Jump to content


Photo

09/Feb r8 - MoDaCo Custom ROM for the Advent Vega with Online Kitchen


  • Please log in to reply
859 replies to this topic

#821
macvegan

macvegan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
The expression I am looking for is WOOHOO ! £200 Tablet now behaving like a £400 tablet in virtually every way (except it doesn't crash , is discontinued or is tied to a closed system !) Thanks so much for your work . Those who havent upgraded to pay membership yet just think how much a tablet like this would cost 'out of the box' Posted Image

Thanks again


  • 0

#822
Chriso234

Chriso234

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Hi,

Im currently having an issue with finding my advent vega on the device manager. I have extracted the USBdriver folder yet when I have a look on the device manager(despite my vega being plugged in and in debugging mode) it is not visible to update.

Any help would be appreciated

Chris

  • 0

#823
simonta

simonta

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Devices:Vega. HTC Desire

Hi,

Im currently having an issue with finding my advent vega on the device manager. I have extracted the USBdriver folder yet when I have a look on the device manager(despite my vega being plugged in and in debugging mode) it is not visible to update.

Any help would be appreciated

Chris


It is visible to update, you're just looking in the wrong place! ;) Search for YAUDIG and/or AUDI.

  • 0
If I've helped you, you want to say "thanks" and you do not use Dropbox (it's enormously useful, especially with mobile devices), please consider signing up for it using my reference. You'll get 2GB of disk space for files available anywhere, any time on any device. They give us both an extra 250MB if you do sign up!

Sign up for Dropbox

Apple? I'd rather eat my own kidneys!

#824
PraveenVS

PraveenVS

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Skate, HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@Prazy09
Hi , I am currently running MCR Rom 8 on my advent vega. How do I go back to stock advent vega 1.10 ?? is there any guide for it ?? please help !!

  • 0

#825
docck

docck

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:zte libra + viewpad 10s

PraveenVS
There're two simple ways to do it
First If you've clockworkmod flashed and made nandroid backup your own stock rom you can backup it thru clockworkmod.
Second. If you haven't backup then you must flash stock rom from beginning thru your PC

  • 0

#826
yogi99

yogi99

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Hi Guys

Help needed here I.ve read all about R8 and I still unable to get R8 installed, this vega new out of its box,
Im runing XP Pro With Sp3. d/manager It show me under disk drives tecra 2 when I plug in the vega.
Here is what I've done so far. downloaded R8 with the usb driver also download the systemusb driver. restarted Xp and the vega, then gone into vega and enabled usb debuging, the plug usb into Pc and d/m show other devices and then loads driver and puts it under disk and when I look I can see tecra 2 installed. looked at the driver details, its installed a driver from 2001.tried updating driver and fails to find one. One thing I've notice on the vega the EC version says 1.9.0 also kernal version 2.632_9_P10_v1.11_20110627_DIX Android 2.2

Thanx for your help

yogi99

  • 0

#827
akes

akes

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega
Hi

Trying out flashing a new ROm and having some interesting problems. Its a new Vega tablet, and I am using a Windows7 Prof x64 OS. I can see the Vega on the PC device manager, and have already managed to transfer files using the Advent Transfer Companion. After using the Transfer Companion, I have turned ON USB Debugging and turned the USB connection OFF so it can no longer be seen as a disk. However, when I run windows-install.bat, this hangs after *daemon started successfully*.

What should happening after I see *daemon started successfully*?
How long should I wait before terminating the batch file?
What should happen on the Vega while the script is running?

I have tried using "adb-windows devices" in another shell - but it does not list any devices.

I am wondering if the port is being blocked by Windows Firewall?

Any other ideas?

many thanks

akes

  • 0

#828
akes

akes

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

Hi

Trying out flashing a new ROm and having some interesting problems. Its a new Vega tablet, and I am using a Windows7 Prof x64 OS. I can see the Vega on the PC device manager, and have already managed to transfer files using the Advent Transfer Companion. After using the Transfer Companion, I have turned ON USB Debugging and turned the USB connection OFF so it can no longer be seen as a disk. However, when I run windows-install.bat, this hangs after *daemon started successfully*.

