Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] My New Racer Rom V2


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
Heres My New Rom for zte Racer


this rom now inculdes ..

* A2sd+
* New Live Wallpapes From Zte X850 galaxy,magic smoke,thunderstorm,vodafone wave
* Permanently Rooted
* All 3 Crap Removed
* New ZTE Boot Screen
* New Launcher2 With 5 Screens And With All Faulty Widgets And Icons Fixed screen shorts below is what it looks like
* Browser Fixed Now With All 3g uk Bookmarks Removed And Gose To Google Mobile
* New Google Markert
* New Google Voice Search
* New Google Gesture Search
* Status Bar Now Smaller When Closed
* New Alarm Clock
* New setup Manger
* new apn added


---------------------------

first things frist if you anit downloaded my recovery then do so

* download this http://www.mediafire...ykgdrddb8gygrpr

* ok take out the battery and wait 5 secs then put it back in the press the vol + and the power button it should boot only to the green android logo and the red light stays on

* extract it to your c:\ then inbstall the drives if needed then click install-recovery-windows.bat once done the fone will reboot


then

download this http://www.mediafire...2bwfll3934862f8

* rename to update.zip

* put the update.zip on your sd dont extract it

* switch phone off the hold the vol- button and press the power button it will boot into recovery


* if yo what a2sd to work youll need to partition your sd card look on the internet theres loads of ways to do it

* a2sd will install all your application to your sd


-----------------------------------------------------

next ....

* in recovery click wipe data/factory reset
* click apply sdcard:update.zip
* once complete click reboot system now

Attached Files


Edited by rickywyatt, 30 December 2010 - 09:18 PM.

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#2
rale_ts

rale_ts

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, ZTE V11A
  • Twitter:@rale_ts
Tnx rickywyatt for Great ROM, working excellent on my ZTE Racer or like my operator ViP Serbia calls it: Vip Droid phone
Your work is very appreciated ;)

Just one question, maybe stupid :( or maybe asked before
I am interested if is possible to put Android 2.2 on ZTE Racer
I red that is 20 to 30% faster then Android 2.1 on same phone so it would be nice to have it ;)

Edited by rale_ts, 31 December 2010 - 02:29 AM.

  • 0

#3
Massimu

Massimu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Tmn Softstone (Zte Racer)
Thank you! This is great work!! I have to try it. As I wrote earlier, my phone came with the live wallpapers activated and with all 5 screens. It seems my provider only added some apps and their logo at start up.

I'm a bit confused. Racer has a 512 mb Rom or a 256 rom? And what about ram? I see 161 mb but looking around the net it says 128. Is it a 256 MB RAM/256 MB ROM?
Also, regarding internal memory, mine shows 217 mb of internal phone storage available for use, but my provider (TMN) says that only 130 mb is available. The phone is still in its original state. Nothing has been removed (only added, :().

Edited by Massimu, 31 December 2010 - 03:30 AM.

  • 0

#4
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
racer has
256MB of RAM
and 300mb storage

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#5
Dean Clinton

Dean Clinton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I'm going to give this a try and let you know how it goes :(

  • 0

#6
Dean Clinton

Dean Clinton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hmmmm, can't seem to make it work - it says that it's OKAY before the application exits, but the phone doesn't seem to want to reboot, and if I unplug it all and reboot manually, it hasn't actually changed anything :(


Edit: Okay, I jumped ahead to the second step and it's installed ok now - the phone seems snappier! One problem - there are two 3 icons on the homescreen Favourites, and Planet 3. Everything else is perfect!

Edited by Dean Clinton, 31 December 2010 - 05:21 PM.

  • 0

#7
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982

Hmmmm, can't seem to make it work - it says that it's OKAY before the application exits, but the phone doesn't seem to want to reboot, and if I unplug it all and reboot manually, it hasn't actually changed anything :(
Edit: Okay, I jumped ahead to the second step and it's installed ok now - the phone seems snappier! One problem - there are two 3 icons on the homescreen Favourites, and Planet 3. Everything else is perfect!



do this for me boot in to recovey
then click
mounts and storage
format boot
format system
format data
format cache

then flash my rom

Edited by rickywyatt, 31 December 2010 - 05:58 PM.

