Jump to content


Photo

[maybe solved] Touchscreen does not react after flashing an new ROM

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
242 replies to this topic

#81
fredl99

fredl99

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi,

ZTE Blade, bought on 31.3.2011

Glass:TRULY

touchscreen module
name: synaptics
i2c address: 0x22
IC type 2000 series
firmware TM1541
module synaptics + TPK

Baseband P729BB01
Kernel 2.6.29

Build YESSS_P729VV1.0.0B02
------------------------------------------

I have tried:
Swedish_Spring_RLS3
Swedish_Spring_RLS2
Touchscreen works after flashing and booting from clockwork, but is dead after power off/on. IIRC it was functional again when booting through clockwork, but I might be wrong with this.
--------------------------

cm-7.0.0-RC4-Blade-signed
r12-update-modacocustomrom-blade-kitchen-unsigned
Swedish_Spring_RLS4b
All of these show a dead touchscreen right after flashing and booting without a chance to come alive.
--------------------------

Interesting: Swedish_Spring_RLS4b behaves like the others, whereas Swedish_Spring_RLS3 and Swedish_Spring_RLS2 did at least work from the start.
Any ideas what difference between RLS3/4 could break the touchscreen?

Of course I'm willing to help with further information when needed. Hoping to get a solution in return :D

Edited by fredl99, 05 April 2011 - 12:45 AM.

  • 0

#82
ma_

ma_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hi,

ZTE Blade, bought on 31/3/11

Glass:TRULY

touchscreen module
name: synaptics
i2c address: 0x22
IC type 2000 series
firmware TM1541
module synaptics + TPK

Baseband P729BB01
Kernel 2.6.29

Build YESSS_P729VV1.0.0B02
------------------------------------------

I have tried:
Swedish_Spring_RLS3
Swedish_Spring_RLS2
Touchscreen works after flashing and booting from clockwork, but is dead after power off/on. IIRC it was functional again when booting through clockwork, but I might be wrong with this.
--------------------------

cm-7.0.0-RC4-Blade-signed
r12-update-modacocustomrom-blade-kitchen-unsigned
Swedish_Spring_RLS4b
All of these show a dead touchscreen right after flashing and booting without a chance to come alive.
--------------------------

Interesting: Swedish_Spring_RLS4b behaves like the others, whereas Swedish_Spring_RLS3 and Swedish_Spring_RLS2 did at least work from the start.
Any ideas what difference between RLS3/4 could break the touchscreen?

Of course I'm willing to help with further information when needed. Hoping to get a solution in return :D



Have exactly the same Blade (I guess you got it also from Hofer?). Running CM7 RC4 right now, touchscreen did not work after flash and reboot but pulling the battery for some minutes did the trick and it runs now without any problems. After a reboot the touchscreen might not work again, but pulling the battery always fixed the problem.

Also the stock rom does not always work from start and I had to pull the battery.

  • 0

#83
fredl99

fredl99

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Hi,

Yes, it's a Hofer-handset. I wonder how you could GUESSS that :D

Thanks for the hint regarding battery in/out. I will try that again. Anyway, I wouldn't consider this a practicable solution.
If I had this problem with the stock ROM it would be a reason to return the item. (To all the other readers: These devices are usually sold out within minutes, so there's nearly no chance to get a replacement.)

--------------------
To me it seems ZTE is following a popular Chinese habit by delegating the final quality tests to the customers. I see no other reason why obviously identical devices would produce so different behaviours. If this is true then developers will be hunting bugs forever, because there will always be one handset out there showing its very own fault after a supposed bugfix.

  • 0

#84
sitic

sitic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

To me it seems ZTE is following a popular Chinese habit by delegating the final quality tests to the customers. I see no other reason why obviously identical devices would produce so different behaviours. If this is true then developers will be hunting bugs forever, because there will always be one handset out there showing its very own fault after a supposed bugfix.

There seems to be software issues as Sebastian404 assumes

The issue seems to be that ZTE *SEEM* to of forked development into 2 directions, (for cost reasons) they seem to be using different hardware in newer 2.1 production devices and adding driver support to the 2.1 builds, but not adding the same hardware support into the 2.2 builds... it is possible we will eventually see the alternative hardware support in offical 2.2 builds and it will level out....

but there are also reported hardware issues: [German] Touchscreen reagiert nicht mehr

Edited by sitic, 04 April 2011 - 04:31 PM.

  • 0

#85
Chris Banks

Chris Banks

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 7, G300, ZTE Blade
the holding the back button does seem to work for me, but now once booted this way, the screen doesn't automatically switch it self off, only the back light.

Any one else with similar issue?

  • 0

#86
exploit

exploit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
JJ9
If I remove battery for approximately 10 minutes, everything is OK.

  • 0

#87
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade

Also the stock rom does not always work from start and I had to pull the battery.

If it has problems on 2.1 your digitizer is broken / the connector is flaky. I would take it back as it may make problems in the future.

@all people with screen problems, did you try to convert your phone to Gen.2? Look at the stickies, maybe it will solve the problem.

