Jump to content


Photo

[KERNEL] Dev - Kernel INFO Posts ONLY

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
As a number people are very interested in such things, and GPL and all that .....

Here is a break down of the kernels I've used

ZTE-Blade

de-Orangeated & de-Bouyguesed

Uses the kernel that ships with the stock firmware


de-Chinaed, de-Softened & de-crossed

Uses a custom built 2.6.32 kernel.

Source
.config


Clockwork Recovery & RA_Recovery

Uses a custom built 2.6.29

Source
Patch
.config


ZTE V9/Optus My Tab

Clockwork Recovery

Uses the kernel that ships with the stock firmware


ZTE Joe/Vodafone 945

Clockwork Recovery

Uses a custom built 2.6.29

Source
Patch
.config


ZTE Racer

Clockwork Recovery

Uses a custom built 2.6.29

Source
Patch
.config

Attached Files


Edited by Sebastian404, 07 February 2011 - 11:38 PM.

  • 0

#2
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404
How to build your own Kernel

There are numerous guides on the internet that cover this, but in essence here are the steps to follow:


Firstly download the SDK the configure your build environment as detailed here, it is probably worth your while fully following the instructions fully to ensure you can correctly build everything you'd like.

Next, download/install the NDK as detailed here.


Once your environment is set up you can download the Kernel Source code and any other files required.

Uncompress the Kernel source code, apply any patches and place the config file into the root of your kernel source code renaming it to be .config

alternatively you can download the config file from you device, it is located in /proc/config.gz and will need to be decompressed and renamed.

Once your ready to build, use the following command from the base of your kernel source.

make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=~myandroid/prebuilt/linux-x86/toolchain/arm-eabi-4.4.0/bin/arm-eabi- $1

*Depending on the version of the SDK/NDK used you may need to change the path used in the CROSS_COMPILE parameter

if all goes well, you should find your kernel in the arch/arm/boot/zImage subdirectory.

Edited by Sebastian404, 31 January 2011 - 06:32 PM.

  • 0

#3
metzench

metzench

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
Hi Sebastian,

would it be possible that you recompile the kernel with tun enabled? Having the tun.ko kernel module would be really nice to get my vpn client up and running.

Or can compile the kernel myself and ad only the kernel module to the tree? Not really sure about this. I would have to get some info on how to compile the android kernel itself. Do you have some infos to read about that?

Should the KK_changedfiles be merged into that then?

Regards and keep up the good work.

Christian

P.S.: Kernel compilation is not the big problem, i´m developing a linux distro for several years now, so only some hints are needed.

Edited by metzench, 31 January 2011 - 03:56 PM.

  • 0

#4
Phoenix Silver

Phoenix Silver

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,839 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Strasbourg.
  • Devices:ZTE Blade Orange France
  • Twitter:@phoenixbjp
why my post has been deleted ?
was a legitimate question to know if i can compile the kernel in a 32 bits environment ?

  • 0
Si le corps est mortel, l’âme elle est éternelle.

#5
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

why my post has been deleted ?
was a legitimate question to know if i can compile the kernel in a 32 bits environment ?


yes you can compile in a 32 bit environment.

I'll create a new thread for you

  • 0

#6
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

Hi Sebastian,

would it be possible that you recompile the kernel with tun enabled? Having the tun.ko kernel module would be really nice to get my vpn client up and running.

Or can compile the kernel myself and ad only the kernel module to the tree? Not really sure about this. I would have to get some info on how to compile the android kernel itself. Do you have some infos to read about that?

Should the KK_changedfiles be merged into that then?



I guess you should be able to do a make menuconfig and enable it that way

the KK_changedfiles is not a traditional patch, but f you unzip it into the base of your kernel source tree, it overwrites 4 (?) files that fixes the screen issues with ZTE's source.

  • 0

#7
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

why my post has been deleted ?
was a legitimate question to know if i can compile the kernel in a 32 bits environment ?


I dunno why your post went, maybe because the thread got moved/renamed?

you can build 2.6.29 in a 32 bit environment, but 2.6.32 requires 64bit... or some hacking which I'm not going to recommend.

  • 0

#8
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

I guess you should be able to do a make menuconfig and enable it that way

the KK_changedfiles is not a traditional patch, but f you unzip it into the base of your kernel source tree, it overwrites 4 (?) files that fixes the screen issues with ZTE's source.

Those files are fixes for the 2.6.29 source to fix some things that ZTE forgot to include when they release the source, will most likely break 2.6.32 if applied (and 2.6.32 doesn't need them anyway)

  • 0
Blog - App

#9
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

I dunno why your post went, maybe because the thread got moved/renamed?

you can build 2.6.29 in a 32 bit environment, but 2.6.32 requires 64bit... or some hacking which I'm not going to recommend.

I build 2.6.32 in a virutal 32-bit Ubuntu machine. No hacking required. Asfaik it is compiling Android 2.3+ that needs some hacks if you want to compile on a 32-bit machine.

  • 0
Blog - App

#10
oh!dougal

oh!dougal

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Location:England
  • Devices:DX2 FroYo San Francisco

yes you can compile in a 32 bit environment.

I'll create a new thread for you


To try and keep clean information ONLY in this thread, the 32-bit compiling thread can be found
here - http://android.modac...it-environment/


And another thread that Hecatae created, attempts to catalogue the various different githubs that have other parts and patches of the source code story ...
http://android.modac.../330792/github/

If we can collect actual information in this pinned thread (and try very hard to keep any discussion and comment in ordinary forum threads) then, perhaps, we can build a small resource where, hopefully, the information can actually be found by anyone seeking enlightenment!

Edited by oh!dougal, 01 February 2011 - 02:09 PM.

  • 0

#11
RafaelPSouto

RafaelPSouto

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisbon
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE: A5
  • Twitter:@RafaelPSouto
What about the MCK? :X

  • 0

#12
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

What about the MCK? :X

MCK?

  • 0

#13
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

MCK?


Modaco Custom Kernel

Edited by hecatae, 10 February 2011 - 07:44 PM.

  • 0

#14
Pelemane

Pelemane

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade & Huawei U8800

MCK?


MCK = Modaco Custom Kernel = Pauls kernel

  • 0

#15
Sebastian404

Sebastian404

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somwhere Near Mountain View, California
  • Devices:lots of them
  • Twitter:@sebastian404

MCK = Modaco Custom Kernel = Pauls kernel


ah!, feel free to go bug Paul... plenty people bugged me :P

  • 0

#16
RafaelPSouto

RafaelPSouto

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisbon
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE: A5
  • Twitter:@RafaelPSouto

ah!, feel free to go bug Paul... plenty people bugged me :P


The only thing missing in MCK is the Overclock patch. That's why i'm asking.

  • 0

#17
samjam

samjam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 557 posts

The only thing missing in MCK is the Overclock patch. That's why i'm asking.


And the RDS patch for Andorko's RDS radio

  • 0

#18
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,195 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez

And the RDS patch for Andorko's RDS radio


https://github.com/Z...4ff612a34cb81f6

here's the RDS patch for Andorko's RDS radio

  • 0

#19
unrandomsam

unrandomsam

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:Xperia Play / Xoom / ZTE Blade
https://github.com/t...e-2.6.35.11.git

needs [gen3] layout + radio

  • 0

#20
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b

https://github.com/t...e-2.6.35.11.git

needs [gen3] layout + radio


That tree is not for public use unrandomsam.....

you mess with it you're on your own.... no questions, no whines....

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users