=0x0000000a size=0x00000002 attr: 0x00ffffff
2: 0:OEMSBL1 offs=0x0000000c size=0x00000005 attr: 0x00ffffff
3: 0:OEMSBL2 offs=0x00000011 size=0x00000005 attr: 0x00ffffff
4: 0:AMSS offs=0x00000016 size=0x000000d4 attr: 0x00ffffff
5: 0:APPSBL offs=0x000000ea size=0x00000003 attr: 0x00ffffff
6: 0:FOTA offs=0x000000ed size=0x00000002 attr: 0x00ffffff
7: 0:EFS2 offs=0x000000ef size=0x00000060 attr: 0x00ffffff
8: 0:APPS offs=0x0000014f size=0x00000002 attr: 0x00ffffff
9: 0:FTL offs=0x00000151 size=0x00000005 attr: 0x00ff0101
10: 0:EFS2APPS offs=0x00000156 size=0xffffffff attr: 0x00ffffff
smem ptable found: ver: 3 len: 11
ptn 0 name='recovery' start=00000156 len=00000024 flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 1 name='boot' start=0000017a len=00000024 flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 2 name='splash' start=0000019e len=0000000c flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 3 name='misc' start=000001aa len=00000003 flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 4 name='cache' start=000001ad len=0000014a flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 5 name='system' start=000002f7 len=0000067c flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 6 name='userdata' start=00000973 len=00000681 flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 7 name='persist' start=00000ff4 len=0000000c flags=00000000 type=Apps Writable=Yes
ptn 8 name='MIBIB' start=00000000 len=0000000a flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 9 name='QCSBL' start=0000000a len=00000002 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 10 name='OEMSBL1' start=0000000c len=00000005 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 11 name='OEMSBL2' start=00000011 len=00000005 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 12 name='AMSS' start=00000016 len=000000d4 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 13 name='APPSBL' start=000000ea len=00000003 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 14 name='FOTA' start=000000ed len=00000002 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 15 name='EFS2' start=000000ef len=00000060 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 16 name='APPS' start=0000014f len=00000002 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 17 name='FTL' start=00000151 len=00000005 flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
ptn 18 name='EFS2APPS' start=00000156 len=ffffffff flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
calling apps_init()
[ZYF.BOOT] FTM NV = 2
jiangfeng: g_boot_key_exit_ftm = 0, first time
flash_read_image: success (0 errors)
flash_read_image: success (0 errors)
flash_read_image: success (0 errors)

kernel  @ 2a08000 (3479148 bytes)
ramdisk @ 3a00000 (232612 bytes)
cmdline = 'no_console_suspend=1 console=ttyMSM2,115200n8 androidboot.hardware=blade'

Booting Linux
booting linux @ 0x2a08000, ramdisk @ 0x3a00000 (232612)
cmdline: no_console_suspend=1 console=ttyMSM2,115200n8 androidboot.hardware=blade

  • 0

#17
eekcage

eekcage

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:qtek8080(party phone)ZTE Blade
Fantastic baud rate info, Thankyou

I'll fish out the logic probes sometime this week. The probe Xapplication has a nice array of conversions and scripting opportunity and one TX line that'll become useful in the future. I wont try using a serial port yet as all my non-dead max232's are SMD. Keep up the great work!



___


Posted before i see your last. I'm not so hot on what i'm looking at yet but is it
10: 0:EFS2APPS offs=0x00000156 size=0xffffffff attr: 0x00ffffff
the odd one out :) ?

Edited by eekcage, 13 December 2010 - 09:23 AM.

  • 0

#18
BigBearMDC

BigBearMDC

    MOD - Mode ;)

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,933 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carinthia, Austria
  • Interests:I'm interested in µC's, programming, physics and astrophysics :)
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy SII
  • Twitter:@BigBearMDC
What's that?

...
ptn 18 name='EFS2APPS' start=00000156 len=ffffffff flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
...
The length seems strange?

[Hell I want to get developing again. Damn school is just too time consuming :) ]

  • 0
Visit our git repos [2.6.32 porting project, FroYo vendor config]Got a question? No problem, write me an email :)

If you like what I'm doing, help me buying an Orange San Francisco Posted Image
Posted Image
Donors:
  • Niels Heeren, David Dawkins, Mark Leman, James Baker, Heinz Peter Hippenstiel, KenBW2, flibblesan, GraviticVortex, bear807, TDK29

look for the Posted Image


#19
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10

What's that?

...
ptn 18 name='EFS2APPS' start=00000156 len=ffffffff flags=00000000 type=Modem Writable=Yes
...
The length seems strange?

[Hell I want to get developing again. Damn school is just too time consuming :) ]


I noticed that one and it does look strange.

Just FYI. I tried booting an unmodifed codeaurora 2.6.35 kernel and it reboots after the "cmdline:" statement so it doesn't like that at all. On the pulse unmodified codeaurora code will boot (for 2.6.32, I never tried 2.6.35).

  • 0

#20
Tom G

Tom G

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia
  • Devices:2X Blade U8220 V9 Vega X10
Updated the first post with some photos and instructions.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users