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#8
Dean Clinton

Dean Clinton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Okay, done that - worked perfectly!

  • 0

#9
Massimu

Massimu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Tmn Softstone (Zte Racer)

racer has
256MB of RAM
and 300mb storage


So, the rom is also the same size as the ram, right?
I don't get it why the marketing is so many times wrong...
Thanks for the info!

Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 0

#10
Big Don Vespa

Big Don Vespa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ellon, Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini
  • Twitter:@BigDonVespa
Hi Ricky, I flashed your previous rom which is great, and I used your updated recovery. Can I simply flash this rom over the top of the last one without doing a wipe/reset?
Thanks in advance.
BDV

  • 0
Sony Ericsson Xperia Mini

#11
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982

Hi Ricky, I flashed your previous rom which is great, and I used your updated recovery. Can I simply flash this rom over the top of the last one without doing a wipe/reset?
Thanks in advance.
BDV

yes you can but it mite still have the 3 apps if you dont wipe

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#12
green_biri

green_biri

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer (TMN Softstone)
Hi rickywyatt, first of all let me thank you for putting your effort in improving this handset, for it has been a popular phone in Portugal.

Is your ROM like a clean android 2.1 ROM for ZTE Racer? What about the other users, are you satisfied with ricky's ROM?

Thank you in advance and happy new year! :unsure:

  • 0

#13
Dean Clinton

Dean Clinton

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Is your ROM like a clean android 2.1 ROM for ZTE Racer? What about the other users, are you satisfied with ricky's ROM?

It works perfect - it's clean as in it's removed all customisations that the network provider had put on it. If anything's left behind after the rom's been flashed, follow the steps Ricky gave to me earlier in the thread. The phone seems snappier to me, even with the Live Wallpapers running :unsure:

Make sure you backup the phone's ROM before you flash B)

  • 0

#14
hiperborean

hiperborean

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540, Huawei U8110
Works like a charm! Thanks! My phone is now officially de-branded... De-VIPed :unsure:

  • 0

#15
the_lurker

the_lurker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE RACER, BLADE
Is it just my racer or is this happening to others. In the music app all my music appears twice. Ive tried installing other music apps but they all have the same problem.

Same problem with videos.

Edited by the_lurker, 03 January 2011 - 09:24 AM.

  • 0

#16
isziraki

isziraki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
I would like to try this rom.
How can I backup my phone before flash new recovery and rom?
Can I restore factory default?

Edited by isziraki, 03 January 2011 - 09:36 AM.

  • 0

#17
rickywyatt

rickywyatt

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London UK
  • Interests:Android
    Rom Modding &
    MoDaCo moderator
  • Devices:OneX Samsung S3 LTE Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@rickywyatt1982
youll need adb

# cat /proc/mtd
dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00480000 00020000 "recovery"
mtd1: 00480000 00020000 "boot"
mtd2: 00060000 00020000 "misc"
mtd3: 00c80000 00020000 "cache"
mtd4: 09600000 00020000 "system"
mtd5: 127e0000 00020000 "userdata"
mtd6: 00180000 00020000 "persist"


Please do the following using adb shell:
CODE
cat /dev/mtd/mtd0 > /sdcard/recovery.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd1 > /sdcard/boot.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd2 > /sdcard/misc.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd3 > /sdcard/cache.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd4 > /sdcard/system.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd5 > /sdcard/userdata.img
cat /dev/mtd/mtd6 > /sdcard/persist.img

  • 0
Remember to read the fourm rules<br /><br />Maker of the AIO tool for Orange San Diego here<br />and the maker of the Motorola Razr I AIO tools here

#18
weijinfengdu

weijinfengdu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
thanks so much for your great work.

and I flash it and it works well.

The only thing I would like to say is How to install more language packs such
as chinese and arabic?

  • 0

#19
RHeLL

RHeLL

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts

thanks so much for your great work.

and I flash it and it works well.

The only thing I would like to say is How to install more language packs such
as chinese and arabic?

I think that "morelocal" app can do that

  • 0

#20
the_lurker

the_lurker

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE RACER, BLADE
I've had a search on the internet and found a possible cause for my music and videos appearing twice. It something to do with the "media storage" app. Some HTC phones have the same problem. Ive found a fix but when I restart the phone it happens again.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users