  • 0

#88
EazyDuz

EazyDuz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Devices:cookie
Im gonna wait for someone else to switch to gen 2 first

  • 0

#89
sitic

sitic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

I had problems with not responsive touchscreen after flashing any custom roms.

When I switched to Gen2 problem is gone from now. I'm using SS RLS4b.


Can anyone confirm this? Please note that there is no secure way back to gen1. Read this http://android.modac...flash-solution/ first

Edited by sitic, 05 April 2011 - 11:11 AM.

  • 0

#90
ma_

ma_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I don't think it's related with Gen 1/Gen 2 in general... The phones work with the stock build (romdump of the new YESSS software build B02 is here: http://www65.zippysh...59344/file.html - the old YESSS version B01 can be found in the stock rom thread). It may be just a driver issue, they definitely changed something in the newer build, we just have to figure out what.

For example the kernel configs of the two versions differ:

< # Fri Nov 19 12:12:26 2010
---
> # Thu Feb 10 07:43:29 2011
949c949
< CONFIG_SENSOR_LIS302DL=y
---
> # CONFIG_SENSOR_LIS302DL is not set
950a951,952
> # CONFIG_SENSOR_ADXL34X is not set
> CONFIG_SENSOR_ACCELERATOR=y
1110c1112,1115
< # CONFIG_MT9P111 is not set
---
> CONFIG_MT9P111=y
> # CONFIG_MT9P111_MCNEX is not set
> CONFIG_MT9P111_SAMSUNG_FPC=y
> # CONFIG_MT9P111_SAMSUNG_SOCKET is not set

@Rotmann: I don't think it is a hardware failure, if it would be, it wouldn't work with the stock rom without problems



UPDATE:
Ok, I've compared the two versions from YESSS (B01 and B02) there might be more differences but these files are the ones I've found so far:

yesss_b01/lib/hw/sensors.default.so		   yesss_b02/lib/hw/sensors.default.so differ: byte 57, line 1

yesss_b01/lib/libandroid_runtime.so		   yesss_b02/lib/libandroid_runtime.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libcamera.so					yesss_b02/lib/libcamera.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libdvm.so					   yesss_b02/lib/libdvm.so differ: byte 25, line 1
cmp:		  yesss_b02/lib/libhwdata.so: No such file or directory
yesss_b01/lib/libLsOmaClient.so			   yesss_b02/lib/libLsOmaClient.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libLsOmaCore.so				 yesss_b02/lib/libLsOmaCore.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libLsOmaUi_Android.so		   yesss_b02/lib/libLsOmaUi_Android.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libmediaplayerservice.so		yesss_b02/lib/libmediaplayerservice.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libm.so						 yesss_b02/lib/libm.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libnativehelper.so			  yesss_b02/lib/libnativehelper.so differ: byte 34, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libopencore_player.so		   yesss_b02/lib/libopencore_player.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libril-qc-1.so				  yesss_b02/lib/libril-qc-1.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libsonivox.so				   yesss_b02/lib/libsonivox.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libsqlite.so					yesss_b02/lib/libsqlite.so differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libtouchpal.so				  yesss_b02/lib/libtouchpal.so differ: byte 25, line 1
yesss_b01/lib/libwebcore.so				   yesss_b02/lib/libwebcore.so differ: byte 57, line 2

yesss_b01/bin/akmd2						   yesss_b02/bin/akmd2 differ: byte 33, line 1
yesss_b01/bin/debuggerd					   yesss_b02/bin/debuggerd differ: byte 15565, line 86
yesss_b01/bin/DrmHost						 yesss_b02/bin/DrmHost differ: byte 25, line 1
cmp: EOF on   yesss_b02/bin/em_deblock.sh
yesss_b01/bin/hci_qcomm_init				  yesss_b02/bin/hci_qcomm_init differ: byte 57, line 1
yesss_b01/bin/loc_api_app					 yesss_b02/bin/loc_api_app differ: byte 28863, line 107
yesss_b01/bin/mm-qcamera-test				 yesss_b02/bin/mm-qcamera-test differ: byte 20280, line 92
yesss_b01/bin/wpa_supplicant				  yesss_b02/bin/wpa_supplicant differ: byte 209158, line 1202

yesss_b01/etc/LsOmaClientSettings.xml		 yesss_b02/etc/LsOmaClientSettings.xml differ: byte 5020, line 242
yesss_b01/etc/NOTICE.html.gz				  yesss_b02/etc/NOTICE.html.gz differ: byte 15, line 1

yesss_b01/etc/security/otacerts.zip		   yesss_b02/etc/security/otacerts.zip differ: byte 11, line 1

yesss_b01/wifi/ar6000.ko					  yesss_b02/wifi/ar6000.ko differ: byte 33, line 1

Edited by ma_, 05 April 2011 - 02:26 PM.

  • 0

#91
EazyDuz

EazyDuz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Devices:cookie
surprised no devs can fix this by now

  • 0

#92
quikfxp

quikfxp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Just installed Swedish Spring rls 4 and I had the same problem. I can't unlock the phone after booting up :D

LCD Infomation:
IC:NT35580
GLASS:LEAD

IC TYPE: 2000 Series
Firmware: TM1541
Module Synaptics +TPK

Any ideas as I am keen to get this Orange firmware off my phone !

