Jump to content


Photo

O2 Samsung Galaxy S2 - locked or unlocked?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
saquib

saquib

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
Hi

Lots of discussion on HUKD and XDA as to if the O2 version will be locked or unlocked.

Can anyone who has received theirs or will receive today check the sim lock status?

In the event it is locked can anyone recommend an unlocking company? I‘m sure Paul tweeted it would be around £10 to unlock.

  • 0

#2
MrChaz

MrChaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Hi

Lots of discussion on HUKD and XDA as to if the O2 version will be locked or unlocked.

Can anyone who has received theirs or will receive today check the sim lock status?

In the event it is locked can anyone recommend an unlocking company? I‘m sure Paul tweeted it would be around £10 to unlock.

According to the lady in the shop just now locked. Unlockable after 1 year and £15 on Pay and Go

  • 0

#3
amjb71

amjb71

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:HTC Desire

Hi

Lots of discussion on HUKD and XDA as to if the O2 version will be locked or unlocked.

Can anyone who has received theirs or will receive today check the sim lock status?

In the event it is locked can anyone recommend an unlocking company? I‘m sure Paul tweeted it would be around £10 to unlock.


Just got it from o2 on PAYG for 399 and put my vodafone sim in and it works!!

Cool!!

  • 0

#4
saquib

saquib

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
Any to answer my own question, my contract one has just arrived and is unlocked :-)

Just a O2 screen on startup and shutdown.

Just got it from o2 on PAYG for 399 and put my vodafone sim in and it works!!

Cool!!


  • 0

#5
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
My prepay one from a store is locked!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#6
hmptec

hmptec

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy Note II
Mine is locked too. (Pay monthly)

  • 0

#7
StarmanUK

StarmanUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Location:Essex, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S i9000
  • Twitter:@Starman_UK
Just received my Samsung Galaxy S II from O2 on contract. I've inserted an Orange SIM from my work phone which works fine.

Only immediate branding I've noticed is the O2 booting screens.

OS Details -

Model: GT-I9100
Android Version: 2.3.3
Baseband: I9100XXKDH
Kernel: 2.6.35.7-I9100XWKDD-CL161513 root@DELL103 #2
Build: GINERBREAD.XWKDD

PDA: I9100XWKDD
Phone: I9100XXKDH
CSC: I9100O2UKD1
Build: 24 Apr

Edited by StarmanUK, 04 May 2011 - 11:00 AM.

  • 0

#8
JamesKing

JamesKing

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
If people could please post in the poll here it would be appreciated:
http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1061706

  • 0

#9
pbinks

pbinks

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@pbinks
O2 PAYG arrived today and is locked

  • 0

#10
chris3lx

chris3lx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy SII, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@chris3lx
I received my PAYG from O2 today and can confirm that even though it is locked (I tried a T-Mobile SIM) my Tesco Mobile SIM works perfectly.

  • 0

#11
BobUK

BobUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
A colleague of mine received his from 02 yesterday. Locked. Got unlock code but told it would not remain and require to be re-applied each time the phone is rebooted as they could only issue temporary unlock codes? Never heard of this before.

Any advice if there is such a thing.. seems odd to me.

thanks.
bob

  • 0

#12
browncharlie

browncharlie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
If your prepay is locked then you have to contact your service provider then only its work.

I was facing the same problem in may sasmsung pay monthly i just contact my service provider and now it's working fine.

Edited by browncharlie, 15 June 2011 - 10:36 AM.

  • 0

#13
stoney1973

stoney1973

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:nottingham
  • Devices:Galaxy tab 2 7 inch
  • Twitter:@stoneybok
Chainfire from XDA forums has made a nice, free app which enables you to unlock your sgs 2.

http://forum.xda-dev...ight=unlock app

  • 0

#14
Pakatus

Pakatus

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Droid noob's Planet
  • Devices:Samsung GS2
  • Twitter:@Pakatus
Prepay from Portugal operator TMN...were SIM unlocked.

489,90€ = 431,4 GBP

  • 0
Pulse >> Blade >> SG2 (Win)
Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users