What should happening after I see *daemon started successfully*?
How long should I wait before terminating the batch file?
What should happen on the Vega while the script is running?

I have tried using "adb-windows devices" in another shell - but it does not list any devices.

I am wondering if the port is being blocked by Windows Firewall?

Any other ideas?

many thanks

akes


Fixed. The problem was a clash of drivers. I used the AUDI utility (see http://android.modac...ver-installer/ ) to correct the driver problem, then did the install-windows.bat file to complete the update.

I had previously set the adb-windows.exe program on my machine to Run as Administrator - and the security settings kept popping up to get confirmation each time adb-windows was called in the script. Not a problem, just kept clicking Yes.

To answer my own questions, the you should see activity on the PC screen within a few seconds of running install-windows.bat (and seeing *daemon started successfully*), the Vega itself shuts off the screen (mainly because of the power-saving screen timeout), and after the script runs, the Vega reboots.

I had installed one app - which I used the Settings->Applications to move to the SD card.

Once the installation had finished, and the Vega rebooted, all my settings were retained (so no need to set up wifi, etc again).

thanks

akes

Edited by akes, 10 September 2011 - 10:02 AM.

  • 0

#829
akes

akes

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

Hi Guys

Help needed here I.ve read all about R8 and I still unable to get R8 installed, this vega new out of its box,
Im runing XP Pro With Sp3. d/manager It show me under disk drives tecra 2 when I plug in the vega.
Here is what I've done so far. downloaded R8 with the usb driver also download the systemusb driver. restarted Xp and the vega, then gone into vega and enabled usb debuging, the plug usb into Pc and d/m show other devices and then loads driver and puts it under disk and when I look I can see tecra 2 installed. looked at the driver details, its installed a driver from 2001.tried updating driver and fails to find one. One thing I've notice on the vega the EC version says 1.9.0 also kernal version 2.632_9_P10_v1.11_20110627_DIX Android 2.2

Thanx for your help

yogi99


Hi yogi99

Search on this forum for AUDI - this is a utility that fixes driver problems (or go here http://android.modac...iver-installer/ ). That may help you get the correct drivers in place at the right version level - and removes the old or incorrect drivers.

akes

  • 0

#830
Oldbarzo

Oldbarzo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:N. Ireland
  • Interests:Computers (Home Builder)<br />Wargaming (WWII Tabletop miniatures)<br />Hacking and general modifcations to Mobile Phones<br />PCs and electronics.
  • Devices:HTC Wildfire, ZTE Blade (SF)
Hi
There is also Vegatools Version 4 which will automatically install the correct drivers
and some other roms. Just Google for it.

Stransky

  • 0
Advent Vega CM 10.1 (Unofficial) Alpha 9b OC 1504
ZTE Blade (Orange San Fran) CM 9 CFX Coldfusion Rel: 15/06
Motorola RAZRi Unlocked, Rooted Homemade Fastboot JB 4.1.2
Commtiva N700 (FM6) Stock Rom w/tjstyle kernal overclocked 864Mhz
Orange Tahiti (Huawei Mediapad) HWMOD ICS Rom w/3.0.42 Kernal (XDA Devs) OC 1550
Nexus 7 Modaco r9 Nightlies.

#831
vinsterb

vinsterb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

There may be a short wait while the load balancing software determines the best kitchen to serve your ROM. The kitchen should appear below within 20 seconds.


Hi there
I am trying to do the custom rom with the online bake, I have paid my £9.99, but still no option. Advice please!!!

  • 0

#832
vinsterb

vinsterb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hey there, how did you get this to work, as ive tried all the instructions but struggling

  • 0

#833
vinsterb

vinsterb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
HiMacvegan
I paid my membership about a month ago, but what now? do I go to a certain part of this site, await email!
Appreciate any help
Vinster

  • 0

#834
simonta

simonta

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Devices:Vega. HTC Desire

Hi there
I am trying to do the custom rom with the online bake, I have paid my £9.99, but still no option. Advice please!!!


What happens when you click "Click to bake"? The big picture at the bottom?

Please also understand that the £9.99 is not for the ROM. It's simply to go "ad free" on the forum.

