Jump to content


Photo

Vega Bootscreens


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#1
JordanT92

JordanT92

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Anybody care to share some bootscreens we can replace the ADVENT logo with?

The screen resolution is 1024x600.

How to replace your bootlogo:
Create and save your bootscreen as a PNG (if it is smaller than 1024x600, your bootscreen will be centered, transparency will result in the ANDROID boot glare effect)

1. Connect your Vega to your PC's usb.
2. Turn USB Debugging on in the Applications menu.
3. In command prompt / terminal, browse to the directory containing adb-windows.exe (included in Paul's MCR mod), type:
adb-windows pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk /framework-res.apk
This will grab framework-res.apk from your Vega and save it in the directory adb.exe is located.
4. Open framework-res.apk in WinRAR or similar and browse to /assets/images/
5. Replace android-logo-mask.png with your bootscreen and save the apk in the same format, overwriting the original.
6. In your already open command prompt / terminal window type:
adb-windows remount
adb-windows shell rm /system/framework/framework-res.apk
adb-windows push framework-res.apk /system/framework/
7. Reboot your Vega.

My current bootscreen:
Posted Image

If you want to make your new framework-res.apk smaller, you could delete the following files from /res/drawable/:
nvidia_wallpaper01.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper02.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper03.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper04.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper05.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper06.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper07.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual01.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual02.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual03.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual04.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual05.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual06.jpg
nvidia_wallpaper_dual07.jpg

As far as I can tell, it doesn't mess with the system at all.

Edited by JordanT92, 17 December 2010 - 10:30 PM.

  • 0

#2
T4ylor

T4ylor

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Location:Derbyshire
  • Devices:iphone, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ro8taylor
Thanks for the nicely explained instruction and I do like the idea if changing so i might have a look at what i can change it to if I think iam brave enough.

  • 0

#3
JordanT92

JordanT92

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Oh yeh, be careful to ensure you have enough space in the NAND, because if you don't, it won't copy, the original framework-res.apk will be screwed, ADB will stop and no programs will open, then you'll get a black screen when rebooting and will have to flash a stock rom. But you shouldn't really have many problems..

  • 0

#4
debs626

debs626

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Devices:SanFran, iPad v1
  • Twitter:@Debs626

Posted Image


I'm not too fussed about changing the boot screen but I have just saved your image as my wallpaper :) ty

Edited by debs626, 17 December 2010 - 10:17 PM.

  • 0

#5
JordanT92

JordanT92

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

I'm not too fussed about changing the boot screen but I have just saved your image as my desktop img :) ty

Haha no problem, it's not great, just messing about in photoshop.

  • 0

#6
warriorscot

warriorscot

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 724 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Advent Vega
It's a pretty good wallpaper for the Vega even if it is just a mess about in photoshop. Especially appropriate for me since I have been playing a lot of old sega games since I discovered a wiimote works so well.

  • 0

#7
Touch Graphite

Touch Graphite

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Westy Wales
  • Devices:Desire, Vega
Woah that looks good.

  • 0

#8
Marshy84

Marshy84

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Hi JordanT92,
Where did you get the leather background from?

  • 0

#9
JordanT92

JordanT92

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

Hi JordanT92,
Where did you get the leather background from?

Here :)
Posted Image

  • 0

#10
Marshy84

Marshy84

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Thanks :)

  • 0

#11
remlap

remlap

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nexus7, GalaxyNexus, NookGlo
  • Twitter:@remlap1986
Anything more Androidy maybe with Advent standard logo?

Great tip!

Edited by remlap, 18 December 2010 - 12:40 AM.

  • 0

#12
AndiTails

AndiTails

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S III
  • Twitter:@AndiTails
I removed the nVidia files, and removed the framework-res.apk from my Vega, but when pushing the file back, I got "insufficient space".

If anyone else gets this, here's my tip.
I had a poke around via adb shell and decided I wouldn't need the ringtones on the device, so:

At the Windows command prompt type
adb remount
adb shell
then at the # prompt, type:
cd /system/media/ringtones
rm *.ogg
exit

Now try to push framework-res.apk back on to the Vega as the instructions above. You should have space now and it goes on fine :)

P.S. That looks a LOT nicer than > Advent

Edited by AndiTails, 18 December 2010 - 02:11 AM.

  • 0
/// Andi

#13
remlap

remlap

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nexus7, GalaxyNexus, NookGlo
  • Twitter:@remlap1986
Could anyone upload the default bootscreen image file please?

  • 0

#14
boffboff

boffboff

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts

adb-windows pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk /framework-res.apk


Just to let you know for some reason it wouldn't pull framework-res.apk unless I omitted the target location. Weird! It would say xx kb transferred but nothing would copy over. I even did a search of my hdd for it!

But
adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk
worked for me (or adb-windows if you're using that) and copied it to the directory I was running adb from.

I've attached the default bootscreen for those who want to play.
Attached File  android_logo_mask.png   18.18KB   125 downloads

  • 0

#15
r8zer

r8zer

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Devices:n80, spv e650

I removed the nVidia files, and removed the framework-res.apk from my Vega, but when pushing the file back, I got "insufficient space".

If anyone else gets this, here's my tip.
I had a poke around via adb shell and decided I wouldn't need the ringtones on the device, so:

At the Windows command prompt type

adb remount
adb shell
then at the # prompt, type:
cd /media/ringtones
rm *.ogg
exit


should be

cd /system/media/audio/ringtones

just so any one else wishes to try.

Also looks so much better then having advent boot on screen.

Edited by r8zer, 18 December 2010 - 01:32 AM.

  • 0

#16
remlap

remlap

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nexus7, GalaxyNexus, NookGlo
  • Twitter:@remlap1986
My pathetic effort really but anyway:

Attached Files


Edited by remlap, 18 December 2010 - 02:04 AM.

  • 0

#17
boffboff

boffboff

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
A quick and nasty one - just how I like 'em! :)

Attached File  vega_logo.png   10.33KB   110 downloads

At 11k the file size is smaller than the standard logo so you shouldn't need to delete anything to make room. (For those worried about deleting anything)

Please note I haven't tested this yet.

  • 0

#18
boffboff

boffboff

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts

My pathetic effort really but anyway:



Nice!

  • 0

#19
r8zer

r8zer

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Devices:n80, spv e650

Nice!



now if you can stick that android on the leather will be a happy man. i tell thee.

looks proper bo!!

Edited by r8zer, 18 December 2010 - 02:07 AM.

  • 0

#20
AndiTails

AndiTails

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S III
  • Twitter:@AndiTails

should be

cd /system/media/audio/ringtones

just so any one else wishes to try.

Also looks so much better then having advent boot on screen.


Ah yes, of course, good spot. Fixed.

  • 0
/// Andi




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users