Jump to content


Photo

29 Jun: 4.0.0.5 - ClockworkMod Recovery for the LG Optimus 2X

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
311 replies to this topic

#61
elaget

elaget

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norway
  • Interests:Android fan and .net developer
  • Devices:HTC One X, Nexus 7
Hi.
I just installed and performed a Nandroid backup (with success). After rebooting the phone I discovered that my MicroSD card was completely wiped :D Not even the Nandroid backup was there.. Anyone experienced the same?

Edit:
Took the card out of the phone and mounted in my MAC, all files were there inclusive the Nandroid backup. Weird.

Edited by elaget, 30 March 2011 - 06:27 PM.

  • 0

#62
MrMastodon

MrMastodon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
Had some problems, recovery could't mount SD-card, bur after some fiddeling it worked. Don't think I actually did anything, exept toggeling verification and signature a couple of times... But it worked, and I made a backup, and installed a freshly baked ROM.

But... I installed the ROM with another SD-card, and made the ext-partitition with this recovery, so the auto-converting-to-ext4 in the ROM-flash did't affect my current SD-card.... So my Q is: Does this recovery make an ext3 or ext4?
And if it's an ext3, can I still use it with the baked ROM without any trouble?

Anyways, thanx Paul, for your exellent work, both with the 2x, and the Desire!

  • 0

#63
Picarden

Picarden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@Picard
Cant reboot into recovery. I rooted the phone and verified that it worked. Then i installed recovery with "install-clockworkmod-windows.bat". It doesn´t give me any errors. The windows disappears, i try to boot holding Volume down button and i get an arrow symbol saying "S/W Upgrade - Please wait while upgrading..." i´ve let it be for 10 min still nothing.

I can yank the battery out and boot normally.

Any help is appreciated.

  • 0

#64
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Read the instructions properly and hold down power and volume down until it appears. ;-)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#65
Picarden

Picarden

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
  • Twitter:@Picard
Ahhhhhh thank you. Read it... but i guess i´m to used with only holding down volumen down button. Thanks!! :D

  • 0

#66
domi007

domi007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x P990
Hi Paul,
I love your work, however I ran into a serious problem while installing ClockworkMod on my pre-sale Optimus 2x:
My phone is rooted, having a working ADB connection.
When I started the installation it was pretty weird that after it says adb-windows wait-for-device my device actually never came back, it just froze, so I restarted it and the installation proceeded. After it finished, stating everything is OK I tried to turn off the phone by using the Power button and then the Power Off. After this my phone got into an infinite loop of playing a small part of the boot animation and sound...and it did this over and over and over...again..
So I pulled the battery, and tried to get the recovery by pressing power and volume down. I got into the stock recovery app, which wiped my phone totally...whatever.

After that I tried everything to install CWM, I typed every command line by line from the batch file, then tried actualy skipping the psneuter part, and only pushing the img file on my phone and then dd-ing it, it went through without any errors (since my phone is rooted I assumed su to work and it did)...still the same results: phone gets into an infinite loop and then no CWM is installed whatsoever.

I really don't know what to do, please please please help me with this,
DOMy

  • 0

#67
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,366 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Do a nvflash restore and start again..

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#68
domi007

domi007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x P990

Do a nvflash restore and start again..

P



Doing it right now, I hope this will fix my phone :D.

Will keep you posted by editing, so the thread doesn't get all messed up B)

edit1: all right, drivers installed, everything went fine, the nvflash --sync command showed everyhing.
So I started the flasher.bat and it said: Nvflash started and since then nothing change...I let it run for like 6 hours, so I am guessing something is wrong...e

Edited by domi007, 01 April 2011 - 04:30 AM.

  • 0

#69
neon_

neon_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
If I dump my current recovery with something like

dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 of=/data/local/recovery-orig.img
Before installing clockwork to keep a backup.

Will this dump work if I restore it?

I compared file size of recovery.img contained inside v10b nvflash ROM from this forum and my dump is bigger.

3,8M	recovery.img
20M	recovery-orig.img
Maybe because not al the partition is used.

I also compared the first bytes and there is a little difference. My stock rom is the italian v10a.

v10b

0000000 4e41 5244 494f 2144 c044 0030 8000 1000
0000010 9133 000b 0000 1100 0000 0000 0000 10f0
0000020 0100 1000 0800 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000030 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000240 27bd bb48 7efb fdaf f159 cb3b a435 bc25
0000250 e174 420b 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000260 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000800 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0
My dump (v10a)

0000000 4e41 5244 494f 2144 5e58 0030 8000 1000
0000010 9030 000b 0000 1100 0000 0000 0000 10f0
0000020 0100 1000 0800 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000030 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000240 1115 5dc2 1477 39fe 2cda d64b ad5f ce07
0000250 5b38 68d2 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000260 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000800 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0

  • 0

#70
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

If I dump my current recovery with something like

dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 of=/data/local/recovery-orig.img
Before installing clockwork to keep a backup.

