Jump to content


Photo

29 Jun: 4.0.0.5 - ClockworkMod Recovery for the LG Optimus 2X

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
311 replies to this topic

#41
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

i was able to install the recovery, but when i try to nandroid it says
can't mount /system

my phone is rooted and tested with several apps to ensure root is working

anyone can help?


Power off, reboot to recovery.

Happened to me too.

Did you use Paul's app from the Market to boot to recovery when that happened?

  • 0

#42
MaliciousKen

MaliciousKen

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Devices:HD2, Nexus One

Power off, reboot to recovery.

Happened to me too.

Did you use Paul's app from the Market to boot to recovery when that happened?


I didn't use paul's app, only manually enter recovery and tried nandroid backup.

regardless phone is rooted or unrooted, i keep getting the same error

"can't mount /system"

  • 0

#43
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

I didn't use paul's app, only manually enter recovery and tried nandroid backup.

regardless phone is rooted or unrooted, i keep getting the same error

"can't mount /system"


Perhaps you could try and the command line? Use adb to shell into the recovery console and see what the mount command does/returns?

  • 0

#44
MaliciousKen

MaliciousKen

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Devices:HD2, Nexus One

Perhaps you could try and the command line? Use adb to shell into the recovery console and see what the mount command does/returns?


Can you provide some instructions on how to do that?

i tired adb remount, it was mounted successfully

just purchase paul's app from market and tried backuping up. Still doesn't work

Edited by MaliciousKen, 26 March 2011 - 09:57 AM.

  • 0

#45
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Have you already installed my EXT4 ROM? This recovery is EXT3 only!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#46
MaliciousKen

MaliciousKen

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  • Devices:HD2, Nexus One

Have you already installed my EXT4 ROM? This recovery is EXT3 only!

P


I didn't install the EXT 4 ROM. I did it on stock rom on my phone.

I will now try to flash the EXT 4 rom which will install a new EXT 4 recovery.

Will report whether the problem is solved.

  • 0

#47
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201
On EXT4 recovery at least the Advanced Menu is all out of wack, wrong options are selected therefore can't select 'fix permissions' (takes you to partition SD and because the back button is "enter" I thought I accidentally partitioned (and wiped) my internal storage... :D but I did not... :D

Edited by djmcnz, 26 March 2011 - 10:37 AM.

  • 0

#48
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

On EXT4 recovery at least the Advanced Menu is all out of wack, wrong options are selected therefore can't select 'fix permissions' (takes you to partition SD and because the back button is "enter" I thought I accidentally partitioned (and wiped) my internal storage... :D but I did not... :D

Noted, will fix for the next release (I know why that is...)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#49
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Beta 2 will be online Monday with a EXT4 ROM version (bundled in my EXT4 test atm) and with the 'Advanced' menu fixed.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#50
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

Beta 2 will be online Monday with a EXT4 ROM version (bundled in my EXT4 test atm) and with the 'Advanced' menu fixed.

P


Can you also make the back key act like back, not enter?

  • 0

#51
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Beta 2 is now online!

This fixes the 'advanced' menu and also adds a EXT4 version for use with EXT4 ROMs (like MCR).

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#52
wapz

wapz

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x 2.2.2

Beta 2 is now online!

This fixes the 'advanced' menu and also adds a EXT4 version for use with EXT4 ROMs (like MCR).

P

Loaded and tested, boots up fine :D

  • 0

#53
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Beta 3 online - single version works for EXT3/EXT4 devices, back key goes back. :D

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#54
wapz

wapz

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x 2.2.2

Beta 3 online - single version works for EXT3/EXT4 devices, back key goes back. :D

P

Maybe a good idea for a changelog in the first post? :-)

  • 0

#55
sibbor

sibbor

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Devices:HTC One X, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@sibbor
This is a good start for sure! Managed to take a backup without issues with the beta 2. Just installed beta 3, since I'm using EXT4 since yesterday.
Like I said - a great start! Can't wait for a complete CWM where one could take backups on the internal SD and install ROMs from it too.

  • 0
HTC One X, LG Optimus 2X

#56
Vu Nhat Van

Vu Nhat Van

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
There is a problem when you try going into CWM, if you move your hand out of the power button, the phone wil reset again. Could you change the power function (changing Enter function with another button)

Edited by Vu Nhat Van, 27 March 2011 - 05:13 AM.

  • 0

#57
yyhoney

yyhoney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:Android,soccer
  • Devices:MB525, LG SU660(optimus2x)
  • Twitter:@yyhoney

There is a problem when you try into CWM, if you move your hand out of the power button, the phone wil reset again. Could you change the power function (changing Enter function with another button)


Agree.
By this time, i should unhand quickly at android logo before entering cwm menu.
it is not important issue because using market app (2x recovery) has same function
but would you mind changing enter function to menu button?

  • 0

#58
ermacwins

ermacwins

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Devices:LG O2X and Samsung Galaxy SII

This is a good start for sure! Managed to take a backup without issues with the beta 2. Just installed beta 3, since I'm using EXT4 since yesterday.
Like I said - a great start! Can't wait for a complete CWM where one could take backups on the internal SD and install ROMs from it too.


As of now everything is working but only from internal storage?

  • 0

#59
d-droid

d-droid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
Had some problems first time I tried this on the mac but didn't get any errors. Just couldn't boot into the recovery, it would hang at LG screen. I applied the commands manually instead and now all works fine. No idea what went wrong the first time but now I got myself a good old nandroid backup so time to start playing!

Thanks!

  • 0

#60
Vu Nhat Van

Vu Nhat Van

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X

As of now everything is working but only from internal storage?


I think It has no problem with ext storage, you can store everything on it. My 16GB SD Card works fine and full data

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users