Jump to content


Photo

[ROM][Froyo] Volcano mod 0.3 [2011-01-04] [OLED+TFT]

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
153 replies to this topic

#61
Gryphonic

Gryphonic

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (OSF)

Does anybody know what this button combination does when there's no /image :unsure:


Goes into BootLoader mode aka fastboot mode

  • 0
Posted Image

#62
jt_mcg

jt_mcg

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Blade, Nook Color
  • Twitter:@jtmcg_raw

i just like to know how to recover if it goes wrong, and in this case, i wouldn't know how.


I tried the Hungarian fix on my OLED 512MB OUK SF the other day to test the WiFi fix, I ended up with a stock hungarian firmware, flashed clockwork and recovered my nandroid in 10mins.

Really, as long as someones not concerned about there phone being in Hungarian for a couple of minutes there's really nothing it seems that could be unrecoverable from from trying to install this way.

edit *check that the hungarian update has been successful on your variant of the zte blade.*

Edited by jt_mcg, 02 January 2011 - 10:07 PM.

  • 0

#63
Arr Too

Arr Too

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts

Really, as long as someones not concerned about there phone being in Hungarian for a couple of minutes there's really nothing it seems that could be unrecoverable from from trying to install this way.

You say that with a good deal of confidence... which I would say is misplaced, given that we know there is a Blade variant out there that we can't use the kernel from on our UK models.

  • 0

#64
jt_mcg

jt_mcg

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Blade, Nook Color
  • Twitter:@jtmcg_raw

You say that with a good deal of confidence... which I would say is misplaced, given that we know there is a Blade variant out there that we can't use the kernel from on our UK models.


You're correct and I apologise, I'll edit to reflect that.

  • 0

#65
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I tried the Hungarian fix on my OLED 512MB OUK SF the other day to test the WiFi fix, I ended up with a stock hungarian firmware, flashed clockwork and recovered my nandroid in 10mins.

Really, as long as someones not concerned about there phone being in Hungarian for a couple of minutes there's really nothing it seems that could be unrecoverable from from trying to install this way.

edit *check that the hungarian update has been successful on your variant of the zte blade.*


Just saw the edit.

Yes you see the problem is that if they try it on a V880 OR if the download is corrupt it is unlikely, but the corruption COULD just be in exactly the wrong place and effect the low level recovery mechanism.

That's all. Until we have some damaged hardware to do the ALPHA test on - we are in new territory.

  • 0

#66
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

You say that with a good deal of confidence... which I would say is misplaced, given that we know there is a Blade variant out there that we can't use the kernel from on our UK models.


Don't you mean from our Hungarian models :unsure:

You just don't know how different the UK ones is to this update.zip we have acquired.

Edited by StevenHarperUK, 02 January 2011 - 10:12 PM.

  • 0

#67
donkey523

donkey523

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:pulse, san francisco
After installing volcano 0.2 I couldn't play mp3, so i used clockwork mod to install sebs eclair r7.

all went well and after installing a couple of apps quck system info reports that i have 237mb free in user data

  • 0

#68
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts
I gave in and I used the update on my OLED Orange UK phone. It worked :unsure:

  • 0

#69
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

After installing volcano 0.2 I couldn't play mp3, so i used clockwork mod to install sebs eclair r7.

all went well and after installing a couple of apps quck system info reports that i have 237mb free in user data


So Sebs 2.1 ROM fits in there :unsure:

What device / country do you have?

Edited by StevenHarperUK, 02 January 2011 - 10:19 PM.

  • 0

#70
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I gave in and I used the update on my OLED Orange UK phone. It worked :unsure:


Does your ROM fit in there too flibble?

I may a column to the table in my main thread.

  • 0

#71
donkey523

donkey523

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:pulse, san francisco

So Sebs 2.1 ROM fits in there :unsure:

What device / country do you have?



uk oled sf

  • 0

#72
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

Does your ROM fit in there too flibble?

I may a column to the table in my main thread.


Nope, my ROM is too big for the resized partitions.

One problem now.. I resized my rom to fit the smaller system partition but it won't boot... phone is stuck on the green android :unsure:

The volcano rom booted fine.

  • 0

#73
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Nope, my ROM is too big for the resized partitions.

One problem now.. I resized my rom to fit the smaller system partition but it won't boot... phone is stuck on the green android :unsure:

The volcano rom booted fine.


Hmm interesting - do you need me to try it on a non-altered phone?

Ill have to do a quick nandroid - but I can if your stuck.

  • 0

#74
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

Hmm interesting - do you need me to try it on a non-altered phone?

Ill have to do a quick nandroid - but I can if your stuck.


All I did was remove some of the extra apps I added to my rom. really puzzling.

  • 0

#75
isambard

isambard

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

After installing volcano 0.2 I couldn't play mp3, so i used clockwork mod to install sebs eclair r7.

all went well and after installing a couple of apps quck system info reports that i have 237mb free in user data


there are some fixes for codecs, but frankly, it's just as well to use volcano only for repartitioning and put your choice of rom on afterwards (assuming it fits ok). i'm sure the more experienced guys can come up with a better ROM image than me.

Edited by isambard, 02 January 2011 - 10:41 PM.

  • 0
The best Android Timer application. See also website here: DroidGram Timer Pro.
Download Blade Buddy, the essential companion for your Blade.
Un-lock your Blade with Blade Un-locker.
Free and ad-free basic settings editor: Spare Parts Plus!

#76
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

All I did was remove some of the extra apps I added to my rom. really puzzling.


Start again? - Maybe something went wrong - file transfer - zip still had a file handle open when you started copying - who knows.

  • 0

#77
sumdumguy

sumdumguy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Devices:SF
maybe try using the boot.img from volcano 0.2 with altered size rom

  • 0

#78
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,657 posts

Start again? - Maybe something went wrong - file transfer - zip still had a file handle open when you started copying - who knows.


Very odd... just used the Hungarian resize patch to restore my partitions back to the original size and flashed my rom again (the resized version). And it's booting fine. :unsure:

Edited by flibblesan, 02 January 2011 - 10:51 PM.

  • 0

#79
isambard

isambard

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Very odd... just used the Hungarian resize patch to restore my partitions back to the original size and flashed my rom again (the resized version). And it's booting fine. :unsure:


did you mix a kernel (in boot.img) with system.img? i'm not sure which kernel versions are being used and how compatible they are between ROMs.

  • 0
The best Android Timer application. See also website here: DroidGram Timer Pro.
Download Blade Buddy, the essential companion for your Blade.
Un-lock your Blade with Blade Un-locker.
Free and ad-free basic settings editor: Spare Parts Plus!

#80
isambard

isambard

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
a tip for those who flashed using the TPT method. after flashing, it is a good idea to rename the folder on the sdcard to something like ximage.

this is because when you get so used to doing the 3-fingered flash, when you come to do a clockwork backup, you might forget and accidentally re-flash your phone again! :unsure:

  • 0
The best Android Timer application. See also website here: DroidGram Timer Pro.
Download Blade Buddy, the essential companion for your Blade.
Un-lock your Blade with Blade Un-locker.
Free and ad-free basic settings editor: Spare Parts Plus!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users