Will this dump work if I restore it?

I compared file size of recovery.img contained inside v10b nvflash ROM from this forum and my dump is bigger.

3,8M	recovery.img
20M	recovery-orig.img
Maybe because not al the partition is used.

I also compared the first bytes and there is a little difference. My stock rom is the italian v10a.

v10b

0000000 4e41 5244 494f 2144 c044 0030 8000 1000
0000010 9133 000b 0000 1100 0000 0000 0000 10f0
0000020 0100 1000 0800 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000030 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000240 27bd bb48 7efb fdaf f159 cb3b a435 bc25
0000250 e174 420b 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000260 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000800 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0
My dump (v10a)

0000000 4e41 5244 494f 2144 5e58 0030 8000 1000
0000010 9030 000b 0000 1100 0000 0000 0000 10f0
0000020 0100 1000 0800 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000030 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000240 1115 5dc2 1477 39fe 2cda d64b ad5f ce07
0000250 5b38 68d2 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
0000260 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
*
0000800 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0 0000 e1a0


A 20MB file won't fit on the recovery partition so I suspect the simple answer to your question is "no"... the more detailed answer I can't help with.

  • 0

#71
neon_

neon_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

A 20MB file won't fit on the recovery partition so I suspect the simple answer to your question is "no"... the more detailed answer I can't help with.


# busybox fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0
			  Device Boot	  Start		 End	  Blocks  Id System
[...]
/dev/block/mmcblk0p7		   54913	   57472	   20480  83 Linux

According to partition table it seems possible.

20480*1024 = 20971520 bytes (20M)

Edited by neon_, 01 April 2011 - 03:25 PM.

  • 0

#72
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

# busybox fdisk -l /dev/block/mmcblk0
			  Device Boot	  Start		 End	  Blocks  Id System
[...]
/dev/block/mmcblk0p7		   54913	   57472	   20480  83 Linux

According to partition table it seems possible.

20480*1024 = 20971520 bytes (20M)


Oh, that seems quite extraordinary to me but I'm happy to be proven wrong. I can't imagine why a recovery console would ever need 20MB (or indeed why you'd ever want it to be that big) but there you have it in plain text... :D

Punch it on, see what happens?

Edit: That also means we have 16MB of space to repartition if using CWM.

Edited by djmcnz, 01 April 2011 - 03:59 PM.

  • 0

#73
Stefing

Stefing

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Optimus 2X & San Francisco
  • Twitter:@Stefing
It might be worth stressing on the front page that both buttons must be held down until it is in recovery, I'm not the only one who's come from other Android devices where you hold volume down and just tap the power button.
Otherwise - great work! :D

Edited by Stefing, 02 April 2011 - 08:41 AM.

  • 0

#74
9mmBullet

9mmBullet

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

It might be worth stressing on the front page that both buttons must be held down until it is in recovery, I'm not the only one who's come from other Android devices where you hold volume down and just tap the power button.
Otherwise - great work! :D


Hello all, I'm preparing to install CR into my O2X, however, do I require official LG USB drivers (if there are any???) before I can proceed? I plugged it into my Win XP machine and it fails to install any drivers, the OP makes no mention of installing any drivers but I wanted to make sure beforehand.

  • 0

#75
TsunKit

TsunKit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonny_tk
Hi I just got my phone today :D
But when I went to download the .zip file and extract it, it wouldn't and it just said, 'this archive is either in an unknown format or damaged'.
I have WinRar so I'm guessing that should be able to extract it.
Anything I'm doing wrong?
Thanks B)

  • 0

#76
domi007

domi007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x P990

Hi I just got my phone today :D
But when I went to download the .zip file and extract it, it wouldn't and it just said, 'this archive is either in an unknown format or damaged'.
I have WinRar so I'm guessing that should be able to extract it.
Anything I'm doing wrong?
Thanks B)


re-download and try it again.

  • 0

#77
TsunKit

TsunKit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonny_tk

re-download and try it again.

I have done several times but it's still repeating the error. :D

  • 0

#78
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

I have done several times but it's still repeating the error. :D


Forgive me but which .zip and why are you extracting it?

  • 0

#79
TsunKit

TsunKit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, LG Optimus 2x
  • Twitter:@jonny_tk
This zip.
I tried it on my sister's laptop and it worked, so don't worry I'll just play around until it works :D

  • 0

#80
djmcnz

djmcnz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, TF201

This zip.
I tried it on my sister's laptop and it worked, so don't worry I'll just play around until it works :D


Nice one...

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users