Jump to content


Photo

Firmware update 1.10 for the Advent Vega currently uploading!


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
carl rose

carl rose

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega
After tweeting Advent Vega I just got a reply that the new firmware 1.10 is currently uploading to the site. This is beneficial to someone that has a new tablet with it pre installed and wants to try out some of the new custom roms that are out. If they don't like it and want to get back to the 1.10 at the moment they will not be able to as there is no exe on the site, unless you do a nandroid backup. I personally had bad experiences restoring from a nandroid so, don't like to rely on it.

Hope it's good news for some of you :P

Edited by carl rose, 19 May 2011 - 12:17 PM.

  • 0

#2
318vert

318vert

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
But for everyone else its useless

  • 0

#3
houdini2005

houdini2005

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:htc desire

After tweeting Advent Vega I just got a reply that the new firmware 1.10 is currently uploading to the site. This is beneficial to someone that has a new tablet with it pre installed and wants to try out some of the new custom roms that are out. If they don't like it and want to get back to the 1.10 at the moment they will not be able to as there is no exe on the site, unless you do a nandroid backup. I personally had bad experiences restoring from a nandroid so, don't like to rely on it.

Hope it's good news for some of you :P



its uploaded now but "Changes from 1.09
1. Compatibility updates, improving touch screen performance
2. Removed Touch Panel Utility as its no longer required and minor bug fixes". but we may have decent vegacomb release candidate soon (hopefully) :rolleyes:

  • 0

#4
318vert

318vert

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
Be nice to someone could see if this update sort out the rubish touchscreen issue when charging

  • 0

#5
MonkeyBoy451

MonkeyBoy451

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moray, Scotland
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Asus TF101
  • Twitter:@ianjcraven
I tweeted Paul to ask if he was going to do an updated MCR based on this new release. Hopefully he'll come back with a positive!

  • 0
Current Phone: Samsung Galaxy Nexus I9250 GSM (Yakju)
Android Version: 4.0.2 | Baseband: I9250XXKK6 | Kernel: 3.0.8-gaaa2611 | Build: ICL53F


Current Tablet: Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Stock
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Retired Gadgets: HTC Desire (AMOLED), Advent Vega

#6
carl rose

carl rose

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega

its uploaded now but "Changes from 1.09
1. Compatibility updates, improving touch screen performance
2. Removed Touch Panel Utility as its no longer required and minor bug fixes". but we may have decent vegacomb release candidate soon (hopefully) :P


I just read about the vegacomb 1.3 update and it is still an early beta. No flash, camera, wi-fi is hit and miss and so on (still, a great job). I have the 1.10 update pre installed with the market trick and to be quite honest I am really happy with it. I use my vega at work and I cannot get anything more stable than that. I also asked Advent Vega for any news on honeycomb but got no reply. It would be great if we got it but if we don't this tablet is all I ever wanted and more for the budget I was willing to spend.

Maybe at a later stage I will sell it put some money on top and buy something better but for the time being I am very happy with it and it does everything I want.

Edited by carl rose, 19 May 2011 - 12:38 PM.

  • 0

#7
carl rose

carl rose

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega

But for everyone else its useless

Thats exactly right. :P

  • 0

#8
xathras

xathras

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega / Archos 70 250GB

Be nice to someone could see if this update sort out the rubish touchscreen issue when charging


This issue comes down to the fact that the stock Vega charger is not a fully regulated and stabilized PSU (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Like many others I bought another 12v charger (mine £10 from Argos) and the problem disappeared.

  • 0

#9
riggsy

riggsy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

This issue comes down to the fact that the stock Vega charger is not a fully regulated and stabilized PSU (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Like many others I bought another 12v charger (mine £10 from Argos) and the problem disappeared.

Could you point me in the right direction (prod code/link) of the charger you purchased?

Many thanks

  • 0

#10
CrArC

CrArC

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts

This issue comes down to the fact that the stock Vega charger is not a fully regulated and stabilized PSU (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Like many others I bought another 12v charger (mine £10 from Argos) and the problem disappeared.


Intruiging, thanks for that. My touchscreen doesn't seem to really misbehave on external power though. Maybe it has once or twice, but generally I can't see a difference. I'm still only using the stock power adaptor though. Are there different models?

