Jump to content


Photo

Modaco Froyo to Jellyfish. Worth it?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#21
squidlr

squidlr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
This RLS6 rom seems the most complete that I have used so far, moving from FLB rom which I used for the past 2 months.

GPS and AGPS seem to be fine and the rom looks great with the Gingerbread theme applied - it's almost like having a new phone.

I'd prefer the stock Android dialer though.

  • 0

#22
lixcab

lixcab

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I changed ROM from MoDaCo because I was having screen freezes. I'm now using JJRLS6 in the hopes that I won't get freezes any more. I do like the Overclock with JJ.

  • 0

#23
UncleFista

UncleFista

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:People's republic of Yorkshire
  • Devices:Orange San Fransisco

In what way? Don't say just that, give reasons.

Japanese Jellyfish plus points.

Don't have to pay to get newest version straight away.
Overclockable.
Kernel compiled from source.
Rom is a release version.
Stock lockscreen as default.
Fast updates.

Modaco minus points.

Have to pay for newest version straight away.
Beta kernel.
Beta rom.
ZTE lockscreen yuk!
Paul supports loads of devices so not always working on Modaco Blade rom.


A couple of points about Paul's ROM.

You don't need to "pay for" the new version straightaway, if you're a donator you get it free :D
Flibblesans new kernel works pefectly with it.
ZTE lockscreen is a choice in the kitchen, so a plus rather than a minus :P

  • 0
Tony / UncleFista

www.bradford7.co.uk

Love is like a snowmobile, speeding across the frozen tundra.
Which suddenly flips, pinning you underneath.
At night the ice-weasels come...

#24
panteraz

panteraz

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
I dont care if JJ has the latest kernel and stuff and everyday has a new release.

I dont change Pauls Alpha4 Froyo for one reason:

BATTERY!!!! Battery time with JJ SUCKS! :D

  • 0

#25
sanfran1

sanfran1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:San Francisco

I dont care if JJ has the latest kernel and stuff and everyday has a new release.

I dont change Pauls Alpha4 Froyo for one reason:

BATTERY!!!! Battery time with JJ SUCKS! :D


well since i've been using JJ my battery life has increased. as previously mentioned update it to RLS6 and see how that goes.

  • 0

#26
rbbrslmn

rbbrslmn

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
I'm currently using modaco r4 2.1 with apps2sd, what if anything will I lose if I move to jellyfish?

  • 0

#27
cartierv

cartierv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Yes
It has

  • Source Compiled Kernel
  • No WIFI Issues
  • Overclock Features
  • Many Theme's
  • EXT2/3/4 Support
  • Extra Data Space (if you TPT)
  • A Stock Lock Screen
  • Gingerbread Keyboard
  • Google's DNS
  • A Working FM Radio APP
  • Wifi and assisted GPS
  • Multi person MMS
  • Works without a Sim Card



Unless I've got this wrong….

from what I understand.. it does make me angry reading this stuff. Especially for effectively a hacker community.

Can we just leave the Google extras out of these ROMs ? Is it too much to ask ?

"Google DNS"

The thought of Google knowing every site you go to by DNS lookup on its server is just horrific. You really do wonder what is actually going on in some people's heads.

I hope 'Google DNS' is turnoffable somewhere.


And yes the suggest as you type, and search history etc which is not directly turnoffable anywhere in 2.1 (doesn't work) needs to be killed.

  • 0

#28
buneech

buneech

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, SE Xperia Mini
  • Twitter:@buneech

"Google DNS"

The thought of Google knowing every site you go to by DNS lookup on its server is just horrific. You really do wonder what is actually going on in some people's heads.

Wait a sec...you're using a google powered phone, and are concerned that google caches dns? Srsly?

  • 0
Posted Image

#29
Coldbird

Coldbird

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Having a tiny problem with SetCPU on that ROM. It's freezing occassionally. Making effective use of overclocking is thus not possible.

Anyone have a solution to that?

Other than that, it's a very fine ROM. I like it thus far, and it's the only ROM I've found so far which has full german settings. :D

Edited by Coldbird, 10 January 2011 - 09:44 AM.

  • 0

#30
k0nrad

k0nrad

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@k0nfuse

Wait a sec...you're using a google powered phone, and are concerned that google caches dns? Srsly?

Maybe he thinks Google's revenue comes automagically out of thin air, not selling personalised advertisement and (slightly) anonymous user data. And that they are giving us Android just because they are nice guys.

