Jump to content


Photo

[RECOVERY] CWM-based Recovery 5.0.2.7-R2

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
http://loadbalancing...0373xkigrckka7b

If you get properly stuck then you could always copy the .img file to the SD card and use dd to flash it via a terminal.

  • 0

#22
Sunshine!

Sunshine!

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
still not working,
what is DD?
tx

  • 0

#23
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
A command:

dd if=/pathto/recovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7

  • 0

#24
morckx

morckx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:LG P990
In 4.0.1.4 R2 (ext), I have to mount my external SD card manually with adb as the file system is directly on /dev/block/mmcblk1

In Paul's 4.0.0.5 and previous versions this was not not necessary. Maybe because of this line in /etc/recovery.fstab :

/sdcard vfat /dev/block/mmcblk1p1 /dev/block/mmcblk1

Could you fix that? Or should this better go directly to CWM?

Thanks,
M.

  • 0

#25
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
That isnt added by me, it's part of the source. It means that if the external SD is missing/not dectected, it will use internal instead.

I could (of course) remove it, but a) it makes sense to have it and B) if it's not there you'll just get a can't find SD card error instead.

Actually, I built a one off with out it for someone now I think about it, feel free to test: http://www.mediafire...s6a38hh3hs8d3ue

  • 0

#26
morckx

morckx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Devices:LG P990

That isnt added by me, it's part of the source. It means that if the external SD is missing/not dectected, it will use internal instead.


No, I don't think that's true. It is a provision for sd cards where the file system is directly on the unpartitioned device (/dev/block/mmcblk1) instead of on the first partition (/dev/block/mmcblk1p1) as it is the case with my sd card.

I also expressed myself unclearly, the line in /etc/recovery.fstab:

/sdcard     vfat     /dev/block/mmcblk1p1     /dev/block/mmcblk1

comes from Paul's 4.0.0.5. The corresponding one in 4.0.1.4 R2 (ext) is:

/sdcard        vfat        /dev/block/mmcblk1p1    NULL

I guess that's why I need to mount my sd card manually in 4.0.1.4 R2 (ext) (with mount /dev/block/mmcblk1 /sdcard), while it's automatically mounted in Pauls 4.0.0.5

Anyway, thanks for your answer and the easiest and best thing to do is probably to repartition my sdcard :-)
M.

Edited by morckx, 02 August 2011 - 09:07 PM.

  • 0

#27
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
Ah I see what you're saying, although until now I have never seen an SD card set up in such a way. I would repartition it too, just to fit in with the norm.

  • 0

#28
wfd

wfd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
Something strange happening when I'am trying to backup CM7 via CWM 4.0.1.5 or 4.0.1.4r3 external.
CWM writes data into data.img until available free space on sd card. Free space on sdcard 1.4GB, data volume 318.4M
df -h output:

Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 186.5M 32.0K 186.5M 0% /dev
tmpfs 186.5M 0 186.5M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 186.5M 0 186.5M 0% /mnt/obb
tmpfs 186.5M 0 186.5M 0% /mnt/asec
tmpfs 186.5M 0 186.5M 0% /mnt/extasec
/dev/block/mmcblk0p1 338.9M 154.3M 167.2M 48% /system
/dev/block/mmcblk0p8 1.5G 318.4M 1.1G 21% /data
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 62.0M 4.0M 54.7M 7% /cache
/dev/block/mmcblk0p6 2.4M 2.0M 410.0K 83% /lgdrm

backup directory content during backup:

/sdcard/clockworkmod/backup/2011-08-23.10.17.27 # ls -l&&du -h
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8388608 Aug 23 10:17 boot.img
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1309986816 Aug 23 10:23 data.img
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20971520 Aug 23 10:17 recovery.img
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 159572160 Aug 23 10:17 system.img
1.4G .


df -h from CWM during backup:
Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs 186.5M 32.0K 186.5M 0% /dev
/dev/block/mmcblk0p2 62.0M 4.0M 54.7M 7% /cache
/dev/block/mmcblk1p1 7.6G 7.6G 0 100% /sdcard
/dev/block/mmcblk0p8 1.5G 318.7M 1.1G 21% /data

  • 0

#29
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
Well that's odd, mine backs up /data (600MB-ish) no problem.

  • 0

#30
wfd

wfd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X
I found the problem. There was some broken crap in /data/lost+found directory. Backup /data stuff and format data volume has solved this problem.
It is posiible to exclude lost+found during backup?
And format /data in Mounts and Storage menu does'nt realy formatting storage, its only delete all stored stuff. I formatted and converted storage by hands.

  • 0

#31
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
Finally updated!

  • 0

#32
wfd

wfd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2X

Finally updated!


Great! Thank you! Its compatible with 4.0.1.5 backups?



Edited by wfd, 23 September 2011 - 10:33 AM.

  • 0

#33
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
I believe so, but not the other way around.

  • 0

#34
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
Update as new CWM supports backup/restore from internal storage.

  • 0

#35
Щачло карпа

Щачло карпа

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
The download link to v5.0.2.7 is broken. Could you please fix it? Thanks.

Edited by Щачло карпа, 02 November 2011 - 11:05 PM.

  • 0
I luv Touchwiz. I wish for touchwiz port to zte blade. Pls. :)
Posted Image

#36
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
Yeah, all sorted.

  • 0

#37
Щачло карпа

Щачло карпа

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Thanks rusty!

One Question: I've been using cwm 4.0.0.9 before. I noticed, that my 5.0.2.7 backups are much smaller, e.g. the data.ext3.tar compared to the old data.img is 30mb smaller. Is this a normal behavior? Thanks for clarification in advance!!

  • 0
I luv Touchwiz. I wish for touchwiz port to zte blade. Pls. :)
Posted Image

#38
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
.tar = compressed ;)

  • 0

#39
Щачло карпа

Щачло карпа

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

.tar = compressed ;)


I've to disagree. Tar itself does not compress anything (see http://en.wikipedia....8file_format%29).

I'll extract both backups and try to find the difference.

Edit:

On my phone in /system/bin are symlinks, e.g. cat points to toolbox.

Backup with 4.0.0.9:
Identically to phone: /system/bin/cat => toolbox

Backup with 5.0.2.7:
No symlink, the regular file is saved instead of just the symlink.

Conclusion: in 5.0.2.7 all symlinks in /system/bin are replaced by their regular files.

Further more, in 5.0.2.7 symlinks in /system/xbin are completely ignored.

Edited by Щачло карпа, 04 November 2011 - 04:05 PM.

  • 0
I luv Touchwiz. I wish for touchwiz port to zte blade. Pls. :)
Posted Image

#40
Rusty!

Rusty!

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pompey
  • Devices:Nexus 5 16GB
  • Twitter:@RussUnderhill
You're right, I was talking about .tar.gz when the backups are just .tar :huh:

Not sure about the symlinks being ignored though, last time I extracted one of my system.ext4.tar files, WinRAR threw a shitfit about them.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users