  • 0

#11
Dave Marchant

Dave Marchant

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:High Wycombe, UK
  • Devices:Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@dave_wgs

Intruiging, thanks for that. My touchscreen doesn't seem to really misbehave on external power though. Maybe it has once or twice, but generally I can't see a difference. I'm still only using the stock power adaptor though. Are there different models?

There are different models of charger it seems. Mine is marginal, but I had the opportunity to try another and that rendered the Vega virtually unusable - I couldn't even unlock it.

I am not sure where this 1.10 download is. I have checked the www.myadventvega.co.uk site and there is nothing new there from what I can see.

  • 0

#12
xathras

xathras

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega / Archos 70 250GB

Could you point me in the right direction (prod code/link) of the charger you purchased?


Some early Vegas certainly suffered with this PSU problem; I don't know if there are more than one PSU model. Anyway, I had the problem and a post somewhere on this forum reccomended this replacement and it worked for me.

Masterplug 1200mA Multi-Volt Adaptor. Argos code 982/9701.

  • 0

#13
pakomen

pakomen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:advent vega

There are different models of charger it seems. Mine is marginal, but I had the opportunity to try another and that rendered the Vega virtually unusable - I couldn't even unlock it.

I am not sure where this 1.10 download is. I have checked the www.myadventvega.co.uk site and there is nothing new there from what I can see.


Try Refreshing your browser..its there ok..
cheers
Pako

  • 0

#14
Dave Marchant

Dave Marchant

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:High Wycombe, UK
  • Devices:Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@dave_wgs

Try Refreshing your browser..its there ok..
cheers
Pako

Thanks, I was surprised the page did not auto-refresh. Downloading now.

@riggsy - I am running a couple of the Argos Masterplug adaptors now, one at work and one at home connected to the Vega Dock and both are better than the stock charger. Just be careful how you set up the adaptor on the end of the lead. I recall someone posting a photo here somewhere.

  • 0

#15
sipart

sipart

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derbyshire UK
  • Interests:Android - Hackintosh - tech!
  • Devices:THL W8S/N7/Nook HD+

This issue comes down to the fact that the stock Vega charger is not a fully regulated and stabilized PSU (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Like many others I bought another 12v charger (mine £10 from Argos) and the problem disappeared.


Yes can someone confirm this is correct, the "not a fully regulated and stabilized" bit - as if it is true then Advent/DSG should be replacing the PSU - not people having to buy a new one don't you think?

If all affected users log a fault with Advent/DSG then they have an obligation to investigate and rectify as all Vegas and PSUs are still under warranty

  • 0

#16
zittermann

zittermann

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire, POV Mobii Tegra
Does anyone know which Changes 1.10 brings? Same as Firmware 1.10 for the POV Mobii?

  • 0

#17
budgie74

budgie74

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Devices:advent vega
bought my vega with 1.10 installed found it ok but not a patch on any of the update roms available

  • 0

#18
rferrett

rferrett

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 532 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Plymouth
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@ralphferrett
What? People run stock by choice?!?!?!?!?

Blimey.....

Ralph

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 Omega 6.0
Tablet: Nexus 7 MCR Jr5
Twitter: @ralphferrett
Google+: http://gplus.to/rferrett
URL: http://lunchtimelegend.co.uk

#19
Infnordz

Infnordz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

This issue comes down to the fact that the stock Vega charger is not a fully regulated and stabilized PSU (someone correct me if I'm wrong). Like many others I bought another 12v charger (mine £10 from Argos) and the problem disappeared.

I have added both a ceramic capacitor and a large electrolitic capacitor in parallel with the power connector in my dock and it mades sod all difference. So I suspect it is an noisy battery charging circuit which is screwing up the touchscreen circuitry. This maybe a component issue, a bad batch of tablets, or more likely sloppy design!

I just hacked on an old Pepper Pad PSU 12V @ 3A and the screen works fine now, so YES THE STOCK PSUs ARE CACK! Shame on PC WORLD!

Edited by Infnordz, 20 May 2011 - 11:47 PM.

  • 0

#20
Nick1964

Nick1964

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location:Netherlands,near the coast.
  • Devices:Vega, HTC Hero
So as for now the 1.10 is not much better then the 1.09, I mean, I don't think I cam patch the system with 1.10 and then reflash the v8 over it.
I think I lost all my apps, and the modaco rom will maybe not work at all.
Maybe I must do a lot of work for something I don't see the difference from,with the possibility that it doesn't work at all.
So please advise this newbie.. leave it with 1.09 and the modaco rom ?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users