Jump to content


Photo

Adobe Flash Player for ARMv6

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
hecatae

hecatae

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,197 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:northampton
  • Devices:Samsung i9305
  • Twitter:@meritez
found here http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1155071

You'll need:
* http://www.multiupload.com/17GFDZMIKV

Instructions:
1. Download and copy to sdcard.
2. Use a file manager and navigate to the apk, install it.
3. Reboot.

Additional notes:
* Make sure to have "unknown sources" enabled on settings > applications.
* It won't work on Opera Mini.
* Only works with gingerbread (to be confirmed).

I've been told it works.


off to try now

  • 0

#2
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE
It works to an extent. iPlayer didn't work for me though. I think it's the same as the one posted here: http://android.modac...p...t&p=1749183

Edited by k0zmic, 05 July 2011 - 10:41 PM.

  • 0

#3
slitz

slitz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Blade, Desire Z, Xperia Play
If it works then that's pretty nice, I wonder how people modify things which were originally for ARMv7 to ARMv6 anyway?

  • 0

#4
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
Guess this was to go with the release of the zte skate and the expected flash support that was debated about for a couple of months but anyway WOOOOO :)

*pinches myself to make sure this is not a dream

  • 0

#5
ms20

ms20

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:Orange SF
It works but tbh it's kind of useless. iplayer doesn't work in the app or on the website and other videos didn't run. The Unreal Tournament 3 website is a good test for how well flash runs and in stock browser and dolphin hd it is very choppy.
I think this shows why adobe didn't bother with flash for arm v6 but it's something atleast.

  • 0

#6
t0mm13b

t0mm13b

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:GT-S8500,Zte Blade,SE ST15i
  • Twitter:@t0mm13b
Have tried it and seems to work on the browser to miniclip.com, mind you I am using SetCPU overclocking to 710Mhz, so that could speed this up significantly.... :) Colours look a bit uhmmm slightly off... but it works nonetheless...

  • 0
try{ not_laugh; }catch{ FAIL; }finally{ laugh; }

#7
appolus

appolus

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
does tinyshark work with this?

  • 0

#8
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
Also tried miniclip at 691mhz and that runs amazingly well so from the looks of it only the video sites are having problems

does tinyshark work with this?


As in the app? Just tried it and it worked fine, what bit requires flash?

EDIT: Just installed adobe air and it installed but apps that require it force closes

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 05 July 2011 - 11:13 PM.

  • 0

#9
k0zmic

k0zmic

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:HTC Hero & HTC Sensation XE

EDIT: Just installed adobe air and it installed but apps that require it force closes


It's probably because apps that use it are ARM v7 only?

Edited by k0zmic, 05 July 2011 - 11:27 PM.

  • 0

#10
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts

It's probably because apps that use it are ARM v7 only?


Yea guess your right

question now though is will the people that ported this continue their work and port newer versions of flash

The least they should do is share the info with other people so if they were to stop development then someone can still pick up where they left off

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 05 July 2011 - 11:58 PM.

  • 0

#11
167pk

167pk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
it works with Android 2.2 too :)

  • 0

#12
appolus

appolus

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

Also tried miniclip at 691mhz and that runs amazingly well so from the looks of it only the video sites are having problems
As in the app? Just tried it and it worked fine, what bit requires flash?

EDIT: Just installed adobe air and it installed but apps that require it force closes


if u want to stream music then flash player need to be included, and tinyshark requires adobe flash. so u could stream music?

  • 0

#13
knarQ

knarQ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Orange SF

does tinyshark work with this?

TinyShark works great with this Flash player on SS RLS5 (Froyo), not just the app install but the music streaming as well :) I've been waiting for this one! Also check out http://groovylists.com/ to convert your playlist from Spotify (and iTunes/LastFM) to Grooveshark.

Edited by knarQ, 06 July 2011 - 12:32 PM.

  • 0

#14
Richard_Arkless

Richard_Arkless

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 928 posts
Since last night I have been chucking loads of flash at it and is good at displaying a small amount flash ads (around 2-3) and small games, still havent had luck at finding a video site that does want to work, it begins to load then before it plays it either crashes the phone or the browsers but I think this is a bug with the port

I personally dont see why adobe couldnt have made an armv6 version of flash

Edited by Richard_Arkless, 06 July 2011 - 01:48 PM.

  • 0

#15
appolus

appolus

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

TinyShark works great with this Flash player on SS RLS5 (Froyo), not just the app install but the music streaming as well :) I've been waiting for this one! Also check out http://groovylists.com/ to convert your playlist from Spotify (and iTunes/LastFM) to Grooveshark.


awesome will definetly try this out

  • 0

#16
tox!c

tox!c

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
definitely i get rid of those webpages which take ages to load because flash wasnt available (checked)


THANKS alot!!

  • 0

#17
shadowninty

shadowninty

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cork City, EU
  • Devices:Xperia Play, ZTE Blade
Has anyone had any luck integrating it into /System?
It only works in /Data for me :)

  • 0
Device: ZTE Blade [TFT, White] ROM: CyanogenMod 7 [Latest Nightly] Android 2.3.4
Sign up for Dropbox, and earn us both 250MB EXTRA Free Online Storage on top of 2GB you get already - The Cloud, its the future
Dropbox lets you easily sync files between your OS's (including Windows, Ubuntu and Android!)

#18
drobson67

drobson67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Devices:ZTE Blade San Francisco
  • Twitter:@drobson67

Have tried it and seems to work on the browser to miniclip.com, mind you I am using SetCPU overclocking to 710Mhz, so that could speed this up significantly.... :blink: Colours look a bit uhmmm slightly off... but it works nonetheless...


Have tried playing flash video with the 10.1 download and xscope pro browser and can confirm the the video is very choppy even when the cpu is overclocked at 710mhz, colours look off with purple and green banding, wonder if there is a way of ajusting the colours?.. Im running cm7 on my blade and wonder if others are having similar problems.

  • 0

#19
drobson67

drobson67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle upon Tyne
  • Devices:ZTE Blade San Francisco
  • Twitter:@drobson67

Since last night I have been chucking loads of flash at it and is good at displaying a small amount flash ads (around 2-3) and small games, still havent had luck at finding a video site that does want to work, it begins to load then before it plays it either crashes the phone or the browsers but I think this is a bug with the port


its hit and miss at playing flash videos, sometimes like you say it crashes the browser while loading but hasn't crashed my phone yet, its worked for me a couple of times and im using xscope pro but havent tried other browsers yet.

  • 0

#20
ThermalDroid

ThermalDroid

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Law and hacking, good mix;)
  • Devices:San Fran 2.3.4
Nice idea but appears to just be an old arm6 alpha actually :/

  • 0
Current phones:

San Francisco Pretty much dead.
Atrix my beautiful atrix!
HTC Desire don't like it, it's sitting in a draw.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users