There are better ROMs available in the forum. Cyanogen 7 and Corvus 5 are both great. Vegacomb if want Honeycomb and don't mind some bugs.

  • 0
If I've helped you, you want to say "thanks" and you do not use Dropbox (it's enormously useful, especially with mobile devices), please consider signing up for it using my reference. You'll get 2GB of disk space for files available anywhere, any time on any device. They give us both an extra 250MB if you do sign up!

Sign up for Dropbox

Apple? I'd rather eat my own kidneys!

#835
elkay62

elkay62

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
Hi folks,

My wife is insisting that I return her Vega to the Modaco rom, she's not happy with the Vegacomb...

Question is, does the modded stock update that changed the system partition size as part of the Vegacomb process cause any problems, or is it simply a matter of flashing the modaco rom using CWM?

TIA

elkay

  • 0

#836
elkay62

elkay62

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

Hi folks,

My wife is insisting that I return her Vega to the Modaco rom, she's not happy with the Vegacomb...

Question is, does the modded stock update that changed the system partition size as part of the Vegacomb process cause any problems, or is it simply a matter of flashing the modaco rom using CWM?

TIA

elkay


Ok, figured out that the bit that changed the partion size was the modded stock that had to be flashed before vegacomb, so re-flashed it and applied the modaco rom. No probs, she's a happy bunny :-)

Elkay

  • 0

#837
nobbyogden

nobbyogden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
Afternoon everyone, I'm a relative beginner so just tell me straight if I'm in the wrong place.

I've recently purchased the vega tablet and am a bit wary of all the technical jargon you pros are talking.

My quandry is I'm running Android 2.2 and I've managed to put on the Android Market App onto the sd card and its running fine. Is it worth me upgrading to 3.2 with my limited knowledge and danger of bricking the thing or is the Market App the gateway to paradise that a dunce like me can live with.

What other benefits does the Vegacomb or other mod bring, in layman's terms if you could please.

Again, apologies if I'm wasting time but a lot of the threads run into jargon that's making my head spin.

Thankyou in advance.

  • 0

#838
Aff

Aff

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Afternoon everyone, I'm a relative beginner so just tell me straight if I'm in the wrong place.

I've recently purchased the vega tablet and am a bit wary of all the technical jargon you pros are talking.

My quandry is I'm running Android 2.2 and I've managed to put on the Android Market App onto the sd card and its running fine. Is it worth me upgrading to 3.2 with my limited knowledge and danger of bricking the thing or is the Market App the gateway to paradise that a dunce like me can live with.

What other benefits does the Vegacomb or other mod bring, in layman's terms if you could please.

Again, apologies if I'm wasting time but a lot of the threads run into jargon that's making my head spin.

Thankyou in advance.


Hello Nobby
The 3.2 update does feel faster and has some nice touches BUT it is a bit buggy so you are better using your system the way it is until a final update is made. Having the market working is the main thing and it is no slouch as it is.

  • 0

#839
nobbyogden

nobbyogden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:advent vega

Hello Nobby
The 3.2 update does feel faster and has some nice touches BUT it is a bit buggy so you are better using your system the way it is until a final update is made. Having the market working is the main thing and it is no slouch as it is.


That's very much appreciated Aff, thankyou.



  • 0

#840
Paffman

Paffman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi Guys,

Very new to the Verga and am reasonably good with tech. Paid my dues for all your hard work B) . Just need to know how to get the "Click to bake"? The big picture at the bottom to appear? All I get is something about premium users?

OK as if by magic it appeared, so have baked and saved to the Vega SD card - now stuck using the instructions below. How do I restart the device in recovery mode?? Then what about perform a nandroid backup from the menu, I assume after the restart from recovery I will see that in a menu?

Sorry for the newbie questions - I did do a search honest guv :unsure:

To install this ROM using ClockworkMod Recovery:
  • Download the zip file of your choice from the links below (or the online kitchen) and copy to your SD card
  • Restart your device in recovery mode
  • PERFORM A NANDROID BACKUP FROM THE MENU
  • Select the option to apply an update zip, and select the zip file you copied to your memory card

Cheers,
Steve.

Edited by Paffman, 11 November 2011 - 06:40 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users