  • 0

#93
Rotmann

Rotmann

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, ZTE Blade

@Rotmann: I don't think it is a hardware failure, if it would be, it wouldn't work with the stock rom without problems

Some people say they have problems on stock 2.1 too, that's definitely an hardware issue.

Just installed Swedish Spring rls 4 and I had the same problem. I can't unlock the phone after booting up :D

LCD Infomation:
IC:NT35580
GLASS:LEAD

IC TYPE: 2000 Series
Firmware: TM1541
Module Synaptics +TPK

Any ideas as I am keen to get this Orange firmware off my phone !

Upgrade to Gen.2, one guy confirmed it worked.

  • 0

#94
Fadox

Fadox

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer CloudMobile s500
Right now i can't unlock my phone(from one operator to another) and my touchscreen doesn't work if i change to any other rom(even stock orange 2.1, i currently have optimus rom- portugal). IF i upgrade to Gen.2 will this solve my problems???

Thanks

Edited by Fadox, 06 April 2011 - 04:21 PM.

  • 0

#95
isambard

isambard

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
today i got my old blade back from the repair shop. they replaced the digitizer. working fine. i thought i would try CM7 out and got the same problem of no touchscreen after reboot.

strangely, if i boot to CWM and then reboot from there it seems to work, though touch screen seems a bit flaky after the phone goes to sleep. i wonder if it could be a software/driver issue with not waking up the hardware? anyway, it's early days so will see how it goes...

  • 0
The best Android Timer application. See also website here: DroidGram Timer Pro.
Download Blade Buddy, the essential companion for your Blade.
Un-lock your Blade with Blade Un-locker.
Free and ad-free basic settings editor: Spare Parts Plus!

#96
wbaw

wbaw

    account closed

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,885 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

today i got my old blade back from the repair shop. they replaced the digitizer. working fine. i thought i would try CM7 out and got the same problem of no touchscreen after reboot.

strangely, if i boot to CWM and then reboot from there it seems to work, though touch screen seems a bit flaky after the phone goes to sleep. i wonder if it could be a software/driver issue with not waking up the hardware? anyway, it's early days so will see how it goes...


Worrying, I just got a replacement refurbished phone today, not flashed it yet.

I wonder if the old hungarian tpt would cure it?

What are the differences between b19 & b20 roms? has anybody compared the files?

  • 0

#97
isambard

isambard

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
everything seems to be working now. i wonder if it was just a temporary glitch? maybe those having a problem can try after flashing cm7, rebooting via cwm and then turning off and leaving it for a few minutes before restarting. also remember to wipe cache.

  • 0
The best Android Timer application. See also website here: DroidGram Timer Pro.
Download Blade Buddy, the essential companion for your Blade.
Un-lock your Blade with Blade Un-locker.
Free and ad-free basic settings editor: Spare Parts Plus!

#98
wbaw

wbaw

    account closed

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,885 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
I just installed the tpt backup of cm7 from my old phone to my new one, no problem with the touch screen at all. I didn't try installing any custom roms with clockwork first, looks like a tpt could fix it.

Edited by wbaw, 06 April 2011 - 09:36 PM.

  • 0

#99
sambartle

sambartle

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Acer Liquid Metal
  • Twitter:@sambartle
I've just flashed a B10/B20 phone, and it worked fine with a normal flash.. so I dont think the B10/B19, B10/B20 is actually anything to worry about.. seems to just be a few random phones have issues..

Edited by sambartle, 07 April 2011 - 12:12 PM.

  • 0
3 UK Acer Liquid Metal, Silver, B10 - ROM: Modified Stock 2.3.6
orange ZTE Blade Gen 2 (Converted), Grey, B10 - ROM: CM7 Nightly SBUK Mod
orange HTC Hero - ROM: Modaco v5, Radio:63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.11
orange HTC TyTN II / Kaiser - ROM: Custom SBUK_V3
orange HTC SPV M3100 / Hermes - ROM: Custom SBUK_V8

#100
Revik

Revik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
I bought Orange San Francisco a week ago.

I've installed CM7 RC4 on it. After few reboots i was not able to unlock the screen - touchscreen stopped working. I've reflashed CM, but after reboot same reappeared.
After some tests/reboots/ets i've noticed that the screen will work if after reboot do not touch the phone and wait until screen will dim a bit - then it is starting to work (but not wait until it will off, i miss this moment reboot needed). I was thought that it is RC4 problem (din not found something in CM forum) + some random reboots, so i've decided to flash something more stable. Swedish Spring - i was surprised when after second reboot same happened :D And this time i'm not able to unlock the screen inany way. I've flashed JJ - same thing B)

Update: just flashed CM nightly 36 - 4 reboots without problems. But it is to early to start celebrate, problem could be back in few reboots later..

Edited by Revik, 07 April 2011 - 09:39 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users