Edited by k0nrad, 10 January 2011 - 10:22 AM.

  • 0

#31
uptime

uptime

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (AMOLED)

Unless I've got this wrong….

from what I understand.. it does make me angry reading this stuff. Especially for effectively a hacker community.

Can we just leave the Google extras out of these ROMs ? Is it too much to ask ?


Is it too much to ask to do this yourself if it annoys you?

I hope 'Google DNS' is turnoffable somewhere.


Be part of that "hacker community". Open /system/etc/resolv.conf and change the DNS to your choice.

  • 0

#32
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Wait a sec...you're using a google powered phone, and are concerned that google caches dns? Srsly?


Actually - I don;t know what the original DNS was set too, wasn't it some default ZTE one?

  • 0

#33
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Is it too much to ask to do this yourself if it annoys you?
Be part of that "hacker community". Open /system/etc/resolv.conf and change the DNS to your choice.


Here is a thread to tell you how to use ADB to do that

http://android.modac...-prop-with-adb/

  • 0

#34
evilpaul

evilpaul

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

In what way? Don't say just that, give reasons.

Japanese Jellyfish plus points.

Don't have to pay to get newest version straight away.
Overclockable.
Kernel compiled from source.
snip...



Yes
It has

  • Source Compiled Kernel
  • snip...


I'm not trying to have a dig, but can both of you please state what you are trying to say in clear and correct terms.
The kernel in all versions has been compiled from source code, it is not magically pulled from the ether.

You should be telling people that the kernel has been compiled from the publicly released source code, therefore anyone can look to see exactly what the code is doing.

  • 0

#35
Coldbird

Coldbird

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
And I still have trouble using SetCPU, so if someone can hint me into the right direction for Jelly this would be very kind.

As for the Google DNS, I don't see much of a problem there... it still is one of the fastest DNS servers and seriously, you are already open to Google Spying just by using Android anyway.

Oh btw... about my experience with battery life on Jelly so far. It's very nice. I can run on standby for 3 hours straight and loose only 2% average, for active use its very identical to all the other released Froyo ROMs so far...

So really, with RLS6 no need to be scared about battery life any longer.

Edited by Coldbird, 10 January 2011 - 11:52 AM.

  • 0

#36
goatee

goatee

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola Razr Maxx XT910
  • Twitter:@edperch
This morning I made the move from MCR alpha4 to JJ, and I'm impressed. It seems faster, and more responsive (entirely subjective), and the battery is lasting longer than it did on alpha4. As a bonus (though I could have baked an alpha 5), I get A2SD. What not to like about JJ?

Oh, also, I can use the home key to wake the phone up - as opposed to the power button :D.

  • 0

#37
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade

What not to like about JJ?

Oh, also, I can use the home key to wake the phone up - as opposed to the power button :D.

That's a sign that your phone is not sleeping and will result in massive battery usage, just like many other JJ users have :P

  • 0

#38
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

This morning I made the move from MCR alpha4 to JJ, and I'm impressed. It seems faster, and more responsive (entirely subjective), and the battery is lasting longer than it did on alpha4. As a bonus (though I could have baked an alpha 5), I get A2SD. What not to like about JJ?

Oh, also, I can use the home key to wake the phone up - as opposed to the power button :D.

I got that when i had it connected to the pc with usb, then remove the phone from the usb/pc connection....the phone needed a reboot to reset this.
The FLB latest rom v6, doesn't do this, when removed from pc usb connection.

Weird..

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 10 January 2011 - 01:25 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#39
cartierv

cartierv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Wait a sec...you're using a google powered phone, and are concerned that google caches dns? Srsly?


Of course I am. You're just giving a record of every web site you visit (presumably assuming it's not just an ip address and has to do a dns lookup) to Google.

That's not cool or creative or innovative. It's just a mistake. We all make mistakes sometimes. Don't pass the buck on to those pointing out the mistake. Just fix it.

So let's put the question the other way round. Why aren't you concerned ?

Edited by cartierv, 10 January 2011 - 10:07 PM.

  • 0

#40
cartierv

cartierv

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts

Maybe he thinks Google's revenue comes automagically out of thin air, not selling personalised advertisement and (slightly) anonymous user data. And that they are giving us Android just because they are nice guys.


That's nothing to do with with issue I'm talking about at all.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users